We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic time”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Headland, Kent

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoors or out - your choice!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Indoors or out - your choice!
Master bedroom with garden views
Versatile room that can be used to sleep two (with a pull-out trundle), one, a baby, or simply to re
We are right opposite the Pines Gardens - a National Trust property. Lovely for walks
Local Kentish wines, ales and lagers from Biddenden are a great addition to your Kent holiday
Kitchen, table laid and waiting to start the evening! Table extends and can be used for four
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
terence_o...
1 review
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Headland cottage for a Week and it was great. Every Morning we went for a 3 hour walk with our dog at the Cliffs and enjoyed every Minute of it. Down the bay the Coastguard pub was our local. Meals were very good and the Staff very Friendly. We will be back again and Thank you for a great Week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound at 5.30 of the waves and seagulls. I always wake uo early
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainer_Ba...
Lunen, Germany
1 review
“wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was our first visit to the UK and we felt very quickly probably. Headland is a nice and well equipped place to discover the landscape. There are losts of interesting destinations nearby. The hosts were very helpful and the communication with them was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candis T
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had chosen Headland Cottage, as it was described as a coastal property with small private garden and terrace….The reviews were excellent, but how disappointed we have been…
It is not a cottage as such… we knew it was described as a flat but being called cottage we were sure it would have a cottage feel to it…. but alas no…. just a box…although a coastal cottage we cannot see the coast… there was no welcome pack…there is no private garden …the only available garden adjoins the main house and has not been tended too for weeks… the grass and weeds in the lawn were about 12 inches high.. the hedges had not been cut …The terrace is the end of the car parking space with tables and chairs on it… completely overlooked by the private road which is also a main footpath for the area….numerous people walking by all day everyday … and looking in….no privacy.
Despite the recent hot weather …The flat felt damp and the sofa, towels and bed linen all had a cold damp feel to them …my clothes were hanging in the lounge cupboard but they constantly felt damp to touch and cold to put on .
The main double bedroom should be a single really…. There is no space to walk comfortably around the bed. The bed is very low to the ground so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems… I had to do side step all the way round to get in …. There are no curtains at the windows in either bedroom hence as soon as the sun came up I was awake. There are no wardrobes or chest of drawers in either bedroom ; the only real hanging space is a cupboard in the lounge and a few hooks in the second bedroom…. The Bathroom is very small…only just enough room to get past the toilet to the shower…. excellent shower though!
Kitchen is well equipped with Washer/Dryer Fridge/Freezer and Dishwasher… there is no hoover or mop and bucket …and only a table top ironing board.
The private road is very uneven, bumpy and has deep holes and it is covered in stones that have been washed down the hill … when it rained it was like a river outside. The owners suggest leaving your car in this private road outside of the gates, but with the traffic going by and flicking up stones and the numerous people walking by, motorbikes etc , I would advise parking on the driveway whenever possible.
The noise from the building work next door has been dreadful……constant every day.
Please check out all of the photos I have put on here … overall very disappointing and very expensive for our week long stay.
We decided to leave two days early and we will not be returning in the future to this “Cottage “

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked least: no allocated garden, damp feeling throughout the property, very low level bed, no room to walk around the double bed, no curtains as bedroom windows, very small bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Dear Ian,
we are sorry that you found the apartment not to your liking. We take great pride in managing Headland to provide guests with a pleasant and comfortable accommodation, and equip them with facilities in the apartment and with local knowledge so that they can make the best of their stay, both indoors and out. This is evident in the Grade 4 (out of 5) rating that was assigned to Headland by Cottages4you, as well as other reviews we have received (on average 4.5 out of 5 on holidaylettings and 9 out of 10 on cottages4you).

The apartment meets the British Tourist Board guidelines for 4-star properties. This means that it meets all the requirements with regard to space, bedroom sizes, clothes storage (including hanging space) and everything else.

We clearly advertise that it is an apartment adjacent to owners' holiday home, so that as not to create expectations that it's a standalone cottage. We do not advertise Headland as having sea view, because it does not.

I am not sure what you expected as a welcome pack, but two folders are provided in a drawer of the TV stand - one with manuals and house information, and another packed full with suggestions on what to do and local attractions.

We wanted to provide the rental apartment with a larger, more private part of the garden but it is unfortunately not possible under the current applicable HSE regulations. We need to install railing and further HSE measures to make it available for the rental apartment and were unable to do so as yet.

You have rightly pointed out that the grass and hedges are not cut regularly. We like it that way, it reminds us of the countryside of our childhood and we deliberately cut the grass every few weeks to give the grounds that tiny bit of a summer meadow feel. It is also worth pointing out that none of the grass is within the area of the holiday let.

The private road on which Headland is situated is not busy at all and only several walkers pass by every hour, barely any cars drive up. We do offer guests the option of parking on the territory of our main home as a goodwill gesture, which you were able to use throughout your stay.

Both bedroom windows are equipped with solid wood blinds which block out a lot of the light.

The property underwent a complete refurbishment early last year before coming to the holiday let market. The apartment is professionally cleaned every week and we do not expect our guests to do any cleaning. However we have taken your comment onboard and have since purchased a hoover for the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSim...
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“We had a great time”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent one week at this lovely place with our 1 1/2 year old son. The cottage was very well equipped, clean and cosy. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We had beautiful weather which of course also helped to make it one of our best holidays.
We enjoyed walking and running on the beautiful coast path which starts in front of the cottage. We walked to the lighthouse and enjoyed a Kentish cream tea there. The pub at the beach served very good fish and chips and we watched the sea while drinking a pint of beer. While our son loved to pet the long-haired cat of the pub or throw pebble stones into the water.
We also went to see Dover Castle and Canterburry Cathedrale which both was very impressive.

We would definitely recommend this cottage for a small family like ours. The surrounding is very quiet and beautiful. We were glad that we had found such a nice place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Headland! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim A
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014

a modern,comfy and well equipped flat,super location for walks & plenty to do all year round.The kitchen was well equipped with pots/pans utencils etc.great to be able to walk along the coast in both directions,i would recommend the walk eastward to the ZETLAND ARMS...takes around 45 mins each way.The bay/pub just 200yds away is a lovely short stroll any time of day.At least 4 pubs/restaurants in the village plus shop...although it is a steep walk up to the village of about 0.5 miles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet spot and good walks near by
Liked least: a steep walk to the shop/village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments and recommendations of local walks. We will add these to our guest welcome information. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Headland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem tucked in the White Cliffs!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in the cottage, it was spotless, cosy,and in a prime location for visiting the local attractions. We had a lovely meal in the Free house at the bottom of the road, right on the sea front which is just a few minutes walk away!
We would love to return sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad your enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedrich...
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed there with two adults and three children, and had a wonderful time.
The place is located just 5 mins walk from a pebbly beach (St Margarets at Cliffe), and South Foreland Lighthouse is within walking distance, too.
The property itself is a small flat, with two separate bedrooms, and one big lounge come kitchen, all on one level. It is very clean, new, and very well equipped, we felt the owners had really thought of absolutely everything. The owners were also very accommodating with a couple of special requests we had. Overall, 5/5, and we would definitely come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! Really glad you enjoyed your holiday at Headland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing