We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Becoming home on the south coast”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bienvenue

Stunning views across the English Channel from the open plan living accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views across the English Channel from the open plan living accommodation
First floor bedroom view from the bed Views of a great variety of maritime interest from fishing boat to cruise liner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Stunning views across the English Channel from the open plan living accommodation
First floor bedroom view from the bed
Views of a great variety of maritime interest from fishing boat to cruise liner
Contemporary and stylish kitchen
Luxurious first floor bedroom with sea views from the slipper bath
First Floor en suite shower room
Ground floor bedroom/en suite - option of twin beds or 6ft bed
Ground Floor en suite shower room
Wood burner for cosy winter visits
Spectacular sunrise over France
Secluded south facing patio for al fresco dining
Folding doors to bring the outside in
Superb cliff walks to Dover and Kingsdown
Lazy mornings watching the boats go by
Easy access to ground floor bedroom.
The beach clothed in snow
Ponies have been brought in to benefit wildflower conservation and insect habitats
Views over St Margaret's Bay, a walker's delight!
Cliff path from garden gate leading to the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Morriorl
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Becoming home on the south coast”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were back for our second visit this year. The weather was entirely different to the blistering sunshine of 2014 so we had wet days and thunder storms as well as glorious sunshine to contend with.

The apartment is on the cliff edge overlooking the channel and the coast of France is regularly in view. We happily watched the weather move across the bay when it was too wet to be out walking on the cliffs which you can do right from the garden gate onto the cliff.

The apartment has had a freezer added under the stairs since we were here last year which delighted us as we could buy a bag of ice to add to drinks we consumed sitting on the terrace of an evening before walking into town for dinner. It is a real sun trap. It also kept us from having to eat stale bread after we bought a giant loaf at Tescos in Dover.

The apartment itself is clean and comfortable. Lots of space to relax on a wetter day and read a book. There is plenty of crockery and cutlery and all the cookware basics you need for breakfast and lunch. The wifi is really good and supported Netflix. The property doesn't have a smart TV but we plugged in our laptop with a VGA cable (not supplied) and the phono leads (in the drawer) and that worked perfectly.

Good toiletries and kitchen basics supplied. The welcome basket is always appreciated and thoroughly emptied by the end of the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf F
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful fortnight in the flat, it couldn't be any better. We enjoyed the outstanding views, the walks from right behind the house and the flat itself. It is also a great spot to explore Kent, even a day trip to London is possible from the nearby trainstation (2 hrs one way).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the flat itself.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharoni74
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great stay over Easter weekend. The accommodation is first class with outstanding views. Would highly recommend it. We will definitely be back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place - Outstanding Views!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bienvenue was a wonderful accommodation for my significant other and teenage daughter. It was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, and well equipped with everything we needed. The views are absolutely the best! It was wonderful to be able to walk out our door and be on a walking trail. It was very peaceful and quiet spot. It was a little difficult to get phone service sometimes, but the WiFi had no problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacmanzed
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If I tell the truth, it'll always be full when I want to go!”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, excellent quick, helpful communication with the owner.

Very good directions etc, which made it easy to find even in the dark.

House is beautiful, fabulous location, stunning views, extremely well kept. Everything was to a very high standard from the contents of the welcome basket (Twinings tea, just like at home ;-) ) to the lovely bedding and towels.

I could not recommend this highly enough, we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Bulli, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would have to be one of the most spectacular locations in Great Britain.”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

At the end of a six week self drive holiday we were blown away by Bienvenue, our last holiday rental. From the position on top of the White Cliffs to the view across the English Channel, the location is simply breathtaking. The accomodation itself consisting of a fully detached two story cottage contains all that you could need for a comfortable stay. Adequate parking (sometimes a rarity in the UK) is provided together with free and efficient wi-fi, a fully equipped kitchen, clothes washing faclities and two comfortable bedrooms with en-suites. A walk atop the White Cliffs is accessed via the back gate and Dover Castle and other local attractions are a short drive away.

We were lucky to secure a three night booking at relatively short notice as this property is very popular so that is advisable to book well in advance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Condition of roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUSTWETWO...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection ---- everything we could have wished for”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we walked around the corner & saw "Bienvenue" we knew that we were going to enjoy our time in Dover. The house was bright , welcoming ,spotless & provided us with the most spectacular views of The White Cliffs, the coastline of France & the Chanel.
The walks along the cliffs provided us with our daily exercise as well as giving us an insight into the local flora & fauna and of course the walk to the local was most welcome .
Everything was well catered for from the welcome pack of tea, coffee, bread, butter milk & biscuits { most appreciated } bathroom & laundry starter packs etc.
It was an ideal starting point for the many nearby tourist spots like Dover Castle & Leeds Castle, of course the outlet centres & other historical sights in the area.
Bienvenue was an excellent place to relax & would be most suitable for both couples & families plenty of room and the upstairs bedroom a real wow with the most spectacular views, a huge bath in the bedroom and a very comfortable bed . Downstairs bedroom & bathroom facilities suitable for persons with disabilitiy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing