We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poopy's and JC Cycle Open House”
Review of L & M Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L & M Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Savanna
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Three couples rode up from Cental IL for the event. Some of us had not been to Poopy's. The owner's son served as ferry to and from the bar, saving us from DUIs and the cops from coming to the scene of an accident. This is no five star motel, but it was clean, modestly priced and catered to us bikers. They provided rags, welcome beverages from water and pop to beer and wine coolers.We enjoyed the hot tub and the fire pit.The three dogs were friendly but not pushy. The only reason I did not give it a 5 is because no one is perfect!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed for a fee, and non-smoking rooms are strictly enforced. All the rooms are "the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHarleyHooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for L & M Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was our second bike trip to Savanna, IL and staying at the L&M Motel. We brought 8 couples with us, and again Lois and Curtis at the L&M Motel did not disappoint. They have beverages available when you arrive and welcomed us with hugs. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They have a hose and towels available to wash the bikes. Curtis shuttled us to the Iron Horse downtown and also to Sabula, IA across the river. We sat by the bonfire both nights on our return to the motel. Great time was had by all and we will be back again next year. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verndawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The most friendly people and best hospitality from any place I've every stayed. We pulled up on the bikes and were greeted with coolers of water and drinks. They have a covered area for the bikes; provide towels and Bug B Gone. Rooms were clean. We didn't use the shuttle that they provide at no cost but we will definately come again and most likely use the shuttle. Thanks for the great time :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle53538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at L&M Motel and was warmly welcomed by Lois and her son Curtis. Coolers of beer waiting in the lobby when you arrive and a covered area to park your bike. Lois runs a shuttle to and from any bar you want to go to. Me and my group spent the night downtown and a safe ride back was only a phone call away. A hot tub and two fire pits provide a great opportunity to socialize with the other patrons.They make you feel like family.

Room Tip: Rooms are themed. Recommend the Harley room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I and about 14 of our biker friends took a trip to Animosa IA in June of this year and on the way stopped in Savanna IL. We stayed at the L&M Motel and it was a great little motel. They have tents set up to cover all bikes... they have a shuttle that will take you to the infamous Poopies Bar and Grill - Huge biker friendly bar... or where ever you want to go. They have a wonderful yellow lab that greated all of us when we pulled in and they, mom and pop and son, also greated us with coolers full of cold beer, water, wine coolers, etc... all complimentary! The rooms are all themed, we lucked out and got the Harley Davidson room. All the rooms were nice and clean. When they shuttled us to the bar, we gave them some $ and they bought our beer and had them in coolers, iced down when we returned to the motel that evening. They had a nice fire burning along with plently of chairs to accomodate all their guests and all the makings for Smores! It is a great place. Give it a go when stopping in Savanna IL for the evening! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have now stayed at this small independent motel twice in 2011 and I can't say enough about Lois and her crew of few who work so hard at giving bikers a great experience. Our rooms were neat and clean and we enjoyed comparing "notes" on our respective "theme rooms"... HA! This place greets you with a smile, and provides everything you need to keep your bike clean and dry... in addition to offering us free shuttle service (all night long!) When we asked Curtis (our driver) how late he drove? The answer was "Why, until the last guest is home safely, of course!... Now THAT'S what I call service! They also had grills, outdoor fireplaces, and plenty of wood to warm our bones... Did I mention the friendly Lois and contagious hugs? After briefly mentioning that two of our couples were celebrating wedding anniversaries, they were were delighted and surprised to find cake, champagne... and rose petals in their rooms when we returned to the motel after dinner. Highly recommend this place for bikers.... plenty of beautiful hilly roads to explore during the day and family friendly atmosphere to relax at night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L0gcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We loved this place. It was very clean, and the service was very good. The hosts were very nice, and made every attempt to fulfill your request. More than we expected. We were bicycling the great river trail from Savanna to Rock Island. They offered to take us into town for dinner or breakfast. The had rags/towels so that you could wash your bike off. They had coffee in the office for guests. The hot tub was very nice, in a gazebo outside, screened in so bugs didn't bother us. Our room had a nice kitchenette, which was very nice. It doesn't look like much when you drive up, but believe me, it is worthwile to stay. The host/hostess make you want to return. The other guests were very friendly as well. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannondale2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savanna
6.6 mi away
Sandburr Run Hotel
Sandburr Run Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thomson
14 reviews
8.9 mi away
Executive Inn
Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Thomson
16 reviews
16.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 9 in Clinton
373 reviews
20.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
#6 of 9 in Clinton
28 reviews
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Address: 2000 N Oakton Rd, Savanna, IL 61074-1799
Region: United States > Illinois > Savanna
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Savanna
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L & M Motel is located in scenic Savanna, IL, along the Mississippi River. We have reasonable rates and theme decorated rooms, such as, classic cars, Harley, and animal themed rooms. Our rooms are clean and newly remodeled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L & M Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l & m Hotel Savanna
l And m Motel
l m Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing