We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in Saint Charles”
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Baker
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel in Saint Charles”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Hotel Baker is a historic hotel. Unfortunately it did have quite some too historic tendencies. The lighting was poor in the room, and we didn't get the room we had reserved, but other than that, it was nice. The bed was alright, but the maids obviously don't know how to make a bed, it was poorly done and a flat sheet was used to cover the mattress. The free breakfast is pretty skimpy, but the again it is free. The location is great, it's right on the Fox River. It's really the only hotel in the immediate downtown area of Saint Charles. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    43
    29
    19
    20
See reviews for
20
73
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Byron, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

quaint hotel in 30,000 population Chicago Suburb. Reservation included Suite room with large bedroom and "smallish" connected sitting area. Staff generally nice not a ton of interaction needed. 2 night stay during town festival called "Riverfest". Plenty of activities around even if the town festival wasn't there. Biggest down side is no hotel parking. You are reliant on street parking or parking structures two blocks or so away. Continental breakfast included that had a nice spread of fruit, breads, sweets, cereal and scrambled eggs. Appears to be popular place for wedding receptions and private parties. Nice set up and facilities for that activity. Hotel is right on the Fox River. Beautiful to look at but had a unique scent that is not appealing. Other challenge of the River is the river bugs. Nice garden for walk and view with photo opportunities. Neat touch was the housekeeping fresh cookie delivery post check in. Overall nice stay but a touch on the expensive side for the facility and it's age. WiFi available but did not use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanandjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here with my fiancé for my sister's wedding. The wedding was in the Rainbow Room and it was gorgeous! I really enjoyed how the hotel utilizes all of the entertainment rooms for events and weddings. The hotel has a vintage, romantic feel to it. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Overall we really enjoyed staying here. Unfortunately I do have one complaint. We were on the third floor above the bar and the music was very loud all night long, until 3am, so I did not get a lot of sleep the night before my sister's wedding. We did call down to the lobby, there was nothing they could do for us, I suppose the hotel was booked and we couldn't change rooms. Keep this in mind when booking your room if you like to go to bed early or before 3am. Other than the noise complaint, it was a great experience and like I said a beautiful place for a wedding!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not near the bar or even above the bar...music sometimes plays until 3am. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything about the room was exactly as we had hoped it would be.
The character alone in this hotel is AMAZING...
We stayed in the JUNIOR SUITE - there were four ladies. and it was perfect for us !
Thank you BAKER

Room Tip: corner suite was end of the hall and worked out great because of location of ice machine -nice and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We'd stayed at this hotel before but it had been a few years. The lobby, elevators and guest room hallways all look as if time had stopped in 1928. The guest rooms were quite historic (or dated, depending on your point of view), too. The bed was comfy, but the sofa bed (like nearly all of them) was not great (and the mattress pad was dirty). Rooms are quite quiet though which we really appreciated.

Rooms need nightlights, more garbage cans and the maids need to put more than one bar of soap in the bathrooms. Continental breakfast was tasty.

Parking is ridiculous - two blocks away in a municipal garage. I know you're constrained by the river but come on.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickK7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our room was fairly ordinary but we had a great view of the Fox River, wonderful drapes that blocked the light perfectly, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. We expected the included breakfast, billed as "continental," to be just coffee and sweet rolls, but it was actually a wonderful spread that included fluffy scrambled eggs, delicious fresh fruit, toast, juices, and of course coffee and sweet rolls, complete with cloth napkins, offered in the elegant restaurant at the front of the hotel. We were in St. Charles for a concert at the Arcada just a block or so away, and this was the perfect location. While the hotel does not have its own parking lot, there is a free structure just across the street and it worked just fine for us. People should not be put off by this. We would definitely return to this elegant and unique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed several times at Hotel Baker and my wife and I look reward to it each and every time. Restaurant staff is attentive and breakfast is always fresh. Rooms are unique and inviting. At. Charles is a wonderful town to visit and Hotel Baker is a wonderful place to spend the night!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QStat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
2.0 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Property: Hotel Baker
Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baker 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing