We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, mediocre facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pheasant Run Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, mediocre facilities”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've stayed at Pheasant Run annually for the last ten years. It has slowly been upgraded and changes have been made to update and improve the property. But, for the money, it has always been disappointing. For the ~$200 per night it costs me to stay here, I could have a much nicer hotel in the city, but alas my business takes place at the resort so I don't have any other choice. The food at the Harvest restaurant is always good, and the service there is excellent most of the time. I've never been all that impressed with the rooms, but it's probably the best in the area. Where the resort excels is in service. Members of the staff have always been eager to help and respond rapidly to requests. Overall, the hotel facility is okay, but the staff deserves five stars.

Room Tip: The tower corner rooms are nice. Avoid the golf wing unless you enjoy walking half a mile to breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PheasantResort, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We seriously value your business and do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. We have been making so many improvements lately and many of them are based your advice. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any other comments or suggestions.

Thank you,
Jeanne P. Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    180
    168
    110
    106
See reviews for
193
222
22
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the resort for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary... There was some sort of convention going on and we had to literally park in one of the few spots left at the end of the parking lot. So after our long walk to the lobby, we were greeted friendly. When we made our reservations we added the house wine and the breakfast. The receptionist said we our wine would be delivered shortly to our room. We has reservations for zanies and jimbalaya restaurant. Both were GREAT! The food at the restaurant was amazing! And the comedy show was fun! On our way to the restaurant we informed the front desk that we still hadn't received our wine and that the shower tub was very backed up. By the time we arrive back the tub was fixed, but no wine :-( And I have to mention the "old" section of the resort has no elevators, so after carrying our luggage across the parking lot, we then had to carry it up a flight of stairs. Btw, we finally got our wine when we checked out and it was DISGUSTING not worth paying for... You are better off buying a $6 bottle from the 7eleven

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mexchick3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PheasantResort, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We seriously value your business and do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. We have been making so many improvements lately and many of them are based your advice. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any other comments or suggestions.

Thank you,
Jeanne P. Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
E-Mail: jhahn@pheasantrun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family had a great time at the Sturge-Weber Foundation walk/run (I walked). The facility is beautiful and the staff was really accommodating. You can certainly feel a positive vibe among the service team at The Pheasant Run. The kids had a great time, and we'll probably come back this summer to enjoy the water park and the activities. The food, all through the resort, is really good. They even had their sales team out on the course making sure everybody was having a great time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpj97, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Jess J-
Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our event. Look for information on our upcoming Fall 5k!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I have been to Pheasant Run in the past as a couple, but it never occurred to us to take our kids.
We took a "stay-cation" over spring break week and stayed one night. The kids played in the two indoor pools and when they were worn out, we went back to the room and ordered room service. The next morning we went to the Sunday brunch and it was lovely.
Our kids are already asking when we can go back. What a great place!! Why haven't we done this sooner?! Why didn't we stay longer?
We will definitely do that again! There is so much to do- it really feels like a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpj97, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience. We value your comments and hope that you visit us again on your next trip to beautiful St. Charles!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a great event!! Well organized - my girls had so much fun!! We ran/walked around the golf course and enjoyed the view!! The St Charles fire truck showed up! All the kids got prices! Next time I'm staying for the Jambalaya and pool party.. Also everybody that signed-up got cougar tickets, Pheasant Run discounts....well worth it...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PheasantResort, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience. We value your comments and hope that you visit us again on your next trip to beautiful St. Charles!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thank you so much for organizing your first 5K . . . and especially for the chosen cause - Sturge Weber. I hope this helps more people become aware of this medical condition.

I had a great time and appreciate all the hard work that goes into creating such an event. Everyone there seemed to have a wonderful time. The extra perks were nice . . . kids race, fire truck, awards, pool party, optional dinner, etc.

Good job!!! I look forward to participating at your facility again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael23232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpj97, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the event and look forward to hosting another this fall! Like us on Facebook to keep in touch and receive updates!

Thank you,
Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at Pheasant Run several times and always had such great experiences. It's unique atmosphere and friendly staff make it my favorite place to stay when I am visiting St. Charles. I have had the pleasure of attending business meetings there and the food is always very good and the staff attends to all our needs with a great attitude.

The rooms with views of the golf course are a special favorite of mine and the room service staff are prompt and attentive.

My most recent visit was for a company event and I just loved the quaintness of the room we were in! The varied restaurants and bars give everyone a choice in entertainment. I especially enjoy Zanys comedy club!

Lastly the outdoor areas are very nice and well maintained. I love the pool and the fire pit when it's colder!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpj97, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the review! Please come back to visit us soon. Summer is right around the corner!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.4 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Run Resort

Property: Pheasant Run Resort
Address: 4051 E Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-5201
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pheasant Run Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 50 years, our unique combination of onsite entertainment, recreation, delicious dining, and sprawling venues have established Pheasant Run Resort as a Midwestern treasure. With 293 guest rooms and more than 80,000 square feet of premium event space, Pheasant Run is like a city in and of itself, complete with hotel rooms, theater, live comedy, diverse restaurants, golf, tennis, and swimming! We have the ideal indoor or outdoor space for your wedding, an experienced team of planners to help with your meeting or convention, and friendly staff waiting to make your stay remarkable. Bright lights, small city. Those four words describe the lively country feel of the Pheasant Run Resort. From sidesplitting laughs to award-winning theater, to live music, all the fun you desire is right here at our resort. Join us for popular productions in our Mainstage Theater, and see the Midwest's funniest comedians at Zanies Comedy Club. Small town service, big city taste. Inspired by the culinary spirit of the South and the heart of the Midwest, our diverse restaurants in St. Charles, IL, feature a world of fresh, seasonal flavors. Experience farm-to-fork fine dining, Cajun-Creole cuisine, a high-energy sports bar, a scenic café, ice cream shop, or jazzy garden buffet, all right here. And with seasonal events like poolside BBQs and Mardi Gras parties, you'll always enjoy fabulous food and fun at the Run. Take in 18 holes of championship golf or schedule a relaxing massage at Spa Vargas Wellness!! Whatever you choose, you'll experience the charming side of Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Pheasant Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Run Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing