We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff of Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff of Excellence”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When you talk about service and attentiveness and making sure your stay is Excellent its CliffBreakers where you want to stay. Front Desk and restaurant staff is always on top of there game. Fitness room is excellent and your breakfast is to excellent. So overall Excellent!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    81
    38
    45
    63
See reviews for
107
103
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A large group of us just stayed here for a family wedding, and let me tell you, this hotel seemed swimming in shadiness from both staff (only two of various examples: cleaning staff trolling halls at night very attentive to the comings and goings from rooms; unlocked doors for adjoining rooms - MAKE SURE TO CHECK THAT IF YOU STAY HERE) and guests (examples: guests arriving after midnight to begin partying; older guys inquiring after who if anyone is staying in room with teen girls; guest striking up elevator coversation about swimming then showing up to swim also and monitoring folks' coming and going from pool). Here's why it matters: one senior couple in our group had two bottles of wine stolen from their room while they were at the wedding. Actually, the next morning, they discovered it wasn't just wine. Their car key too. That is, a thief had a 12-hour lead in stealing their car before they discovered keys had been taken from a purse. Yes, their car was stolen from the handicap parking spot nearest to the door and the security camera. Yes, the cameras apparently were not working that day. Yes, this senior couple was given a room with a known problem of a door that doesn't closed automatically after itself. And, guess what? The hotel didn't even give this couple their room for free. They accepted full payment for the room even as the group waited for the police to arrive. Classy! Everything else in the other reviews is true, both good and bad. Just have this info on hand before you decide to stay here. I wouldn't be surprised if they have a rampant crime problem and this car theft was an inside job.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank TravelS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockford hotels

fulton il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Haven't stopped itching since I stayed there! Should've been tipped off by the huge hog sculpture in the lobby cuz it is a pig sty. Elevator floors look like the back of a taxicab. Downstairs smelled of mildew/mold. View blocked by weeds, discarded beer cans & cups as well as overgrown brush.I think I saw bedbugs but given the dilapidated nature of this place maybe they were just cockroaches. This "gem" was beyond a doubt the worst motel I have stayed at in a long time & will never stay there again. In fact every other hotel in Rockford were full, I'd rather get a sleeping bag & tent to camp out - pretty sure there'd be fewer bugs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaW1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy R, Front Office Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I want to apologize for the experience you had during your stay with our hotel. We will certainly look into a solution to the concerns you had while staying with us. This is not the norm for our hotel. We certainly would like to invite you back to our property so you can experience the great stay we strive to provide for all of our guests. Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any further questions, concerns or comments we can address for you. I can be reached at 815-282-3033. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've read the bad reviews and the great reviews on here and I can see both sides. Your opinion of this place is going to greatly depend on your taste. We were there for just an overnight stay and got a really good deal at one of the online mystery sites. Driving up, I was not sure what to think of the place as it is in the back of the restaurant area and next to a shopping center that was not real well lit when we pulled in. Got in and yes the decor and carpets were outdated but that stuff doesn't bother me. You could tell this place was a gem at one point but has not kept up with the times, decor wise. The front desk clerk was friendly and got us in our room right away. the shower had good water pressure, hot water, and served its purpose. The beds you sink right into which I personally like but I know others like firmer mattresses. The breakfast the next morning was a hot buffet with just about anything you could want and would probably pay $10 a person for at other places but is included here. Their cinnamon rolls were amazing as well. Was going to stay again on our return trip but the price was significantly more (almost triple) so opted not to, but I would return should the opportunity present itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Where do we begin? We had a first floor room. When the elevator finally made it down the two floors from the lobby and the doors opened, our sense of smell was assaulted by a very strong musty odor. As we traveled down the the hallway to our room, we passed a door that looked like someone had broken in. The door was splintered and the lock was broken. If you pushed the door open, the the room was trashed. Once in our own room, the curtains were somewhat holey and really didn't hang right like they were missing some hangers. Although we were on the riverside,
there was no river view, just a bunch of weeds and bushes. Everywhere we looked the wallpaper was peeling. The carpets were filthy and cobwebs hung on the walls.

When we were ready to check out, along with everyone else in the hotel, they were mopping & vacuuming the lobby area. You had to be careful; so as not to slip on the wet floor or trip over the vacuum cord snaking across the floor from one corner to the other.

There was a leak in the second floor ceiling, but instead of fixing the leak, just the ceiling tile was replaced. By the next day it was bulging with water and finally fell. Thankfully no-one was under it when it did.

The place has a lot of potential, but needs a lot of TCL to become the "Jewel" she once had been!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stay away from this hotel and convention center. We attended a wedding dinner and dance at this hotel and it was awe full. The manager in charge of the banquet needs to be fired, he's rude, mean to guests, and was looking for trouble as soon as we walked in the banquet room. He even called the cops to have a guest removed and the cops said we have better things to do then this. The bed in the room was soft and probably hasn't a new mattress in 50 years. The place was run down, ceiling tiles were falling out of the ceiling in guess rooms. The place was full of mildew and smelled like a sweaty tee shirt.

My recommendation is stay somewhere else in Rockford, you'll be happy you did. This place is awe full.

Room Tip: Stay some place better than this place in Rockford, IL
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has potential but the owners are letting it slip away... First off Chantelle the woman at the front desk was great! The outside of the hotel and parking lot looks nice. It's time to change the carpet In the entire hotel. the elevator carpet is so dirty and it's holding a bad rotten egg smell I thought maybe the smell came from something/someone passing through but the next day it was still there. The 1st floor R1 looked like no one had been on that floor in years and when we first got there I thought we were the only ones on the floor but the next day I saw people coming out their rooms. the pictures in the hall looked liked they got wet and now are ruined and have brown stains. Some of the doors looked like they had been kicked in. The room we were in the decor look like it was from 1999 the sofa looked so disgusting when I went over by it there was cobwebs above it. They had some renovated rooms I saw that didn't look renovated at all. All they did was paint the opposite walls a different color and added some up to date bedspreads the carpet and sofa was still old and dirty and the decor still old and damaged. I did not get a wink of sleep because The room was full of earwigs/pinching bugs crawling on the floor, ceiling and walls. My boyfriend was in such a deep sleep from traveling for 17 hours I could not get him up so that we can see if we could exchange rooms. They offer hot breakfast and that was ok. When we checked out we mention that the room was filled with bugs and she took $10 off the room. I'm not sure what their honeymoon, presidential, and other special suites look like but hopefully they are way better then their regular rooms. Advice to the owners--> updated, clean and fresh hotels = happy guests that come back time after time. If your going to renovate then Renovate EVERYTHING in the room and don't just pick and choose different rooms on different floors that you want to renovate start with one floor, finish then go to the next floor because you walk down the hall you have doors with nice signs on a nice door then the next door no signs at all and door looks kicked in with guest staying in them. This could be a grand hotel hope you really care about your customers and theirs reviews and start making changes

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingmscates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#8 of 24 in Rockford
113 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 700 W Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103-2173 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing