We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS House - we ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mill House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large, fully equipped kitchen has fantastic sea views - concentrating on cooking's tricky! Another wonderfully comfortable double bedroom, with stunning sea views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The large, fully equipped kitchen has fantastic sea views - concentrating on cooking's tricky!
Another wonderfully comfortable double bedroom, with stunning sea views.
This bedroom looks directly out to sea and over to Lindisfarne - wonderful!
The downstairs bedroom has an en suite bathroom suitable for the mobility impaired.
The third upstairs bedroom (with ensuite) has twin beds.
One of the four en suite bathrooms.  There is also a downstairs cloakroom.
The conservatory adjoins the living room and has a door to the private garden.
The conservatory with private garden and sea views.
The view of Holy Island from the large shared garden.
Enjoy the view towards Lindisfarne.
Another foreshore view of the cottages - the Mill House is on the left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fenwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BFizzlon
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS House - we ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a beautiful location, what a beautiful house! Very warm and comfortable, well planned and well equipped house, with fabulous views out of the kitchen, sitting room, conservatory and one of the bedrooms. The views were out over the water looking towards Holy Island. Perfect house for relaxing in and watching birds from the comfort of the house. Lots of birds if you're into bird watching. I couldn't recommend it more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, and the comfort.
Liked least: the weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Mill House. It is located in such an idylic location whether you your looking for the outdoors or as you say relaxing. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJSKWilts...
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is fantastic All furnishings are beautiful. The views across to Lindisfarne and Bamburgh are amazing. We saw seals out in the bay, a fox walk along the beach, a stoat in the garden as well as lots of rabbits out in the nature reserve. There is a lovely conservatory to just sit in and watch it all. Bedrooms are large and all ensuite. Great holiday home

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin550
Notts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house in outstanding location”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (4 couples) spent a long weekend at the Mill House in mid January. Top quality accommodation, ideal for our group. Fabulous location, spectacular views, outstanding facilities, well-equipped and comfortable for whatever the weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
I am glad your weekend was a success at the Mill House. I agree with you that the layout is ideal for groups and family gatherings with each bedroom having an ensuite bathroom and the dining room can accommodate up to 18 people cosily. Thanks for your review. Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breathtaking location - wonderful views”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed over New Year with a large family group spanning three generations. The house is beautifully decorated and very well appointed, there was not a thing we missed or lacked during the week (except maybe some more ice cube trays to cool drinks...!). It was also spotlessly clean throughout.

There is also plenty of space, lots of places for people to read and contemplate quietly as well as places for kids to play without being under everyone's feet. That each bedroom has its own bathroom was a bonus, it meant we all had our space and privacy and weren't on top of each other during busy times.

The views are magnificent, and the light changing makes every look different. It's the thing I loved most and miss most too - I've never enjoyed such a wonderful view while washing up - ever!

It was stormy while we were there, high winds, lashing rain, but the cottage is extremely cosy (too cosy at times!), and there's something wonderful about watching the weather all around you while you're snug and warm inside.

The location is perfect for visiting castles, and taking advantage of the wonderful coastal walks. So much to do nearby.

Without doubt one of the very best cottages I have every stayed in, it was pricey - particularly as we stayed over New Year's Eve - but I did not feel short changed at all as everything was of such high quality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Underfloor heating - I'm not a fan of it generally
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
Thank you for your great review. The views are super and as you say they are ever changing with the light. You don't need to wait for sunset or sunrise either and then you have the ever changing tides too. Best wishes Pauline.
PS. The ice block trays have now been replaced. I'm glad you mentioned it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigrab_12
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent 4 bed cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My family have just spent a wonderful week in Mill Cottage at Lindisfarne Bay Cottages. As the name would suggest the view from most rooms in this magnificent 4 bed roomed cottage have an unspoilt view looking across the water to Holy Island and Lindisfarne Castle. If you look in the other direction you can see Bamburgh Castle, not sure if this unique, two castles from the same window? When the tide comes in you have the waves lapping at your back door. The accommodation in all rooms is first class and the decor and furnishings are of a very high standard. When we arrived the cottage had been cleaned to the highest standard and was well maintained and we did appreciate the cake and the bottle of wine chilling in the fridge. The four bedrooms all have en suite facilities and are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable (too comfortable some mornings), the only thing that would have improved the room would have been an alarm clock. The sun room with its superb views was well used by all of us at various times and the lounge with a wood burning fire was very comfortable again with magnificent views of the sea and furniture to accommodate eight adults easily. It was a pleasure to make a meal in a very well equipped kitchen again with the views of Lindisfarne and Bamburgh castles. The cottage also had a beautiful garden with various trees and flowers and again was very well maintained. It also had a gas BBQ situated at the highest point of the garden again providing the master chef with stunning views of the coastline.
The cottages are (another two on the site) about 1 ½ miles from the main A1 road and you never hear a sound other than the various forms of wildlife. The nearest shop is a Londis /petrol station/ Lindisfarne Inn is about ¼ of a mile away once you get onto the main road. The shop is quite well stocked and the Lindisfarne Inn is very good and reasonably priced for a meal. The nearest supermarket that we found was heading north on the A1 at Berwick so it is advisable to get well stocked up with what you might need with food.
This cottage was excellent for the type of holiday my family were looking for, we had our 14 week old granddaughter with us so we were happy to do a little touring around the area and having a relaxing evening in the cottage after having been out for a meal or having eaten in the cottage.
The cost of the weeks rent was not cheap but was worth the price paid especially if you consider we had eight adults staying in first class accommodation and when compared to living in a hotel or bed and breakfast was not expensive as you might think, a point to consider when looking for accommodation in this area.
I would have no hesitation in returning to any of the cottages at Lindisfarne Bay and would strongly recommend them to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Only booked for one week
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuffy
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that spoils you”
Reviewed 8 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a fabulous location on the shore of Lindisfarne Bay looking across to Holy Island.

The interior is well presented, clean and very comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. A delicious cake and bottle of wine also added to the welcome.

The views are stunning and sitting in the conservatory watching the tides and birds as well as changing weather was so relaxing. It was often hard to go out!!

The sea views are from many of the rooms and bedrooms and because the property is so beautifully decorated we were happy to return early from days out to relax in such comfortable and lovely surroundings.

Our only thoughts on leaving will be when can we return again and this sentiment is written time and again in the visitors book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The cleanliness and views
Liked least: Not staying longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;