We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, clean airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cool, clean airport hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel was exactly what I wanted it to be-- a clean, comfortable, relatively quiet place to stay on an overnight layover at O'Hare. I arrived at close to 11PM, but found that there was a nice energy to the lobby/lounge area. Felt like I could have gone down for a drink or two, if I were so inclined.

Check in was fast and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable, and exactly as pictured. My only tiny trouble was that the bedside lights didn't seem to work, but perhaps I was missing some subtlety of th lighting system.

I had a good sleep, and the next morning, liked the little grab and go breakfast area. At check out, the girl mentioned that I could get my breakfast free if I signed up for Starwoods rewards-- smart girl! I appreciated the head's up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. As for the lighting issue, for next time the master control for the bedroom lights is at the entrance to the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    343
    162
    67
    36
See reviews for
98
190
114
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had been looking forward to the opportunity to stay in an Aloft hotel, and while the concept intrigued me, my overall experience was underwhelming.
The location of this particular was great - I could walk to the outlet mall and there were plenty of restaurants and things to do within a 10-minute walking distance (including the Stephens Convention Center).
The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.
The lobby and common areas were open and welcoming, with lots of nooks if you wanted a little privacy.
The rooms were... different. Very contemporary and sparsely furnished. Storage space was limited.
The beds... just OK comfort-wise.
The HVAC... noisy but effective.
The room was tech-friendly, with plenty of electrical outlets.
Room lighting was confusing with lots of switches, but little rhyme or reason to what each switch could turn on / off.
The bathroom was laid out nicely, with the sink area separated from the toilet / shower. But, and there's always a but - the toilet ran all night, refilling every few minutes with that annoying noise. The sink would not drain properly, taking what seemed like forever to empty. And the shower, while it looked great, smelled of mildew.
Would I stay here again? No. Would I try a different Aloft? Probably.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. It appears that you enjoyed the location and the hotel layout however we fell short with a couple issues. We have addressed these issues with our staff and hope you will give us another try on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed several times at this hotel. The location is perfect for the airport and working the surrounding Chicago area. A shuttle service runs around the clock and the drivers are very professional (restaurant service as well as airport). The food right near the hotel in a quick walk across the parking deck is very good with a variety of food choices. The staff is always eager to help - especially Liz Kraft. I have referred this hotel many times. Exercise facilities could use another treadmill and breakfast could use some healthier options (Protein sources like Greek yogurt and fresh berries), which they use to have. Overall you cannot beat this hotel for its overall value and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the road side to reduce morning noise; however, the noise there is not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDM1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we appreciate your loyalty to the aloft O'Hare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stumbled into the Aloft due to bad weather in Chicago. Got stuck overnight and booked the Aloft. Shuttle ride is about 10 minutes from O'Hare. Hotel decor is art deco from the lobby to the rooms. Small dining area was cool with morning chef prepping the hot food. Breakfast sandwich was great, but lots of other stuff, too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Booked via Expedia and got a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyLPLakePlacid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks for the positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were picked up quickly at the airport. It is a short ride to the hotel. The check in process was very quick. The room was nice. Well appointed and a comfortable bed. The only drawback was the lack of "free' breakfast. There was coffee/tea, but everything else had a cost. I would stay there again and will look for other locations when I travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieR331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, MI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was in town attending a convention and chose to stay here rather than the host hotel which was $40 more per night and was very happy. The Aloft Hotel is very clean and contemporary. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. If I'm in town for another convention I'll be staying here again. The location is only about a 5 minute walk to the convention center. The only drawback is the closest liquor store is a little over a mile away.

Room Tip: Even though I was on the north side of the building where you could see planes landing at the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My girlfriend (now fiancee) stayed at this hotel over the weekend before St. Patrick's Day. We originally chose this hotel for its reputation as a more upscale boutique hotel. Immediately upon arriving to the room it was clear that while the design concept tried to meet the expectations of a true boutique hotel, this stay was going to fall short. While the room was cleaned to a minimum standard, it could have been better, as there was dust and grime around the tiles in the bathroom and shower. The handles for the sink and shower were loose to the point that the could fall off if pulled too hard. The walls were also very thin, allowing for any hallway noise to pass into the room. Do not stay in a room next to the skywalk on the 2nd level, as you will hear nothing but loud drunks coming back from the bars between 2am-4am. Lastly, we also got stuck in a room where the environmental controls had not been hooked up yet, leaving us with no ability to turn on the air circulation fan, or control the heat or cooling. Upon discovering the problems with the environmental controls, I reported it to the front desk, who offered to move us to a different room or to have the maintenance staff repair it in the morning. We decided to have it repaired the next day while we were sightseeing in Chicago. While getting breakfast the next morning I reminded the front desk staff that they said the repairs were going to be done that day, and we left the room at approximately 11:00am. After a long day of sightseeing we returned to the room at approximately 11:00pm, only to find that not only had no room service been performed that day, but that it was clear that no maintenance staff visited the room or tried any repairs. I then went to the front desk who told us that the only other option was to move us to a different room, which we did despite the hassle so we could get a decent amount of sleep. The staff at the front desk was nice, however the team as a whole needs to work to provide better customer service, making sure that things like this are taken care of for guests. After all of this added together, we will definitely not be staying at an Aloft hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the other nearby hotels that are within the same price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
#8 of 18 in Rosemont
2,890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Property: Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Address: 9700 Balmoral Ave, Rosemont, IL 60018-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just minutes away from the airport, the Aloft Chicago O'Hare offers all travelers a new experience with a loft inspired design as well as lounge, 24/7 gym, and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Aloft Hotel Rosemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing