We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bell. Cropthorne”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Cropthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Open midday 6 days a week (closed Tuesdays): Weekday lunch till 2.30 & supper from 5 till 8.30 with bar till 10; food all day Saturday (bar till 11), Sunday & Bank Holidays (closed at 8); Andre's menu of fresh, seasonal, produce sourced from select local farmers, gamekeepers & producers. Daily deliveries ensure enormous variety & flexibility of tasty home-made options for all dietary requirements : coeliac, vegan & small appetites. Andre & Jane hope to welcome you soon to our home with our warm & friendly Lounge Bar; Peaceful Dining Room; Beer Patio; Relaxing Cosy Conservatory; Private Dining & Log Fire. Free house; fresh owners; fantastic food, fine wines, locally produced drinks & local real ales & lagers. Beautiful relaxed Cotswold country pub between Evesham & Pershore, near Wick & Fladbury, in the pretty village of Cropthorne, Vale of Evesham, Ancient orchards sweep down to the River Avon offering clear, unbroken views across the vale to the Malvern Hills in the distance.
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Good quality food, hot and plentiful - not too far from where we stayed. Waitresses helpful but not over pushy.

Date of visit: July 2013
2  Thank reetandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Only average again, we stopped for Sunday lunch and opted for the 2 courses at £12.95. We both had smoked salmon and crayfish and although nice were very small portions served on a plate followed by rib of beef and again very small portions of beef just two very thinly sliced pieces of meat, vegetables were lovely and more plentiful. It was nicely cooked but totally spoilt by the meagre portions and we still felt hungry after we had eaten. I did mention this and she said she would take it on board. The staff I might add were very pleasant and efficient.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My friend and I were sent here on recommendation of our B&B, and we liked the Bell so much that we went back for a second dinner. The atmosphere was comfortable, and we received friendly service from the woman whom we later learned is the owner. The decor is eclectic, I especially liked the large stone fish on the floor near the entrance. The food was good and reasonably priced. We sampled their burgers, fish and chips, chicken in mediera sauce (lovely), and all came with fresh local veggies. Desserts were very good, as well. The Bell's location on the A44 between Evesham and Pershore makes it convenient for travelers. We will return when we are in the area again. Also, there are window boxes on the front windows now, so the place is even prettier than in the pictures.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gnomefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The charming young Manageress gave us a great welcome on the two nights we ate here. We had not booked and though she was very busy on the second night she fitted us in .

We had homemade terrine to share followed by duck and asparagus (of course) and then indulgently a 'gigantic ' caramel ice-cream to share. It all tasted great but we had over-eaten!

The second day we had an asparagus starter followed by a sizzeling beef Terriaki dish - again all great but experience taught us not to go further....

Fairly priced, friendly staff, pleasant surroundings. Will certainly go again when in area.
unfortunately we were not able to stay to attend the local asparagus auction the next day. People come from mies around apparently and enjoy a carnival atmosphere with a variety of local produce stalls at the auction venue .

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SussexGadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We found this pub by accident and so glad we did. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and they had a lovely range of food on the menu. I chose the homemade burger, rather unusual for me, and it really was homemade with good quality meat in a nice little bed bun with salad and cheese. My husband chose the steak pie and it was a lovely individual meaty pie. The were a nice selection of veg, not the usual peas and carrots and the chips were home cooked too. If we lived closer we would call again but thought we ought to get it put on trip adviser for other people to enjoy.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sanuk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Pershore, Worcestershire
Pershore, Worcestershire
 
Pershore, Worcestershire
 
Pershore, Worcestershire
Defford, Pershore
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing