We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good selection, easy access, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pancakes Eggcetera - CLOSED

Pancakes Eggcetera
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, good selection, easy access, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I chose the banana nut pancakes with sausage patties as a side item. The pancakes were generously sized and were brought to the table with a supply of warm syrup and whipped butter. The pancakes were topped with sliced bananas (not bananas inside the pancakes) and a handful of broken walnuts. They were fresh and tasty. But the thing I will remember most is the sausage patties. This was some of the best sausage I have every had. It was firm, yet tender, and juicy but not mushy, and was well spiced, but not overbearing. When in the area, I will definitely visit again!

The one problem I had was with the free WIFI. I was unable to connect with my iPAD. The manager noticed my trouble and offered to help. "iPAD?" he inquired. I responded that it was and he indicated they had problems connecting iPads and iPhones from the dining room but if he could take it back to the hotspot in the back, he would likely be able to connect. He did and brought the iPad back to me, still connected to their WIFI.

PROS: The food and friendly service
CONS: Troublesome WIFI

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamT316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast with Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had the most excellent breakfast two mornings in a row. The chorizo burrito is very good with plenty of cheese, chorizo, eggs and veggies. The atmosphere is very family friendly with a train running overhead for the kids to enjoy. We went back a second morning because the food was so good as well as the service. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. When we return to Chicago and stay near O'hare, we will definitely return to this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gretasuetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so pleasant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

we found this restaurant by chance. from the moment we walked in we could tell it had a homey feel. it did not disappoint on any account. service was quick and friendly, portion size was good , and the food itself was very good. we enjoyed the relaxing lunch, and if we get a chance we would definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank good4trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

If you're looking for a basic, no-frills diner, this is perfect. It has a decent menu and my food was good. I went three times, and had French toast twice and the vegetarian eggs benedict (with tomatoes and spinach instead of Canadian bacon) once. My husband wasn't blown away by the waffles but he did like the pancakes. The service is OK. It wasn't bad and it fairly quick, but the waitresses weren't very pleasant. They didn't smile at all and while they did say thank you it didn't seem sincere. I don't need my server to suck up to me but a smile would be nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferE_1133837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I ate here twice during my stay and the service, food and overall quality was very good. I only ate breakfast.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dtkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing