We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big beer hall”

Hofbrauhaus Chicago
Reserve with OpenTable
Hofbrauhaus Chicago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 86 Restaurants in Rosemont
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: River Road
Description: Hofbrauhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbrauhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbrauhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

if you like HB beer and the beer hall like atmosphere this is the place in rosemont. Big communal tables. A few smaller ones too. usually a band playing. a good time if you want crowds.

Thank thebutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim O, General Manager at Hofbrauhaus Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words...Prost!

Jim
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 526 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

There was 24 of us and it took an hour to serve us all with our main course. The lady singer was also sadly lacking in passion. But we had a fun night mainly due to bum slapping waitresses. Good venue for fun business night out, but not if you want some tasty food.

Thank radders44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim O, General Manager at Hofbrauhaus Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words...Prost!

Jim
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my first time at a Hofbrauhaus. I was very blessed with the great food and beer. The beer is actually made by a certified german brewmaster from the Hafbrauhaus in Germany. The atmosphere is a lot of fun! They had a band that was from Germany called Die Schluchtenflizer. everyone in the restaurant has fun together. People are singing along with the band, standing on table with giant mugs of beer, and the staff is dressed up in traditional german outfits. I would totally recommend this place if you have never been. My next stop is the one in Vegas!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank corey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim O, General Manager at Hofbrauhaus Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words...Prost!

Jim
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is awesome. Not only do they brew their own beer and serve them in liters but the entire atmosphere is very interactive and they get you involved in tasks and getting you to sing along with the house band. My friend and I started our night here with one of their liter servings of beer. Our server was just great and we couldn't have had a better time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Matthew U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim O, General Manager at Hofbrauhaus Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words...Prost!

Jim
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you want to go to a nice, quiet restaurant, don't come here. It's loud, it's wild and it's FUN! The band does a great job of interacting with people and getting everyone to stand on their benches and join in singing Das Fliegerlied and raising their glasses to Ein Prosit. Make the most of it - join in the fun!
The food is good - not the best, but then again, I compare it to my mother's and sister's cooking, which is true, authentic German cooking! But, for a restaurant, it's not bad. I had the Schnitzel Wiener Art, which was a lot of food - and tasty! My husband had the sausages and must have liked them because he ate the whole plate.
The service was excellent. Our waitress was very attentive and we never had to wait for her. And the phone came out less than 15 minutes after our order was put in. It actually surprised us.
If you get the chance to visit this restaurant - do it. But only do it if you like to have a lot of fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank limjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim O, General Manager at Hofbrauhaus Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words...Prost!

Jim
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hofbrauhaus Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing