We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoking or nonsmoking? Are you kidding?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Peoria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Smoking or nonsmoking? Are you kidding?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Today we had a large family group registered at your hotel. Before booking this holiday inn, I called to make sure that there was no odor of smoke in the nonsmoking rooms. My son is very allergic to cigarette smoke. Not only did the room smell like smoke but it also smelled like some sort of animal. I was told when I called that there was absolutely no chance that nonsmoking rooms would have the slightest bit of smoke odor. Shame on you Holiday Inn! I guess if I wasn't aware that smoking causes cancer I wouldn't be so outraged!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cakenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear cakenana:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that you felt your stay was less than pleasant. I have already notified the proper management staff and we are looking in to your concerns with the smoke smell. We will be undergoing some renovations soon to help create a hotel that all guests love. I hope you are willing to try us again after the renovations are complete.

Sincerely,

Your Holiday Inn of Rockford Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    54
    50
    19
    13
See reviews for
42
25
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loves Park, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms need some updates... esp. for what we paid a night. First room I had smelled like mold and mildew right when I walked in. Went back to the lobby and changed rooms to the other side of the hallway. New room was better. Still needs an overall freshening up. Paint chipped off the bathroom door. I had lots of family staying here for a wedding reception at the Hoffman House. I told them if their rooms weren't nice to say something and no one had any complaints. Would be nice to have a free Breakfast. I've stayed at other hotels for a cheaper price that had continental breakfasts. So we took our guests out for breakfast for an additional expense that we shouldn't of had to do. Hoffman House next door did do a great job on the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Amee K,

Thank you for taking the time, and reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate when our guests express the areas we succeed in, and also the areas we need improvement. I was glad to hear that no one else in your party had an issue, but apologize that your stay was less than pleasant at first. I have already spoken to our maintenance staff and we are looking in to your concerns. Management has already been made aware of your suggestions for remodeling, and are discussing new options. Thank you again for your review, and I hope you are willing to try us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Your Holiday Inn of Rockford Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookson, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Inadequate staff at check in. Took 30 minutes with 6 guests standing in line before 1 more clerk came to front ( and she acted like she didn't want to be there!). Room had been smoked in, so had to go back down and change room. That took another 20 minutes. No breakfast, so not a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Find something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swajets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Mr. Swajets, thank you for taking the time review our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not a pleasant stay with us, we appreciate all guest feedback, and will take this opportunity to make the improvements we need in order to provide a great guest experience that we want all of our guests to have. We hope you decide to stay with us again, so we will be able to provide you with a great guest experience.

Sincerely,
Your Holiday Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

this hotel is awesome!!!!!!the staff is wonderful especially the supervisor NEPHITIRI.....dont ever get rid of her,she made my stay worth staying and i will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Anthony L:

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate when our guests express how we made them feel during their stay. I have already passed your kind words along to the staff, and everyone appreciates your encouragement. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Your Holiday Inn of Rockford Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The first of May I made a reservation for a king non-smoking room for June 7th. We were traveling home from vacation and thought this would be a good stop.We arrived at 4:30 pm. Check in was ok and was given a room on the second floor. Got off elevator which is in the center of the building with long hallways going left and right. Both hallways have glass double doors at each end (with bolt locks for some reason). I guess they are to trap the smoke into a confined space. It works. The hallway and especially the room smelled terrible. Smoke is absorbed into every thing. Even the towels smell like old smoke. Called downstairs to ask why we were in a smoking room and was told the hotel was sold out. Went downstairs to the desk and talked to a different clerk. and he told me the same thing plus they had actually oversold the hotel ( I guess I was supposed to feel lucky I had a room at all ). I asked if he was sure there was no non-smoking rooms left and he lied and said no. I know this because I asked someone who had just checked in if they received a non smoking room and they had. This was after we went out to eat. After telling me there was no more rooms and nothing he could do I asked him why he was pecking on his computer and he said he was reducing our rate for the night. I did not turn it down but I would have paid a little more for a room that did not stink so bad. He then told me they have a machine they can plug in and run for about an hour but humans cant be in the room while it is running. That did not sound good but we were going out to eat anyway so give it a try. Did not work. At home washing even clean clothes and luggage outside to air out (I hope). If anyone knows what a sleep apnea machine is, I use one. Forgot to change filters when I got home and went to bed turned on machine and there was Rockford Holiday Inn Smoking room all over again. I am not really anti smoking but I think smoking in a bedroom is dangerously stupid and when you try to block it in to an area it smells even worse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kef1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Mr. Kef1001,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your honestly. We take reviews such as this one very seriously, and use this as an opportunity to improve ourselves as well as the hotel. We deeply apologize for your stay not meeting your expectation, and hope you find in the future that you will give us another chance.

Your Holiday Inn of Rockford Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Normal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I visit Rockford 8 to 10 times a year, and this is my current favorite hotel in town and one of the brand's best. It is clean and up to date. The room was well furnished and spotless. I found the staff to be first rate; courteous, professional and friendly. They were quick to respond and very helpful. The pool and hot tub looked nice, but I did not have occasion to use them. The 24 hr. complimentary tea and coffee was appreciated. The property is right off I-90/39 with easy access. The restaurant and bar were both acceptable...nothing fancy but they get the job done. There is also a plethora of dining options available nearby, several within walking distance.
Bottom line...this is a very nice full service hotel which delivers decent value and excellent service. I do not hesitate to recommend it, at will be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the end of the hallway. This meant very little foot traffic outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squiddguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Squiddguy,
We are very pleased to be your current favorite hotel. We strive for excellence in serving our guest from the staff to the rooms. We deeply appreciate your kind remarks and please next time you stay with us, take advantage of the pool and hot tub.

Sincerely,
Your Holiday Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

While we didn't stay at this property (found the Radisson with better reviews and price across the street), we did spend almost 6 hours here for a business conference. We walked in the front door (or was it the back? Couldn't tell) and had to walk down a hall past the elevators to the lobby area. The entire area felt old and run down. We noticed a printed paper saying "XXXX in Lower Level" for our conference. Kind of cheesy, but it worked. Took elevator to basement and upon walking in the room set up for breakfast, we immediately saw the servers being very rude and loud with the conference coordinator telling them that they had to be out by 9 and there was no way the food could stay longer, etc. I felt it would have been better on their part to speak quietly about the issue or move to another area rather than having an "attitude" at the entrance of the room with people who traveled from afar. Also, NO ONE picked up the plates from the tables during the conference. I have never been to a business conference catered by the hotel where the plates had to be taken to the dish bucket by the guests. During the 5 hour conference, the room was freezing. When the air would go off, it would eventually get warmer only for the air to come right back on immediately, and it was extremely LOUD. The conference speakers had to adjust it 4 or 5 times, and had to almost yell for people to hear her. When we left the hotel, trying to get out of the parking lot was difficult with traffic coming both ways. Overall, it left a very bad taste in our mouths at the Holiday Inn. From this experience alone, I can tell that we would NEVER stay here. Bad service, uncomfortable environment, and run down hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weluvtravlin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Weluvtravlin5,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your time spent at our hotel, for your conference. We apologize for the inconveniences you incurred during your conference. The restaurant is privately owned and we have already made their management team aware of your concerns. Although this was not your best experience with, we invite you try us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Your Holiday Inn of Rockford Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#7 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)

Property: Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)
Address: 7550 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63) 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Rockford's premier full service hotel, the Holiday Inn of Rockford invites you to experience a hotel stay unlike any other. Whether you are traveling on business to see such companies as Daimler Chrysler or Hamilton Sundstrand, planning a day of shopping at CherryVale Mall, taking the family to Magic Waters or playing at Sportscore the Holiday Inn of Rockford is the first choice for travelers. The Hoffman House Restaurant, located inside the hotel is known for its world famous prime rib. The Scoreboard Lounge is one of Rockford's finest sports bars. For conventions, nothing compares. Our banquet facilities can host from 5 to 500 complete with full service catering and technology needs. Relax, it's Holiday Inn located right off I-90 on East State Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rockford (i-90 Exit 63) Hotel Rockford
Rockford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing