We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden little Gem”
Review of England's Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
England's Rose
Ranked #1 of 1 Postcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked the hotel because everything in the area was fully booked due to Silverstone, what a lovely little hotel, The barman Bob was very very helpfull and a proper character, the owner was the same, the room was clean and tidy with nice fluffy towels and everything you need in a room.
The breakfast was faultless.I was in the area to see my son and partner and will stay again if I need a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

Visiting the area with my 91yr old mother, ny husband and I called in as we were passing around 7.30pm. We hadn't made a reservation and just wanted a meal. The pub itself was full as they were hosting a charity evening. Despite this the landlady insisted on opening up the empty restaurant, switching on the heating and produced a substantial meal for us with several choices plus delicious homemade pies for dessert. Later we were invited to join her in the bar for complimentary liqueurs - a really warm welcome and a lovely lady who, when really busy, could easily have turned us away but didn't. Would definitely recommend. Maggie D. Kent

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MaggieDKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Impressive Dining Room, wonderful food, only £8.95 for a choice of 4 meats and plentiful vegetables, and a lovely host/owner called Sheila who just wants to make you happy. Try it - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank step4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We found this little treasure on the way through whilst looking for nice places to walk. We popped in to see if they were doing a Sunday roast and was greeted by some really lovely members of staff. They were very attentive during the meal which was infact one of the best Sunday roast's we had ever had. A Carvery tailored to your desires in a beautifuly rural pub = fantastic. Infact we are just leaving to go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We arrived on Friday 16th November as we were visiting the area for a family birthday celebration. On first arriving in early afternoon, we pulled on to the car park but as the pub looked closed we went off to see family and then returned at around 5pm. We received a friendly welcome from Bob who booked us in and then showed us up to our room. The room was clean, tidy & warm and bed was comfy.
Bob & Sheila were both very friendly and we enjoyed our 2 nights stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friend145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the weekend just gone. We had been at a festival on Stratford-upon-Avon and woke up from camping there on Saturday morning and just wanted to get out!! We couldn't find any hotels or B&Bs in the local area so decided upon trying to find something near Oxford for the night. Many of the other B&Bs we phoned in the Oxford area were full or too pricey and this one was originally priced at £70 but then someone phoned us back and said we could have it for £65. We were pleased with this and also really glad that they offered us a room so early in the morning (it was about 9.30am-10am when we first phoned).

Patrick, the main member of staff we interacted with was lovely, he was very helpful, cheerful and an overall nice guy which was great. The room was average but it suited us just perfectly after camping the night before. We had dinner (Lasange and chips) Saturday night which was pricey (£8.95 each) but it was nice. The breakfast in the morning was average and too oily for my taste. The garden area is a large and a really nice place to sit if the sun is out. In totality, the place is a little bit run-down but we still enjoyed our stay there.

Also, Postcombe, the area itself doesn't have anything to offer but we went to Thame on Saturday afternoon (about a 15min drive) which was a lovely town and also to a bootsale in Tetsworth (about a 5 min drive) on Sunday morning which was very good and also drove to Oxford Central which wasn't too far either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very warm welcome, cosy room and reasonably priced at £65 per night. Peaceful sleep. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to England's Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England's Rose

Address: London Road, Postcombe OX9 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Postcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Postcombe
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your England's Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing