We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Rockford
1 review
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay was a short one, and after traveling late we were exhausted, the front desk worker Anne was more than accommodating with everything that we needed. The hotel itself was unique, and seemed busy, but was quiet which was nice. We definitely will be coming back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoemc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy R, Front Office Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your accommodations. As well, I am happy to hear that you found our staff, especially Anne, to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for choosing Cliffbreakers as your hotel destination! We look forward to having you visit with us again, should your travels bring you back to Rockford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    80
    35
    44
    55
See reviews for
100
102
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I decided to give this hotel another shot...it was ok...the window was broken, there were bugs on the walls, and the walls seem thin on the 1st floor ( I could hear doors slam and the upstairs walking)
And while the staff was friendly they didnt seem to know what was going on when I checked in and the cleaning staff was knocking at my door at 9am.
Didnt have the breakfast and I didnt swim.
I however enjoyed the fridge and the very comfy bed. All in all wasnt bad but it wasn't good either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mgm1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy R, Front Office Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I want to apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us. We will certainly look into a solution to the issues you had with the broken window and bugs on the wall. Also, I would like to apologize for the noise issues. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the refrigerator and comfy bed though! If you have any more concerns please do not hesitate to call either myself or my General Manager, Chris at 815-282-3033. Thank you for choosing Cliffbreakers and we hope to see you again when you travel to Rockford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed at CliffBreakers for a wedding and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They even called twice to check on us and make sure that our room was okay and if we needed anything. The hotel is beautiful and was very clean. Breakfast that came with the room was also a plus and it was very good. Highly recommend and we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy R, Front Office Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I am happy to see that your stay was a great one and I hope the family all had fun at the wedding. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for choosing Cliffbreakers and we hope to see you on your next trip to Rockford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Cliffbreakers while in town for a lacrosse tourney. The hotel has so many beautiful features! I could have walked all over the whole building admiring all the beautiful woodwork and details. The room was a nice size with comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we asked. You can tell the building is currently being remodeled but the completed areas are very nice. The free breakfast was very good with many hot food choices. The only thing that prevented me giving a five star rating is that much of the carpeting I saw was very dirty. Hopefully the management has planned to either replace or deep clean the carpets. Other previous reviews complained the hotel was located in a bad neighborhood. We felt it was more like an older section of town instead of undesirable. Overall I would highly recommend Cliffbreakers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chickie_wickie_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy R, Front Office Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with our spacious, comfortable accommodations. As well, I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Next time you visit us ask please ask the hotel staff to accommodate you with our "Walking Tour" pamphlet! Thank you for choosing Cliffbreakers and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rockford!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Michael
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the awesome entrance, to the almost art deco setting all over, and old world charm, we really loved this place as soon as we walked in. The staff is extremely nice. I'm sure helpful too, but as luck would have it we needed no help. Check in, supper in their restaurant, breakfast the next morning and we had to go. The prices at the restaurant were just a bit higher than I'd expected, but not unreasonable. We had a two level room. It was very nice, but did need upgrade and repair. But still, for the same price as a chain, we had a room with our bed up stairs in a "loft" and we had a living room with 3 sided fireplace down stairs. All with a room overlooking the river. Since our son has just moved to Rockford, we've already booked a room for going back for another visit in couple weeks. The staff did mention they were under new management, and that will likely make some of the minor cosmetic issues much better. But overall - SUPER NICE PLACE

Room Tip: Call the hotel itself and ask for a two level room. They're pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angyangy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've stayed here plenty of times, and absolutely love the place. It is always very clean and has a phenomenal breakfast! The guest service at the front counter was exceptional tonight like it is every other time we've been here. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsjdbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Travel Buddy and I have stayed at Cliffbreakers several times over the years.

Our most recent stay was pleasant, except for the noise apparently caused by lodgers located directly above us. It seemed that they paced in their room from 4-9 am. But we didn't complain. It is apparent as seasoned travelers, that unless you request a room on the top floor of any hotel/motel, you may be subjected to an elephant parade : ( Nonetheless, our 2 queen bed river view room was very nice and clean. The first pillow I tried was like a rock, so I traded it with another on the other bed--that worked! The mattress was quite comfortable. The room had a sofa sleeper with a wobbly coffee table. The hot breakfast served the next morning was plentiful, albeit, the eggs quite dry (any food kept hot in a buffet server suffers from this). Must say, the breakfast room servers were quite attentive, keeping the serving areas wiped and even taking our empty plates. For that, we tipped them! The Boar (yes, it's a Boar) water fountain was not turned on, or simply not working. Yes, Cliffbreakers could use a facelift, no doubt. But for the price we paid for this stay, which included hot breakfast (and fabulous coffee), it was a great value. (Way better than their King bed river view room with a beat-up faux sleigh bed for almost $30 more at another recent stay here.) The front desk check-in and check-out attendants were both very friendly.

Fix the "ouches" Cliffbreakers! If/when the new hotel complex happens in downtown Rockford, you may just lose the Coronado Theater's show and play goers who wish to spend the night in Rockford...

Room Tip: If you can afford it or just wish to splurge, you must stay in one of Cliffbreakers upper floor bi-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NosyTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
620 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
327 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing