We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campus feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Q Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Q Center
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Campus feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Great facility, but rather boring location (no reason to leave the Q Center). It can get monotonous after a week - there's only one bar and you can only drink so long for each day.

The campus feeling still made up for everything. Food is surprisingly good for cafeteria standards. Very small bedrooms (ymmv).

I was there for 2 weeks of training.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I guess those who had stayed here would say the same - back to their campus dorm days. or at least that was for me. Except that the room furnishing is much better and we get ensuite washroom.
I wish there is more bus in the evening to nearby places, otherwise there is just nothing else to do. Great place to keep people in and focus on the courses :-)

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 1place1dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I was here for 5 days for company training. The facility is unbelievable and the conference rooms were really good. Q obviously has a dedicated staff who have worked here for a while. The rooms are small but do have everything you need, nice desk area, bathroom area, and bed with cushions to make it like a day bed. Bathroom has shower only, no bathtub and I felt claustrophobic when the door was shut so I recommend a doorstop on the door. The food at Q is fantastic and gives you so much choice it was almost too much. The big issue for me with Q is that it is in a remote location; you need a taxi to go anywhere and there is just not enough to do. We biked and walked on the trails north of the hotel. North is the preferred direction according to the front desk. The trail along the Fox River goes much farther but after about 3 miles it disappeared into the road for a while so that is where we turned around. Don't expect to get too close to the river; when you do get close you are also near private propertyand no trespassing signs. The exercise room was nice. The other choices are shuttles to Target, Walmart or the Charlestowne Mall, which I understand is pretty much empty except for large anchor stores. There is also a planned trip to the outlets. There is no "pay per view" in the room, but movies are shown communally. Pubs and pool rooms round this out. If you want to walk without going on the river trail, walk around the tennis courts and parking lots; I got a lot of miles in that way. This place needs more signage as well.

Room Tip: I don't think this is an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth57Elkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Helpful staff, all facilities on site and everything is properly organized and taken care off.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

It is a bit remote but other than that - excellent conference facility which will allow you to focus. Great gym and excellent food variety. Rooms are fit for purpose,

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAKETHEL0NGWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Found about an hour outside of Chicago, this former school residence is primarily set for corporate retreats, conferences and training. The training facilities are top rate!
Great gym, game room and pub...Rooms are very small with beds being smaller than a twin. Rooms are very dry in the winter, however, everything is new and well appointed. Meal time is cafeteria style with three sections, all with different menus for each meal. Food is pretty good and you will be tempted to eat way to much. Not sure what would be available for those on a special diet. There is a spa, hairdresser, gift shop, and bus trips to the outlet mail and the Charlestown mall.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to get a larger room, with a double bed...room would be just a touch smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed at the Q center for a national meeting last year and I found it to be a good choice for the particular event.

It is rather secluded, but in a safe area. As a training coordinator, this is a good thing. You don't necessarily want your employees to have easy access to bars and places that would keep them out late. You want a comfortable bed, a little exercise and good food so that your group can focus on it's purpose. All of this I felt the Q Center provided.

Also as a side note, I noticed that they seem to be very environmentally friendly, which is a huge plus in my book.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Center

Property: Q Center
Address: 1405 N 5th Ave, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1264
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Saint Charles
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 40 years, Q Center has been one of the world's finest meeting facilities and the choice of many Fortune 500 companies. The 95-acre property offers a secluded, distraction-free environment with 1,042 sleeping rooms and 150,000+ square feet of IACC-certified meeting space. Q Center is an undisputed leader in conference center technology, offering 500 Mbps Internet bandwidth, wireless and LAN set-up, a secure data center and a full-service on-site events and media team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
q Hotel Saint Charles
q Center Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing