We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely tea rooms”

Periwinkle Tea-room
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Selworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely tea rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We enjoyed a walk around Selworthy, where we spotted some deer, we then decided to vist Periwinkle Tea Room where we were welcomed by friendly helpful staff. Enjoyed a lovely toastie followed by a cream tea with the most delicious local whortleberry jam (which incidentally you can buy a jar of while you are there) and the Chocolate crunch was absolutely delicious.
We will definitely be going back and enjoying a lunch or cream tea!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    33
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

On a lovely day, to sit in the garden is a treat. There's plenty of seating and I managed a table in the shade.

The tearoom was fairly busy, but not packed.

I didn't have anything to eat, just a pot of tea. But the menu looked fairly priced and I've enjoyed some very nice sandwiches here in the past.

It's a lovely setting - either if you're a walker or arriving by car - you will be charmed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs To Keep Up With The Competition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Periwinkle Team Room used to be my benchmark for a cream tea. The scones and cake were anecdote-worthy, the service friendly and efficient, the house and garden were exquisite and the views stunning.
The food and service had gone a little downhill when I last visited in Aug 2013 but I was pleased to see it restored to former glories upon my return in July 2014.
The thing is: the standards of local tea-rooms have moved up a notch recently and I don't think Periwinkle is quite at the level of Mrs Jacksons (Porlock) or Kitnors (Bossington).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpiestFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Tea Room Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Amazing tea room, fantastic location, friendly service and the best ploughmans and clotted cream tea of the holiday. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely peaceful gardens serving yummy cream teas, hot chocolates, cakes and tarts. Inside and outside seating available.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Periwinkle Tea-room also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Periwinkle Tea-room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing