We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Castle Eaton B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We ate here on a warm evening sat outside, the food was lovely and very reasonably priced, there isnt much choice for vegetarians/vegans but they do cater and will adapt to cater for you if asked, so no problems there. I couldnt eat the puddings on the menu but they made me fresh melon and strawberry, which was lovely.
The pub was very welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful.

There are bench seats outside by the river but you cant sit right next to the river to eat which is understandable as it would be difficult for food to be carried down the small slope but there is plenty of seating and you have a good view of the river wherever you sit. Its clean and has a resident cat who wanders over for a stroke.
This is a lovley pub for a late afternoon/early evening meal and a drink, I would go here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    22
    6
    10
    10
See reviews for
17
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the double room on a Saturday night whilst visiting family in the area.
The room was well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The landlady was perfectly friendly and welcoming, staying up after the bar had closed to let us in when we returned.
Breakfast was large and tasty and the whole stay was good value.
We would be more than happy to stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is an ideally-located pub and guest-house for the last day of the Thames Path. Melody, the owner, is welcoming and friendly. The rooms are in the 18th/19th Century part of the building and have a nice charm about them, though they are not en-suite (but that will hardly bother anyone coming in from a long day on the river). Just one quibble, the duvets are a little insubstantial, while the mattress was not the most comfortable, but they are minor issues easily remedied. All in all, it is worth putting on your list.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It cannot be disputed that The Red Lion is in a fantastic position with its beer garden rolling down to the bank of the River Thames.

However, it is one of those unfortunate pubs who allows its location to somehow excuse its lack of basic common courtesy. The female bar staff and landlady are surly, abrupt, rude and unhelpful. The food is lack lustre and prices disproportionate.

It's a real shame as this could be fantastic in every respect, but it's apparent that the management know that people will return for the location alone and therefore see no need to improve their customer care.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Eaton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Having driven down from Essex after work on a Friday evening, arriving about 10pm, (having booked in advance, and not having been asked to state an arrival time) the landlady greeted us with a telling off that we had arrived late, as "most guests arrive earlier, and want a dinner".
We occupied the twin room and double room on the first floor. There was a strange smell of sewage on the first floor, centring on the bathroom. The floor of the twin room felt particularly dirty, both bedrooms were not particularly clean, and the bathroom/toilet and shower/sink rooms were both dirty.
(Incidentally, the only way to lock the shower room door is to lift the door up until the lock is properly aligned.)
We were particularly surprised that, when we returned for the second night of our stay, our rooms had not been touched; beds not made, tea making facilities not renewed, and cups still dirty.
When we asked for more tea bags and milk, the landlady told that she thought we had plenty.
It's cheap, and in a nice position, but a bit of cleaning would not go amiss.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We recently had a family meal at the red lion , we found it welcoming and child friendly , the food was excellent and plentiful and offerd value for money . It also has a great location by the Thames with a large garden

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscothestoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Called in one evening recently to see what the place was like with the proviso of just having a couple of drinks. After struggling to find anywhere to sit (all the tables were laid for eating despite the place being empty) we stood by the fire in an empty room to the side of the bar. That was however short lived as the land lady (I assume she must be that as no one in their right mind would employ her in a service role, or any other role come to that) started to rant at us for standing by the fire in an otherwise empty room! After managing to quickly finish our drinks without throwing them either over the fire or over her we left and found a nice pub at Hannington just down the road. The atmosphere there couldn't have been more different.

We certainly won't be returning back to the Red Lion unless the village are lucky enough for the pub to come under new ownership, but even then it didn't have much going for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 272Ludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Eaton
3.2 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 4 in Cricklade
295 reviews
4.9 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 3 in Meysey Hampton
153 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: The Street, Castle Eaton SN6 6JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Castle Eaton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing