We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Channel View”
other travellers have booked this property
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Sheltered south facing patio with stunning views of St Margarets Bay all year round Ness Point, St Margarets Bay, from the Leas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Sheltered south facing patio with stunning views of St Margarets Bay all year round
Ness Point, St Margarets Bay, from the Leas
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views from the sofa
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views
Room to relax
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views
Cosy and warm at Christmas time
Cosy and warm at Christmas time
Fabulous sea views from the bedroom
Views of St Margarets Bay, French Coast and the English Channel from the bed
Luxurious bedroom with stunning sea views from the bed
Bedroom detail
Spacious well stocked kitchen/diner
Spacious Kitchen/Diner
Spacious Kitchen/Diner
Master bedroom en-suite with double shower enclosure and Spa Therapy toiletries
A local resident of St Margarets Bay
5 minutes walk from the door a view across the Pine Gardens tea room
Detail on Norman church in local village of St Margarets-at-Cliffe
Flint - a local building material used in the construction of Calais View Garden Apartment
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mootman
Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Channel View”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

From the moment I booked Calais View, Jenny offered an effortless yet comprehensive friendliness and assistance. Whenever I posed any questions by email I received an almost immeadiate reply with very helpful suggestions. Jenny is clearly an excellent hostess who displays a concern for her guests' enjoyment.

The rental information provided was both broad and thorough, covering local services, mobile phone reception and local attractions.

Located on the cliff side at St Margret's Bay with stunning views towards Calais, Cap Gris Nez and the French coast the property is surprisingly quiet despite its proximity to the little-used coastal cul-de-sac, the topography of the location ensuring complete privacy in the front garden.

The steps to the ground floor were a little steep for one of our party but with true Yorkshire determination she powdered through.

French doors lead down one step into the living room which is well appointed with respect to furniture, literature and comfort. The kitchen is of similar quality well finished decoration confirming an eye for the smaller details.

We were lucky enough to have the bedroom with a sea view, and what a view; a constantly changing living seascape, complete with a conveyor of cross-channel ferries and merchant shipping.

Our friends stayed in the rear bedroom and the access arrangement ensured they had complete privacy, being able to close a door as if they were the only visitors.

Both bedrooms have en suite facilities, with high quality linen, accessories and toiletries.

Jenny checked to see everything was to our satisfaction, and when I had the misfortune to fall ill, she was an angel and font of knowledge.

There's lots of tourist attractions close by including: Dover Castle, Dover docks, Samphire Hoe, the Cinque Ports, Walmer and my personal favourite, Deal with its concrete pier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decoration and cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breath takingly beautiful”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled down to this apartment with friends in August 2013 and was stunned by what we found, to say the advertisement didnt give it justice is an understatement it was absolutley beautiful. Let me just get one minus out of the way and that was the steps up to he property not advised for the for people with mobility issues there were 8 steps up then 1 more to the garden patio then to enter the property from he French doors there was a step down . Then once on the patio garden the view was fantastic there was the English Channel with views right across to Calais it was breathtaking.
Once inside the property the decor was superb mainly creams and whites but it gave the property a scenes of grandeur.
Once into the kitchen you find it very well equipped with everything you would ever need to cater for yourself, this included a very nice welcome package of around 4 different types of tea, coffee ,a bottle of wine and then the owner Jenny came round with a box of Belgium biscuits, she introduced herself and was a very pleasant host nothing was too much trouble for this lady.one of our guests became ill and she was there to support us with information on who and where to call for assistance.
The kitchen had a small but adequate fridge freezer , washer dryer, dishwasher, and full size cooker it really was well equipped.
There was full wifi facility and sky package and CDs DVDs to entertain you after a day out.being photographers it was worth early mornings to capture the fantastic sunrises over the channel and was near to some fantastic places to visit,in our week there we had a full itinary of places to visit and could have spent more tie there because there was so much to see.
We mentioned to Jenny about having a day in France via the channel tunnel which was about a 30 minute drive from the property next day there were maps available for us for our trip.
Back to the house we found one set of stairs to the first floor and the first double bedroom, this had spectacular views across the channel and had an en suite bathroom.the decor was again stupendous and the bed was very comfy or so our friends said.
The other double bedroom was along a short landing through a door which gave it a sense of total privacy,once again a well stocked en suite bathroom comfy big bed and views of a lovely garden area.
Opposite side of the road from the property there was parking for two cars and 2 minutes by car down the winding road you found the beach and fantastic views of the white cliffs.
I cannot rate this property enough it was certainly value for money and would recommend it to any one .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: No comment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsleyb...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This holiday let is simple magnificence!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The road to property was tight with air pin bends which needs to be taken carefully. The view from the garden is breathtaking, you can almost touch France. The beach is less than a 5 minute drive away. There is private parking for two cars which we was allowed to use. There are 2 sets of steps to gain entrance into the property ( 8 and then 1). Then a deep step into the property.
The house itself was decorated to a high standard and astonishingly clean. The kitchen was very well equipped. There was everything we could wish for and more beside. All the appliance came with manuals which made using them easy. There was a high-quality essential store cupboards which included: herbs and spices, different oils (virgin, extra virgin and balsamic vinegar) and surprising welcome back that included luxury Belgium biscuits, fresh bread, butter and a good wine! The only criticism about the kitchen we had was the fridge and freezer was integrated and small. We did a week shopping before seeing the house and struggled to get the shopping in but we managed!
The lounge overlooks the English Channel and when we stayed the weather was warm ( for a British spring time) we sat most evenings with the patio doors open so we could hear the sea. There was great WIFI but, we found our mobile phones (Vodafone, EE and O2) roamed to France and we had contact each provider to ask them to turn the roaming off so we didn't get charged. The proprietor Jenny and her husband (sorry I forgot his name!) did provide a house phone (for local calls). There is two large comfortable sofa to while away the time on or to watch your favourite T.V show (SKY) is included.
We stayed in the back bedroom because of the fire door and long corridor the bedroom was private and it felt like there was only us the house. This bedroom over looked the garden which made it feel even more secluded. The bedroom was en-suite (shower, loo and sink) with good range of toiletries. The bed was comfortable with luxury bedding which was so soft (and put ours at home to shame moreover, this made me replace all our bedding! ).
We found the holiday let was terrific for a starting point to access lots of lovely places. Dover 10 minute drive, Deal 20 minute drive, Warmer 15 minute drive and Canterbury 30 minute drive. If you like history these places drip it from every pore. The gardens at Warmer and Dover castle are worth a jaunt. Deal is a lovely seaside place and not as busy Ramsgate.
** Please note: this house is not for people with limited mobility. The steps and stairs are steep and there is no downstairs W.C. however, I loved this house and want to visit again soon however.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen had everything and more.....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WP E
Assen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing