We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a typical Comfort Inn, but decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Rockford
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a typical Comfort Inn, but decent value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here with a large group in June 2011. Was quoted a very low rate for a Comfort Inn so we booked it. Hotel was an OK value for the price paid but it was not the usual Comfort Inn experience. Rooms were decent sized and service was good. But breakfast was thin, one room had a broken A/C, and the place is worn. If your main concern is price, it will be fine. But given the quotes we received from other hotels, we should've spent a few bucks more for a (presumably) nicer place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red10dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    36
    29
    22
    18
See reviews for
37
23
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago-ish
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Basically, this was the least expensive hotel I could find that had an indoor pool. I called at 8am the morning I was to check-in to see if early check-in was possible, and I was told to show up any time, the room was ready. Derrico at the front desk was great. I told him I had 2 small kids, so it was best to not book rooms around us if possible so we don't bother anyone, and he really appreciated it. The rooms and facilities were very clean, and everyone was very helpful. Breakfast choices are limited, but what do you expect. With a microwave and fridge in the room, it was everything we needed for an overnight trip. Convenient location, near plenty of food options.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshep975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

My father (age 70) and I stayed here for one night during a recent road trip.

We used a coupon from the RoomSaver book that you can pick up at rest areas and truck stops for a $44 rate. We checked in late at night.

Hotel parking is rather odd -- there's a small parking lot on the front side of the building, with room for more cars around back. But there is no direct entrance to the hotel from the back (that we could find), and the hotel's key-access lock on the side door was broken. Since the elevator has a central location in the hotel, it was a longish walk from the car with our belongings.

The hotel room was average, 2Q beds, fridge and microwave, free internet access. It was clean, and smelled fine. The bathroom was on the small side. The sink was located in the same room with the tub and toilet. The bathroom is in need of a refurbishment. Fixtures and tub looked tired.

Free breakfast consisted of bagels, fresh waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, fruit, toast and muffins, coffee, juice, tea, milk.

There is a small indoor pool and hot tub, but we checked in too late to use either.

If staying in Rockford again with the same budget, I would try the Red Roof Inn across the street.

We had a 2nd floor room.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

I have stayed at this hotel at least 7 times and this hotel is fine. It is a great bargain! The rooms are fine and the staff are friendly. There is a computer in the lobby with Internet access as well. You can walk across the street to pick up the Van Galder bus to O'Hare at the Holiday Inn. I stay at this hotel just about every time that I visit my mother in Rockford.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinManTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

This is not a good or honest chain of hotels. They are not honest in it's distribution of points. They accept your card and make promises at check in then later refuse to give you the points you've earned, using untrue statements to justify their decision. In addition underhanded tactics are used when they also automatically add a charge to your bill for the use of the safe in the room. They will only reverse the charge if YOU happen to notice and bring it to their attention. Desk staff frequently rude and keep clients waiting for long periods of time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starlightshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

I worked with the staff in advance to secure a group for our boys soccer team... actually 2 teams. We received a rate of $104.99 per night for room with 2 queen beds. While a few other hotels in the area were cheaper, this one had a pool and a continental breakfast, which we really needed for all the kids. The staff was less than pleasant... god forbid anyone crack a smile! Overall the hotel was clean and tidy and only one on our team was dissatisfied with the room saying it had hair in the bathroom. The continental breakfast was definately lacking... for the money there should have been more. A fitness room would have been nice too. The pool needs attention. I don't know what chemical imbalance it had, but you couldn't see the bottom as it was hazy and in my opinion created a hazard if a child drowned you might not see him! Also, we got charged for the safe in our room! Hello??? We didn't use it and were NOT advised of the fee. The Wi-Fi was good throughout the hotel. We, all 30something of us, were incredibly unhappy with the service of the front desk staff... most of the time they were rude and gave me the feeling that I was an inconvenience to them.
It's too bad really... the overall hotel itself is comfortable and clean... the service sucks!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

We chose Comfort Inn because of price. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the place (especially since I had read some negative reviews). Staff was fast and very friendly; room was quite nice, with a fridge and microwave. Internet was easy and fast, and free (which I was not sure would be the case). I don't know how so many hotels can survive in a small area (there must be 30+ in the surrounding square mile), but I hope this one does. We visit my dad in Rockford occasionally, and we'll be staying here from now on.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khjalmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockford
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#17 of 25 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 25 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Rockford

Property: Comfort Inn Rockford
Address: 7392 Argus Dr., Rockford, IL 61107-5283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Rockford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Rockford
Rockford Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing