We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a 2* pretending to be a 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On the drive up to Faithlegg House it is very impressive and well maintained, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who allowed us to check in a little early. We decided to head to the bar for some lunch and from there it all went downhill, the staff were loud, the fish and chips had so much grease i was tempted to ask for more tissue to dry it.

Considering we paid €186 per night for our room we expected something very nice, the room was average and the bathroom was not impressive. The toiletries were low quality and you could not lift the toilet seat up because it hits the flush handle and falls again. We used the room telephone to call reception and after 5 minutes nobody picked up so we needed to call the front desk from our mobile phone. There was a wedding reception in the hotel and the music was far too loud so couldn't get to sleep till after 2.30am, which was then interrupted by the paper thin walls and the neighbours using the bathroom.

The breakfast on Sunday morning was hectic we were seated quickly but at 10am there was not a lot of options left, we kept having to ask staff for basics like bread and water. There was a queue forming out the door for tables even though there was some empty tables that had not been cleaned off because the staff were running around like headless chickens or chatting to each other.

To top off a not so pleasant stay the git voucher i bought for my girlfriend online for a Back, Neck, Shoulder & Scalp Massage which should have lasted for 50 minutes was only for 40 minutes.

I will not be rushing to stay again for this price bracket there are far better options in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Got a fantastic deal for 3 night stay at this Hotel. Beautiful Hotel , stayed in a lovely room number 109. Really clean and pretty. Food was very good and a nice bit of variety on the menu each evening. Only negative was service was poor for one of the nights. Really recommend this hotel to you all; great for the golfers and also good coarse fishing at Oaklands fishery in New Ross (30 minutes away). Sea and RIVER fISHING ON YOUR DOORSTEP.

Room Tip: Overlooking garden not car park!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent three days in Faithlegg in the good weather at the end of June and were greatly pleased with our stay. The surroundings,the welcome, the accommodation, the food, the friendliness and efforts of the staff were very much appreciated and the value for money was impossible to surpass. Thank you for a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in Faithlegg for one night and I can safely say we won't be going back based on the dinner service. Our package included a 4 course meal. We booked in for dinner at nine, didn't get our starters (soup and smoked salmon) until almost 10, with no explanation whatsoever for the hold up. Main course was fine. By the time desert came out (approx 11:10), we were one of just two tables left in the restaurant, and at this stage the waiting staff had started to strip all of the tables and were setting up for breakfast. Call me crazy, but I would expect the waiting staff in a 4 star establishment to wait until the diners had left the restaurant before they start to tear it apart for the next day's service. We didn't stay in the restaurant for course number 4, nor were we asked upon leaving the restaurant as to why we were leaving one course shy of what we paid for.

Nice place in general, but certainly not 4 star or worth the rates for the service you get in return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelleb808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at Faithlegg on June 2 which was bank holiday Monday. The place was hopping, but we checked in quickly and easily to a "garden room" on the lower level which has a beautiful garden view. We had booked a dinner B&B package and had a wonderful experience. We had not made dinner reservations in advance but they managed to squeeze us in and we loved the food - lots of options, all delicious. We did not take advantage of the spa as we were doing a driving tour of Ireland and were busy during the day with sightseeing. Breakfast was excellent - the largest selection of home-baked, hot and cold buffet we had on our whole trip. We thought the accommodation was superb, especially as we had just spent 3 nights in Dublin in a very expensive, not so great, noisy hotel. Dinner on the weeknight, was not as awesome as the weekend dinner, but still lovely. We will definitely return and highly recommend Faithlegg to all! The staff were excellent, friendly, accommodating. Our only small issue, is that the staff work very hard, hurrying in and out of the kitchen - some of them with very heavy trays and very heavy footsteps that you can feel on the dining room floor while you are seated there. Try to sit in the dining area furthest from the kitchen - then you do not notice it. Be sure to check their website for the best available package before you go. This stay was a fabulous deal in a gorgeous place, with wonderful staff. One more note- it is out in the country - our gps located it quite well, but we made a wrong turn and ended up on some very tiny lanes to recover. Be sure to watch all the turns carefully!!

Room Tip: We loved the lower level garden room. It had a door to the garden, but we could not figure out how...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD891950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just back from a 3 night special offer, it was the best special offer we have had in a long time. Read reviews before we went, so asked for room overlooking the garden, which we got. The room was very clean, had tea making facilities a very good hair dryer in desk drawer, I only wished they had a mini bar, as the weather was scorching & we would love to have been able to keep soft drinks cool, but that is just a quibble on my part.
I have to say the staff are the best I,v come across, they are all so pleasant & friendly, the restaurant staff were brilliant, there was a problem one night when 2 staff members did not show up & the dining room suffered, but the restaurant manager & staff apologized to everyone & did a great job getting us served. The breakfast was excellent with lots to choose from. The offer we were on had a set menu for dinner but had good range to select from & I loved everything I got.
We had a lovely 3 day break, would I go again, yes please.

Room Tip: If you can't get a room in the old house, get a garden view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bules1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved this hotel. Check in was fast and efficient. The room was beautiful, and clean.
The grounds and the golf course are spacious and well manicured. There is a nice play ground for children behind the hotel. A lot of land for walking around. No busy streets, and no crowds.
Breakfast is amazing, a great selection of everything imaginable. The waiter bring the coffee, tea, and toast is very lively.

Room Tip: This is and excellent hotel for families, weddings, or a romantic get away. Make sure you get up in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faithlegg
1.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,349 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Faithlegg, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Faithlegg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Price Range: £108 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faithlegg House Hotel And Golf Club
Faithlegg Hotel Waterford
Waterford Faithlegg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing