We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in great location”

Review of Goldcrest Cottage

Goldcrest Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Goldcrest Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Goldcrest Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen 2
Sitting Room
Log Burner
Reading area
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Bamburgh Castle
Lindisfarne Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fenwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gooka28
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here as a base for our visit to Alnwick castle for my sons 9th birthday.

A really airy cottage which is deceptively big. Lovely surroundings and great location for visiting Holy Island and Alnwick castle!

No local takeaways but would recommend Cannon Take Away in Berwick who will deliver to the cottage (for a small charge).

Would 100% recommend this cottage and would love to visit again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and Alnwick Castle is fantastic, perfect for children of any age.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly57_1...
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Goldcrest Cottage is an absolutely gorgeous little getaway and photos really don't do it justice! It is much bigger than it seems, with spacious living areas and fantastic bedrooms. In fact the beds were so comfortable we all struggled to get up in a morning.

The cottage is well kept and decorated beautifully, and the owner even left a bottle of wine and box of biscuits with the welcome note which was a lovely touch!

Although there are no shops or pubs in Fenwick there are amenities close by (just a short drive) and plenty of tourist locations too!

I will be recommending the cottage to friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thank you for your very kind review of Goldcrest Cottage, we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay. Despite Fenwick being a tiny village, it has access to many great places to visit, and equally it's a fantastic place to come home to!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapthemac...
durham
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Couldn't fault this accomodation absolutely wonderful to a high standard. Our kids loved it the rooms were all immaculate

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, we're thrilled you liked our cottage. We love to stay there too when we can. It really is a home from home. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolson2
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Extremely comfortable and spacious. Ideal for exploring the area, just a short distance off the A1 but we were not aware of traffic noise at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We all said when we came back from a day out ,
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. The location is perfect for exploring the region, being very close to the A1 is certainly an advantage. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazylegs...
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful cottage ideally situated for exploring Northumberland. The owners have succeeded in offering accomodation to a very high standard which added to the enjoyment of our holiday. A real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and decor
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin B
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Great location, clean and well maintained house”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The location is very good for trips to the Farne Islands, close to the A1, but not too close.
There was a very nice welcome pack in the house, everything was clean and well maintained. We have had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen and welcome pack
Liked least: small bed in downstairs bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I'm thrilled you had a great stay and found the location ideal for your visit to the area. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUAbing
Surrey, Canada
1 review
“Everything comfortable”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A delightful cottage, really spacious and well appointed. The beds were so comfortable! Everything we could have asked for to make a relaxing stay, and the owners are so nice and helpful. Good access to Alnwick, Bamburgh, the Farne Islands and Lindisfarne/Holy Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and well appointed it was.
Liked least: There is a little road noise from the A1 in the distance.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and your positive review, this means a lot. We do try to make our guests as comfortable as possible and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing