We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to leave”
Review of Lawford Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Lawford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lawford Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Long Lawford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stayed in this lovely b and b since November 2012 due to work needs in Rugby. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a home from home stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Susan who delivers a delicious breakfast each day. The accommodation is comfortable and well priced given the facilities and the daily biscuits in my room and complimentary bottled water with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner a thoughtful touch. The gardens equal any yellow book entry and I will be sorry to leave - it has been a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lawford Hill Farm along with my sister and husband and cousins from Australia and Holland. Our room was situated in the old part built in 1773 and though not huge was perfectly adequate with built in facilities including toilet and shower. A TV is provided as was WiFi connectivity. Our bed was very comfortable, if a little smaller than we are used to. Due to the prevailing wind the room was a little chilly of a morning in a very unseasonal June, although an electric heater was available for use if required. In winter the room is heated by two large radiators.
There was a wonderful view out over the front garden with trees lawns and shrubs. One monstrous scots pine was planted when the farm was extended in 1840 making it over 170 years old. The gardens are extensive spreading over 1 acre. Our cousins stayed in the self catering part of the complex one of which was sufficiently large that we were all able to congregate during the evening. There was a problem with hot water supplies to one of the rooms but this was delt with as rapidly as possible.
There was an excellent choice of breakfast from full english with fried, poached or boiled eggs down to toast and coffee. The bread was home made with the butter, bacon and sausages all produced locally.
Down the road approx 2 miles away was a local pub called The Smithy in Church Lawford which provides excellent meals at very reasonable prices all day long.
As the farm is out in quite countryside being situated between Coventry and Rugby,but only a couple of miles out of Rugby itself, a car is essential for getting around. Stratford-on Avon is about 30 minutes drive away.
We also ate at and explored Coombe Abbey now a large Hotel and conference centre, and the Huntsman Carvery in the medieval village of Dunchurch (see other reviews).
Finally our thanks the Don and Susan our hosts for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladviser43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A group of us have recently come back from a weeks stay at Lawford Hill Farm in The Granary Cottage. The accommodation was great, just what you should expect from a good quality establishment. There are 4 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms and comfortable public areas with all amenities you could require. The local area is pretty with several good pubs and restaurants. We were there on a fishing trip and found it ideal for Draycote Water, Ravensthorpe and Pitsford. Rutland Water and Grafham Reservoir are an hour by car but well worth a visit. I'm sure we will be back in the future.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank gstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at Lawford Hill Farm, it was absolutely wonderful. My two woofers even made friends with darling Fred the little dog that visits daily. Definately returning, it was home from home. Thank you Susan so very much.

Room Tip: Fantastic for a family get together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lushMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights recently and on arrival it seemed very nice, however......the room inside the main house was a reasonable size but the bathroom was as the owner said" inside the wardrobe" and was tiny. The shower had very little pressure and dribbled its way to hot and the bed was very small and creaky, we told the owner about the shower but no apology was forthcoming.

The lighting was dreadful for my wife and she really struggled to put make up on and no light for me to have a shave

The breakfast was ok but it would have been nice to have been offered different eggs instead of just fried being delivered.

The owner didn't Make us feel particularly welcomed either on arrival or departure and it all seemed to be a chore.

We wouldn't stay again I'm afraid

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main house if you want a good shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodley188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is not our first visit to Lawford Hill Farm. We find it very good every time. We are two adults and a teenager and the family room is an excellent size with comfy seating in front of the tele for us all! ( So often in a b and b one of us has to perch on a bed). The bathroom is also huge, with a bath and good shower over it. The farm is in a handy place for Rugby whilst still having a very rural and quiet feel.

Room Tip: We have only seen one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floradora670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank pabloastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lawford Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawford Hill Farm

Address: Lawford Hill Farm Lawford Heath Lane | Lawford, Long Lawford, Rugby CV23 9HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Long Lawford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Lawford
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing