We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, lovely cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Farm Accommodation
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Breathtaking views, superb walking, friendly hosts and delicious local food - what more could one ask for? I arrived worried and stressed and departed totally relaxed. A beautiful part of the country- will definitely be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelBravo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My fiancé and I just spent another relaxing Easter weekend in the cottage at Lower Farm where we were blessed with gorgeous weather and made the most of it walking up the Stiperstones and along the Long Mynd in between stopping at the Bog (amazing local visitor centre) for tea and cake, ant the Stiperstones pub for a late lunch - bliss! We love our trips as we can totally unwind from hectic London life - my favourite part is waking up to the sound of sheep and cows in the nearby fields, and of course the are views to die for!
We also treated ourselves to lunch in La Becasse 40 mins away in Ludlow - delicious!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great - the cottage is cosier but the studio has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The cottage is clean and comfortable set in a quiet location. It is ideal for walkers with several footpaths on the doorstep. Leave your car at the cottage, take the bus to Bishops Castle and walk back along part of the Shropshire Way. Don't forget to stop at the Bog Visitor Centre for tea and cake and perhaps buy some of the local craft on sale.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tezbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great location, like being in a different world, fantastic scenery and so quiet. Accomodation well equipped and comfortable with amazing views over the hills - a real rural retreat! Friendly, hospitable and helpful hosts made this a truly memorable break.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFHbod, Owner at Lower Farm Accommodation, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Lovely to meet you and we're glad the peace and quiet inspired you artistically. We are indeed almost in another world here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really outstanding location with lovely views from accommodation itself. We were on a cylcing holiday and this was ideal as a base - not far from a sustrans route for access, and straight into quiet roads for exploring the Shropshire Hills

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JudithHelen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFHbod, Owner at Lower Farm Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We do know there are variations in gradients, so something for everyone from Downhill Racers to leisure cyclists. Currently they are building a cycle track between Pontesbury & Minsterley so the track from Shrewsbury is getting better.
Bikes are kept locked in the barn - we know some are very precious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our second visit to Shelve but first time staying in the cottage rather than the flat. Very welcoming and helpful hosts, comfortable cottage and bird watching without leaving the garden. What more could you possibly want! We will definitely be back before too long.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Cosy, all equipment you could need. Unable to get mobile calls, not a bad thing. We had to cancel due to op then was able to go , could not have had a better place to recuperate and understanding owners to accommodate our change of plans. Jam eggs etc appreciated, nice little touches. Had a lovely walk to get paper took an hour, cut back through wood . Whole area is enjoyable, the bog has interesting history worth a read in its centre, plus cake and tea.

Room Tip: We stayed in Stipperstones, had glorious views used to like watching cows come down every day. Plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFHbod, Owner at Lower Farm Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
The people in our local shop are so friendly they even offered to bring these guests back if they were tired :-) One reason why we give them a plug on our website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelve
6.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
378 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Forden
31 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abel's Harp
Abel's Harp
#16 of 55 in Shrewsbury
317 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 1 in Norbury
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Farm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Farm Accommodation

Property: Lower Farm Accommodation
Address: | Lower Farm, Shelve, Minsterley SY5 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Minsterley > Shelve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Shelve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering for couples in refined, relaxed, peaceful surroundings. Great to unwind or for a romantic break. Awesome walking opportunities plus local market towns, historic properties, industrial archaeology. Individual beds upon request, standard is double/kingsize. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing