We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful break in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Sheltered south facing patio with stunning views of St Margarets Bay all year round Ness Point, St Margarets Bay, from the Leas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Sheltered south facing patio with stunning views of St Margarets Bay all year round
Ness Point, St Margarets Bay, from the Leas
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views from the sofa
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views
Room to relax
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views
Cosy and warm at Christmas time
Cosy and warm at Christmas time
Fabulous sea views from the bedroom
Views of St Margarets Bay, French Coast and the English Channel from the bed
Luxurious bedroom with stunning sea views from the bed
Bedroom detail
Spacious well stocked kitchen/diner
Spacious Kitchen/Diner
Spacious Kitchen/Diner
Master bedroom en-suite with double shower enclosure and Spa Therapy toiletries
A local resident of St Margarets Bay
5 minutes walk from the door a view across the Pine Gardens tea room
Detail on Norman church in local village of St Margarets-at-Cliffe
Flint - a local building material used in the construction of Calais View Garden Apartment
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Liz C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful break in a stunning location”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is such a lovely property in a beautiful location. The property is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. There are stunning views of the sea from the terrace and bedroom. It was such a relaxing break with wonderful walks all around and just a few minutes from the sea.
The owners are so helpful and welcoming and this added to the wonderful experience. I highly recommend this property and location. The owners have put such a lot of thought and care into this property it really was a fantastic few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the sea
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Back to Calais View for the second time was like coming home!
Everything was as expected and more, just perfect. Once again Jenny and Tim were the perfect hosts making our stay as special as they could.
The appartment is really well equipped with everything you need for your stay, with a generous welcome pack, bread, butter, milk, cereals, jam,biscuits and a lovely bottle of wine gets you off to a good start. If you like making your own meals the kitchen has a good variety of herbs, spices, vinegars and oils.
The weather was very kind to us in the second week, giving us spectacular views to the coast of France, just nice to sit out on the patio and watch the world go by. Very relaxing, we shall return.
Thanks Jenny & Tim.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views, great hosts.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heyer100
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful view - lovely appartment - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Calais View is a beautiful apartment with a view from the bedroom that is an absolute dream come true for someone who loves the sea and ships. This is the cleanest holiday rental that I have ever used; everything is perfectly organised, every comfort anticipated and the owners are lovely welcoming people.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this apartment as a lovely place to stay if you appreciate quality accommodation is a gorgeous setting.
There are steep steps from the road to the house and a small flight of stairs to the bedroom; apartment is spacious and very well equipped. Mobile phones pick up a French service, so it is important to turn off your mobile data/data roaming or you may be charged for overseas use. There is excellent Wi-Fi in the apartment so we were able to use our tablets/laptop very easily. The road to and from apartment is very steep and narrow; which can be a problem if there are a lot of cars on the road - parking for the apartment is on the opposite side of road.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your review and we're glad you enjoyed the wonderful views. The French connection with mobiles is often a surprise for visitors to St Margaret's Bay, as their phones receive the message 'Welcome to France' as they descend the hill to the beach. For this reason, we have installed a telephone in the apartment with free unlimited calls to landline and mobile phones to many countries across the world.
We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison t
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific seaside bolthole with a view to die for”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely stay at this peaceful retreat in a pretty spot on the White Cliffs coast. The flat was beautifully decorated and furnished and finished to the highest standard and there's an uninterrupted view of sea (all the way to Calais on a clear day) from the bedroom and terrace. The owners couldn't be more charming and welcoming. We'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F1DGEXLC
1 review
“Lovely views, lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Jenny and Tim seem to have created a winning formula of a lovely location and accommodation that feels like you are a guest at a friend's house. They have great quality interior, and the forethought of getting the small things just right having the dressing table in the right light to get ready, (ladies will understand this one!) a lovely range of olive oils in the kitchen, plenty of kitchen utensils, a welcome pack with a bit of imagination (not just some sad custard creams) I could go on....
I have worked in a busy hotel when young, and as a housekeeper for a private school, my partner laughs because I always pack food and cleaning products, this is the first time I have stayed in accommodation where I have taken kitchen equipment out confident it is all immaculately clean and ready to use.
Over the years we have stayed in some pleasant locations but they all had that feeling a hundred 'bums'
had sat on seats and everything was slightly tired and jaded, everywhere in Calais View was 'showroom fresh'. I understand why many visitors return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee6jay
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The photos say it all really!
Spectacular views...whatever the weather (binoculars supplied!) and spectacular accommodation
The flat is spotless, beautifully furnished and has everything you could possibly need, particularly in the kitchen. The attention to detail is wonderful
Jenny and Tim are welcoming and helpful in every way

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmtaylor7...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Excellent apartment in superb location”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment is exactly as portrayed. It is extremely well appointed, especially the kitchen. The view is lovely. Jenny was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much and can recommend it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom, bathroom and view.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing