We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms not up to Embassy Suites standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooms not up to Embassy Suites standards”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an older property, much in need of updating. In fact, the rooms are pretty shabby.
The hotel fire alarm went off at 2:30 AM requiring everyone to exit via the stairs and into the rain. No explanation or apology was ever offered by the staff. Then as we were returning to our rooms, the alarm went off again. No help, no explanation.
The early morning desk clerk was downright rude to me upon checkout when I asked him what the problem had been.
We'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We appreciate your comments as they identify areas for our improvement. As for the fire alarm, I apologize that our Team did not communicate the cause to the Guests, they were dealing with the Fire Department as to the cause for the alarm and our Front Desk person in the morning should have responded in a more professional manner. While as inconvenient as it was we are pleased our equipment worked as designed for the protection and safety of our Guests. The fact that is was the middle of a heavy rain storm was not pleasant. We hope you will return to our Hotel as we will continue to make improvements in the service and quality of our accommodations.
We hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    395
    234
    145
    68
See reviews for
323
160
56
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

by far one of my favorite places to stay. We come every year around the same time. The kids love the pool. This time the front desk gave my boys a couple little toys (sticky hand, candy) i enjoy the complimentary drinks for a couple hours at night. Although one of the waiters came off as rude when he was clearing our empty glasses and trash. But overall i love this place. Except the wifi. I believe when spending so much a night i should recieve free wifi. Not pay more for it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandafaye425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyStesRosemont, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
It is wonderful to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Rosemont as well as our complimentary evening reception and refreshing indoor pool. Your comments about one of our staff members have been forwarded it to our management team so that it may be addressed. At our hotel, there is fee for Wi-Fi services, however, we do offer complimentary internet to our Hilton HHonors Diamond and Gold Members. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimrio
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel and expected my room to be somewhat clean. It was room 225 across from the fitness center and it was gross. The lighting was dim, the water didn't spurt out of the facet correctly, the ceiling tiles were raised up, the wallpaper was peeling, the chair was stained, there was something nasty spurted in the wall, the bed was lumpy, and I could go on. Additionally, they had one person checking everyone in and she did everything( with a smile). The wait to check in way a ridiculous. We are also Silver members and I don't even know what the point is, since the room was horrible. If you are a weary traveler, stay away, at least away from Room 225.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyStesRosemont, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We will share your comments with both our management and housekeeping team as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for our future guests. We do apologize if your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We totally loved this hotel. On our arrival, the manager, Len, welcomed us personally, as he does his other guests. It was a lovely touch and it is little things like this that make for a great start to a memorable stay. The room is amazing. It is truly a suite with a king size bed, a kitchenette and a huge dining room table. The staff are courteous and helpful. The breakfast is a buffet and includes hot and cold food selections and if you want, you can have the chef make you an omellete or eggs as you like them. The shuttle is available to take you to and from the airport. Overall this is an excellent hotel for your stay in Chicago. It is near the airport, so if you have business at the Convention Centre, it is across the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterchester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyStesRosemont, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Rosemont. Providing guests with great service and terrific accommodations are top priorities for us as we wish to create an unforgettable experience for everyone. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great customer service and delicious breakfast buffet. The next time you are visiting Chicago, we hope that you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My travel experience was great! I enjoyed the easy access to restaurants, shopping, and downtown events with ease. The hotel staff was professional and very accommodating and friendly. Thanks! Embassy...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After flying 9 hours from Frankfurt, Germany, my dog and I arrived in Chicago. The customs process was very slow, similar to being in a Third World country. We missed our flight to Minneapolis. Then, after being boarded on a flight 3 hours later, we were told that bad weather in Minneapolis would be keeping us on the ground. An hour and a half later, we were told our flight was cancelled. I was very tired and unhappy with a poor dog who had been so patient. The Embassy Suites took us in, with a free shuttle from the airport, with an excellent price and accepted my dog. I walked the dog, ordered a meal and a glass of wine from room service and went to bed. Everything was excellent. The hotel was quiet and the bed comfortable. In the morning, I was ready to face the airport again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastry-and-poetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I always stay at Embassy Suites when I am on business because I have never been dissatisfied with their treatment. I stayed once at Embassy Suites and reported a problem and it was rectified promptly. Hey, no place can be always perfect!
This stay went seamlessly well as I expected. The comp breakfast, comp manager's reception, room cleanliness, staff attitude and its location were superb. .

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
0.1 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
#15 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Address: 5500 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018-5230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Embassy Suites O'Hare Rosemont is located adjacent to the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center and five minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) via our complimentary hotel shuttle (4am-12am). Located within walking distance from MBFinancial Park and Fashion Outlets of Chicago. Our hotel is a full service all suite airport hotel providing outstanding newly renovated accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers in the Chicago and Rosemont, Illinois area. Hi-Spd Internet available in guest rooms and public area for a nominal fee. Self Parking: $26/day; Valet Parking: $30/day. We do not offer a shuttle to Allstate Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago o`Hare Rosemont Hotel Rosemont
Embassy Suites Rosemont
Rosemont Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing