We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Least favorite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The place is engineered horribly. The lobby to the rooms is an obstacle course. If you have elderly party members or handicapped I do not recommend. See if they are having a large meeting during your stay you will be trampled, can't get out of the parking lot. Rooms are fine, the facility is a nightmare

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tippyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Tippyobrien,

Thank you for your review. We regret you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed at this property on a quick trip to Chicago. I generally pick Priority Club hotels these days because of the program's awesome upgrade policies for Platinum members. I was given my room, and then I asked if there were any rooms available for a Platinum upgrade. The front desk clerk sighed a heavy sigh and started typing on the computer. Another gentleman behind the counter stepped up to the young lady assisting me, and stated, "Room xxxx is available." My clerk put me in that room, albeit begrudgingly. She handed me a parking ticket and explained the in-and-out privileges of the parking pass.

The room was amazing. I think I got an "Executive Suite" which had a full separate living room along with a wet bar, and enough seating for eight (good for the meeting I was hosting in my room), and it appeared up-to-date with flat screen televisions and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was oversized and had a seperate tub and shower.

I wish that if there's a flat screen in the room, that the HDMI jacks would be made available. In my meeting, I would have liked to hook up my laptop to the screen but that wasn't possible with the way the TV's were mounted onto the wall in my room.

The service seemed mediocre. For starters, the gift shop was open, then closed, then open, then closed throughout the day. There was no sign stating the hours nor was any explanation given. Additionally, the one time I was successful in getting into the shop while it was open, I was told by the shop's employee, who was wearing a Crowne Plaza uniform and name tag, that the gift shop did not accept room charges.

Dialing any of the buttons on the phone (room service, restaurant, wake-up call, etc) all rang the front desk. I thought that perhaps I had misdialed, but the person at the front desk assured me that he was the one taking my room service order. I thought that to be a little strange.

Looks like a neat health club and indoor pool. I did not have time to utilize either, but it looked like a decent facility.

The parking charge seemed a little steep. $24 per night.

All-in-all, I would probably stay here again, but not before checking out the InterContinental hotel just on the other side of the Akoo Theatre from the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

We have reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay and thank you for providing feedback to us. I am delighted that we were able to upgrade you to a suite where you were able to conduct your meeting and I am happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms and hotel facilities. We hope to welcome you back to our property next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I were attending an event at the Akoo Theater that is adjacent to this property. The online rate was good and I booked a room . Check in was flawless- with the staff being very friendly and welcoming. The room, while not spacious, was clean and a good value.

We had an early dinner at the hotel's restaurant and walked to the theater.

Just after 1AM this morning, the hotel fire alarm went off instructing everyone to leave the building. My wife and I left our room, proceeded down a stairway into the lobby and went to the parking area to be greeted by three fire trucks, ambulance, and police cars. We suspected a false alarm but decided to wait it out until all was clear. It did appear that only a fraction of that evening's guests followed the fire alarm instructions as we could see dozens of guests looking out of their windows while we stood in teh parking area. After approximately one half hour outside, one of the firemen told my wife and I that it was ok to go back into the building. I was surprised when we walked back into the lobby that there were NO representatives of the Crowne Plaza there to inform the guests that all was clear and it was safe to return.

Then, approximately one half hour after returning to bed, the alarm system went off again- this time for only two or three seconds- but certainly enough to wake us up again.(Two fire alarms in the space of one hour suggests that there may be a systems problem as opposed to a prankster). These two events certainly put a damper on a wonderful evening and a good nights sleep.

When we checked out this morning, there was no apologies for the fire alarms, an explanation or mention that the events actually occurred for that matter. They did, however, remember to tell me that my $25 parking needed to be paid before I could leave the lot...

I would have thought that the Crowne Plaza might have comped the parking or spotted a breakfast or at least offered an apology to its patrons for a very marginal nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your important feedback. I am delighted about your feedback on our guest service and it is always great to hear about positive experiences with our staff upon your check in. It is always our goal to provide an exceptional experience and great service to all customers and I apologize for the fire alarms that were malfunctioning during your stay. Your comments indicate that you had a number of areas in which we failed to meet your expectations for which I sincerely apologize. I can assure you will address all of the issues you encountered accordingly and make sure if there are issues they are not recurring. Again, thank you for your response and for taking the time to let us know your opinion; please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.


Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed the accommodation. Desk staff were very helpful and courteous. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Overall a very good experience. Parking at $25.00 per day a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and you found the front desk to be helpful and courteous. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and look forward to your return to our property. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We booked a room (effortlessly) in able to stay overnight while attending a show at the Akoo Theater, which is right across the street from the Crowne Plaza. I was skeptical because of some of the recent reviews, but having had a good experience in Springfield a few weeks earlier, took the plunge. We were not disappointed. The room was pleasantly appointed, the bed, great, and oh, the sheets! They were the best! Staff helpful and pleasant.,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for positive comments about your experience with our hotel and we appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback to us. We are glad that you chose to stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms and hotel facilities. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

this is the most trouble mistake I have ever made! We had 20+ block in the hotel, we came in after 3pm, and one of our room is not ready to check in! When my parents' room is ready to check in, it is not a King bed room, which we have guarantee KING! I ensure the front desk that we need a king, then when we got in to the room, it smells stinky and it is a smoking room! I have call front desk again, to let ensure her AGAIN we have guarantee non-smoking, King!!! the only words she can tell is " as i said, I have nothing available as non-smoking,King!" I was surprise of her attitude, I am as a customer bring a 20 room nights in your hotel, that is the best you can offer? I told her we need to face to face to discuses what is "guarantee non-smoking, King". Some how other front desk girl got us a non-smoking King, which they should done it at first time.!!! this is the only begin of our night mare stay at this place! after all my party checked in, non of us on the same floor. this hotel has 20 levels! each level has at least 30guest rooms. how hard to make 10 rooms on the same floor???!!
we have gift bags at check in for our guests and breakfast vouchers, 90% of my guest did not get it at check in time, I have to call my guest to pick up from the desk~
I have email the cratering manager to leave the fruit and sparking drink in refrigerator, cuz we will be back at middle of the night. It was just left on table, the berries got mold in the plate. don't get me wrong, I appreciate the little gift, but sorry it does not really romantic and sweet for us with molded fruit. After house keeping made room, You got a big Dirty towel in your bath room. My husband's car got scratch at the hotel parking lot!! How Great the stay is!! Crown Plaza, you have earn non of our loyalty to your bushiness. When the front desk ask me if i wanna to become a member at check out, I just laughed. Please! What a joke!!
At the end, we have found out, our group booking rate is $4 lower then their daily rate. Then what is the point that we book your hotel 4 month before with guarantee room nights?! what a joke!!
I will never ever suggest anyone that I know stay at your hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Summer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

I apologize for the inconvenience that you and other members of your party experienced. Thank you for taking the time in bring it to our attention. Rest assured that I am addressing the issues you have mentioned very seriously. I can assure you that your experience is not typical of our friendly and professional staff. I would greatly appreciate it if you can call me directly and give us an opportunity to make this right.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Hotel was nice, bed comfortable and clean, loaded chips and calamari was very good at the restraurant. Only complaint was that we had to call in for the return shuttle from an international flight (Cancun) and the lady told us 15 minutes and we had to wait in the isle outside or we would not see the shuttle (30 degrees outside). It took the shuttle 32 minutes. We were like popcycles.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkaufmann_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We have reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay and thank you for providing positive feedback regarding the comfort of our beds and the delicious food in our restaurant. I am sorry to hear about your experience with our shuttle service. I have discussed this incident with our Director of Rooms to ensure accurate information is provided to our valuable guests such as yourself. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
0.2 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
#16 of 18 in Rosemont
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5440 N River Rd, Rosemont, IL 60018-5232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#6 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#9 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the BRAND NEW, Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare. With newly renovated guest rooms and suites, ballrooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, and common areas, our full-service hotel delivers BRAND NEW comforts, along with attentive service and a variety of amenities. Perfect for the business and leisure traveler, all just minutes from O'Hare and steps away from the Donald Stevens Convention Center and Rosemont Theater. BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS AND SUITES - All 503 of the hotels guest rooms have been completely re-styled and are eco-friendly. The rooms are decorated with a delightfully rich design that is classic and comfortable. All of the furniture is custom made with the best materials and crafted by the finest of experts. Dining is delectable and close at hand. Choices include dining at Chicago Fire Oven, a full service restaurant which offers specialty sandwiches, salads, pizzas and burgers, grab a bite at On the Fly, offering a variety of breakfast pastries, salads and sandwiches, or relax at our Visibility Bar, enjoying specialty pizzas with 10 beers on tap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Crowne Plaza Rosemont
Crowne Plaza Hotel Rosemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing