We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottage, wonderful food and warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artisan Bakehouse
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage, wonderful food and warm welcome”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in the Brewhouse cottage in June and had a wonderful break, our first as a new family with our 6 month old. Les and Louise could not have been more hospitable and made us feel very welcome. It was wonderful to have dinner delivered, the food was amazing! We were also lucky enough to experience lunch and afternoon tea in the bakehouse tea barn - this is highly recommended. The cosy and well equipped cottages are well located for exploring the south downs / south coast. We had a wonderful break and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spam1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
14
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful week in the brewhouse with our 15month old sun. Great location with the pool, trampoline and nearby child friendly activities and places so lots to keep toddlers busy. The cottage was lovely and cosy and the cakes, home made food and bread from the tea barn absolutely delicious! A great getaway with or without children in a lovely setting run by great people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex,England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an absolute gem.The food is delicious including great breads with lovely salads and fantastic ice cream sundaes.The setting is idyllic and my only complaint is that they are not open every day of the year.
Attentive service handled by Les and Louise.
A very happy atmosphere pervades.
I love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a wonderful week here with our baby and toddler. Very warm welcome from Les and Louise, with cookies, fresh bread and eggs greeting us when we arrived.

The cottage is set in an idyllic location in the Sussex countryside. It is very peaceful yet plenty for us to do. Our toddler loved the rabbit and the chickens, plus the cool sandpit, and we all loved being able to swim pretty much every day. If you have a car you can get out and about. Steyning was lovely - we went to museum and library which our son loved, and sampled the tea rooms there. We also went to Bramber castle, Wiston - the tea rooms there have lots of animals on site and you can feed them, so great for kids, and also to the village of Storrington. Although we live in Sussex we rarely explore the region and we really enjoyed it.

As others have mentioned the ceiling is very low in the cottage which was difficult for my husband by end of the week as his neck had permanent crook in it! Cooking facilities limited in Milkhouse too, which we were fine with, but something to bear in mind. The Co-op in Steyning does a nice range of prepared dishes than can be cooked pretty much in one pan, so would recommend that if you don't fancy micro meals or pasta! I think because Les and Louise had the Tea Barn open for the summer they weren't doing home cooked meals in the evening, so a shame to miss out on them, but am sure we will be back!

All in all would have been an amazingly peaceful and relaxing break, if not for the fact we had 2 small children! Had a wonderful holiday though!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I hate to add to the many glowing reviews of the Brewhouse, we'd like to keep it a secret, but Les and Louise deserve another 5 star rating!
The Brewhouse itself is perfect, comfortable, well equipped, easy to relax in especially in front of the wood burning stove. What makes this place stand apart from others we have been to though is the thought, attention to detail and hospitality of the owners. Les and Louise did everything possible to make sure we made the most of our short (4 day) stay with them, from providing us with ideas of places to go to taking the children out to collect eggs from the chickens. The food we had delivered to us in the cottage was amazing, from fresh baked scones, biscuits and bread on arrival and a delicious surprise cake on my birthday to the fantastic home cooked meals in the evening. Our children (4 and 7) also enjoyed the food, and when I asked their favourite part of the holiday my daughter said 'the people', referring to Les and Louise. My son said 'chasing the chickens!' We will be going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were welcomed with a pot of tea, warm cinnamon and apple scones and damson and plum jam; divine. The cottage was as beautiful as the pictures, spotless and tranquil. On arrival there were fresh eggs courtesy of the chickens, homemade bread and apple juice and milk in the fridge.
The AGA kept the cottage warm, but not too warm, as we made log fires in the evening and entertained ourselves with weekend newspaper, Sky TV and a DVD player.
We had a fabulous weekend with so many places to visit, including Lewes, and lovely grounds to walk in . Our bread making course was great fun and has inspired us to buy less and make more.
The Nicholsons are wonderful hosts and the evening meals delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I had been given a voucher as a gift for the full day Breadmaking workshop. What a fantastic day it was. Everything was supplied and the Bakehouse is set in the most beautiful surroundings. We were taught how to bake several different breads. All of which we took home to enjoy along with recipe sheets so we can make the breads again. The workshop was completely 'hands on' not one where you just watch someone else. Les clearly talked us through every bread we made, explaining different kneading techniques, proving and flours to name just a few things. At lunchtime we were then treated to a wonderful lunch from Louise.

I can not recommend the Breadmaking workshop enough. It is brilliant for beginners and also for those who have already tried their hand at Breadmaking. Both Les and Louise are lovely and very hospitable.

I cannot wait to try other bread workshops with them in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashurst
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
358 reviews
7.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
387 reviews
17.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
9.5 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artisan Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artisan Bakehouse

Property: The Artisan Bakehouse
Address: 1-3 Horsebridge Cottage Horsebridge Common | Horsebridge Common, Ashurst, Ashurst BN44 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Ashurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ashurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 16th Century Sussex Farmhouse set in 5 acres of pretty gardens and woodland. Offering two newly renovated self-catering holiday cottages with the option to enjoy delicious home cooked AGA meals from our Farmhouse kitchen. Kingsize beds, luxury bathrooms, cosy log fires & deep armchairs in the winter, a heated outdoor pool to swim in, or relax by with a book in the summer. Relaxation treatments available from visiting Covent Garden Neals yard therapist. Acres of gardens and woodlands, chickens & ducks to feed and lots of other wildlife to spot. Parents will appreciate the tasteful luxurious cottage interiors and thoughtful added extras from fresh baked breakfasts, gourmet meal deliveries, babysitting and plentiful baby gear; whilst mini guests make the most of exploring. Set in a secluded rural ideal on the edge of the beautiful South Downs National Park yet just 5 minutes from the pretty vibrant village of Steyning and beaches within 10 minutes too! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing