We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we stayed... once” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed... once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hope the new ownership fixes it up, because it’s a beautiful grand old building that is badly in need of some TLC. If you stay, I recommend walking the main floor hall from the lobby to the beer hall at the end of the hall. You’ll see ornate woodwork, large model sailing ships in display cases, statues, fountains, impressive dining and banquet rooms, and aquariums (one of which featured brightly colored jellyfish). Free hot breakfast was a step above regular continental fare with biscuits and gravy, sausage, pancakes and hash browns. The shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Workout facility contained newer equipment including two treadmills, elliptical, and a wide selection of dumbbells and medicine balls. However, you’ll also see stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, scuff marks on doors and hall walls, doors missing their labels, at least two empty aquariums, a closed pool… and a half dozen or so uninhabited guest rooms that are missing locks / handles / keycard readers. Internet access was not user friendly. Biggest negative to us was the lack of soundproofing in the building, which management has tried to address by placing a ‘Quiet Zone’ sign at the entrance to the hallway. It didn’t do much to silence the barking dog in the room across the hall, or prevent us from hearing doors close each and every time a guest would arrive or depart from their room throughout the night. Very unique building. Glad we stayed here once, but have mixed feelings on whether we’d be in a hurry to come back.

Comment for hotel management – would foam tape and or some type of rubber stoppers affixed to the door jams help silence the doors a bit?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctc10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post of tripadvisor. We are in the process of making many upgrades to our facility, including a newly renovated fitness center and indoor swimming pool (expected completion April 1, 2014).

We would like to invite you back...give us a call or check us out online for specials.

Thanks!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    79
    34
    44
    51
See reviews for
95
101
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Bargain stay. Food service was sporadic, but I didn't care. The staff were terrific and we were on our way. The place has had better days and the neighborhood is slipping. I congratulate the management for keeping it all going. I will repeat next time in town.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lordegbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to recommend us on trip advisor. We are currently in a remodeling phase as we had recently been taken under a new management company. This is a transition for us...however we have been able to make some immediate upgrades with the recent completion of a new fitness center, upgraded to flat screen televisions, upgraded our internet service, purchased a new van for shuttle service and so much more planned for 2014 as we will be moving towards being a Choice Family Hotel.

Thanks again and we hope to see you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Took 2 hours after check-in to get into the room because it was dirty, then the keys made didn't work, maintenance had to let us in, then informed us they had to take our door off. They moved us to another room that was again dirt and took 2 hours to clean. It was 8pm before we got into our room. Checked for bed bugs (cause the whole hotel looks dirty and rundown) and found an enormous urine stain on the mattress and the light switch was crusted with dried seminal fluid. The pool is closed down with no signage or notification on the website. What an absolute nightmare of a hotel. Management was not interested in making things right, just plugging their new workout equipment. I wouldn't recommend staying there, and I surely would not recommend having a wedding there and forcing your friends and family to stay there.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
I apologize for your unfortunate experience. We are currently in a remodeling phase as we had recently been taken under a new management company. This is a transition for us...however we have been able to make some immediate upgrades with the recent completion of a new fitness center, upgraded to flat screen televisions, upgraded our internet service, purchased a new van for shuttle service and so much more planned for 2014 as we will be moving towards being a Choice Family Hotel. In regards to your comments about the pool we have a notice on our website that stating that it is closed for remodeling and as a lesson to our staff we will be notifying them at check in. The timing for completing the pool renovation is by April 30th or before.

Again we apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope that we will be able to regain your confidence on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked a night for New Years Eve, the check in was good, friendly staff. Our room was very nice, clean and very comfy bed. Loved the décor. We had dinner at the restaurant the food was really good but the service was very slow and the room was only a 1/3 full( kind of sad not more people there). We wish they would of had some kind of entertainment for the night. The breakfast was ok, needs more selection and some item ran empty!! We would stay here again. Are friends were on the 4th floor and the elevator is very slow, most times they took the stairs.

Room Tip: upper floor would be better than you wont hear the people above you if they are up late and loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and telling others about your pleasant stay with us. We are currently in a transitioning phase as we have recently changed ownership and management companies. With that being said you can expect great things in 2014 for Cliffbreakers. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team. We appreciate you as a guest, and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I wish I could give this place zero stars because that is what it truly deserves.
Let me paint a picture of what it was like walking into this "Luxury Hotel"......... When I walked I was slapped in the face with a musty odor that was repulsive. Then looking around it was dark dreary and stains on the walls, carpets and couches. I thought to myself ok only one night I could handle it even though it looked like I was walking into a B rating horror flick. I knew it was goign to be okay. So my husband and I walked to the counter and went to check in. The man behind the counter turn to the lady next to him and sad these people....What?!?! I was very confused. Then he turns to me and says "oh I am sorry but we do not have a room for you we already booked it a week ago" My husbands response was" We booked ours almost two weeks ago."
the man behind the counter states "Well we did not get your online reservation until today but we will see if we can find you something."
At this point I should have walked out and said don't bother but as I waited for 20 minutes to tell me if they have a room for us I figured hey maybe they will upgrade us since they made a mistake....grant it we already had reserved one of the top rooms already. So he comes to us and says great new we have a room and they down graded us and we would only get a refund if we called the online company that we did our reservations through. Again Very confused because we made a the reservations directly through their website.
We got to the room and I just walked out. It smelled even worse then they main entryway. I have never been in a worse place....I have a word of advice if you have no where else to stay but this place just keep on driving and sleep in your car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you want a conventional, could-be-anywhere-in-America hotel, look elsewhere. The Cliffbreakers was built on a dream of something exotic in a beautiful setting overlooking the Rock River. The decor is an over-the-top mix of baroque and nautical themes; with dark, ornate woodwork, ship models and the only life-size cast-iron wild boar fountain you'll ever see.
Unfortunately, the hotel struggles along with everything else in Rockford's economy, so it's a bit worn and out of date. The pool is a shambles, the exercise room is a joke, and the hallways are a bit shopworn. But the guest rooms are decent and clean, and the free, hot breakfast is served in a room with a beautiful view of the river (get up early to see the sunrise).
Give this hotel a chance if you value a distinctive experience over modern amenities and cookie-cutter decor.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lichty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and telling others about your pleasant stay with us. We are currently in a transitioning phase as we have recently changed ownership and management companies. With that being said you can expect great things in 2014 for Cliffbreakers. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team. We appreciate you as a guest, and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A lovely old dog friendly hotel. Very spacious rooms, and a nice view over the river Rock from the breakfast room. The included breakfast promised to be good, but it was very disappointing. The hot options were bland, the coffee awful, and the cold options average, I had a much better breakfast at the Comfort Suites two days earlier!

In summary loved the hotel and the location, great rooms, need to improve the breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side would have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review our hotel, and telling other about your pleasant stay with us. We have received a lot of positive comments in regards to our beautiful setting along the banks of the Rock River. We have recently enhanced our breakfast buffet based on your comments. We appreciate you as a guest and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

The Management Team
Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing