We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, brilliant location, wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Headland, Kent

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoors or out - your choice!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Indoors or out - your choice!
Master bedroom with garden views
Versatile room that can be used to sleep two (with a pull-out trundle), one, a baby, or simply to re
We are right opposite the Pines Gardens - a National Trust property. Lovely for walks
Local Kentish wines, ales and lagers from Biddenden are a great addition to your Kent holiday
Kitchen, table laid and waiting to start the evening! Table extends and can be used for four
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
traveller...
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, brilliant location, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

St. Margaret's at Cliffe is gorgeous! A lovely village in Kent, with great access to the nearby beaches and the white cliffs of Dover. A great spot to base fromwhile exploring the Kent coastline.

Headland is a lovely cottage minutes away from the local beach, and a quick walk to the stunning views of the cliffs nearby. The cottage itself is well equipped, well maintained, and very cosy. The 2 bedrooms are sufficient for a family of 4, especially for one like ours with young children. The living/dining/kitchen area is open plan and more than sufficient for a self-catering holiday.

The best part is the location of the cottage itself. We were able to head down to the local beach easily and walk up to the cliffs just about any time we fancied either. There is a very nice tea room / restaurant just up the road, and good dining a few minutes further. Also don't miss out Mrs. Knott's tea rooms at the South Foreland Lighthouse!

The owners, Maria and Michael, are wonderful. They stayed up late to accommodate our delayed arrival and were more than willing to help with the few things we needed. We felt very well looked after. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam24413...
1 review
“Pet friendly, well appointed, well located”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had chosen becuase of the location, which did not disappoint as easy walk to beach, to the white cliffs of Dover and to both Dover and Walmer castles. It was a great bonus that the cottage was so pleasant, clean, well designed and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Many thanks for your kind words. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ne55ie69
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little birthday weekend retreat”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Awesome location with the beach and coastal walks right on your doorstep. Gorgeous little pub on the beach within walking distance. The accomodation was really cosy, clean and had everything we need for a home from home. Would defintely stay again

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you so much, Vanessa! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! And belatedly, happy birthday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui T
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little property with very friendly service!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Booked for a long weekend with my family!
Place super clean and very well kept, with all the utilities you need for a good time!
Great, to have some fresh bread, butter, eggs and a nice bottle of fresh juice offered by the owners.
Kids and pet friendly with minutes walk from the Dover cliffs and the Coast Guard pub which was really nice indeed! The location is perfect, in a very quite place with a lot to see and near Dover Castle and other tourist attractions!
I would give a 5 star for the place the only and only let down was the bed and mattress which was super uncomfortable. Need to be changed asap! I would book again but just if the changes get done before it!
Overall the place is fantastic and I do recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisloop...
Go Cong, Vietnam
1 review
“Nice place for a quiet weekend getaway”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The place itself was very nice and clean. There were good utensils for cooking and there was a fresh loaf of bread on the counter waiting for us. It is located within walking distance to the lower part of the white cliffs which is a nice place to hang out for a morning coffee if the weather is nice. There is a small town near by if you need anything urgent. If not the town is not so far that it is hard to get to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolhead
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ideally situated to explore the Kent countryside. Comfortable apartment offering all home comforts. Ideal for a peaceful break walking the dogs

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tvk2016
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely accommodation, great area to visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family spent a week during Easter school holidays at Headlands.

The accommodation is great, and has everything one needs for a comfortable stay (stove, huge refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/dryer). The beds were comfortable, the pillows fluffy, and the water pressure in the shower was much better than what we have at home!

A special thanks to Maria and Michael for allowing our children to play in their garden with an amazing treehouse. Ever since we returned my 4-year old son has been dreaming of having one of his own!

The area is definitely worth visiting, as it is brimming with history and natural beauty alike! Dover Castle, Walmer Castle and Canterbury are unmissable, and we thoroughly enjoyed local walks to the lighthouse, and along the beach which is minutes away.

My 9-year old daughter got so inspired by the unusualness and beauty of the white cliffs, that she wrote the following poem:

The white cliffs of Dover
Coated with white chalk over,
The pinky sunset is now on,
Before the dark I must be gone.

I must describe their looks to you,
So please listen, please do, please do.
You think it must be a surprise,
To see white cliffs before your eyes.

For cliffs are usually brown and grey,
And rather black after the day.
The people love this pretty sight,
And I agree, I think they're right.

At the bottom there are waves,
Running away is fun for days,
So please do gawp if you ever see,
The giant cliffs in front of me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the cottage, so close to the beach, the village, a local cafe and a pub
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing