We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From start to finish we enjoyed our stay here. We were here for a competition and also some shopping at the mall. Woodfield Mall is 5 mins away along with every restaurant you can imagine.
Great price for the room/suite and plenty of room for my family. The breakfasts were unexpectedly good, great selection. The sofa bed is terrible, but aren't they always that way?

Room Tip: It was winter so I don't have any room suggestions. We faced the pool on the first floor. Once i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldHagPelosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Large and spacious 2 bedroom 2 bath suite.
Outdated but still okay for the price
Nice breakfast
Oh yeah and a blood stained mattress in the pull out sofa.
Would I stay here again? Sure....as long as I didn't have to sleep on the sofa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innairis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen f, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate you staying with us. I am excited to tell you that in approximately 1 month we will begin a total property renovation. All of our guestrooms and lobby areas will be completely redesigned. You will not recognize this hotel the next time you come to visit. So please, come back and visit and I can assure you that you will see a complete transformation from what you experienced in February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The family and I had a staycation weekend for my daughter's birthday weekend. We were supposed to go to Mall of America but the Polar Vortex kept us in Illinois. We decided to do a weekend of Legoland, Gameworks and Woodfield Mall. I will first begin with the pros:

1. Check-in was quick and easy
2. Customer Service was courteous and professional. Thanks "Pita".
3.Value was a great sized suite for a nicely discounted price. We paid $115 a night for a 2bdr suite with pull out sofa that slept 8ppl
4. The option for full breakfast each day was nice.
5. The grounds, though snow covered, were spacious and scenic
6. The beds were comfortable!

This hotel has great potential until the potential is actually realized the cons will continue to negatively define the Sonesta Es Suites Schaumburg. Here are the cons:

1. This one can't be fixed, however, the location is not conveniently or closely located to Woodfield Mall or any of the restaurants in the vicinity. The hotel is tucked away in a residential area about 5 blocks from the mall action. A car is definitely needed.

2. The rooms were severely OUTDATED. Clearly the last upgrade sans the beds and bedding must have been done in 1984.

3. Large heavy tube tvs. Why they haven't invested in flat screens throughout escapes me since they aren't expensive to replace.

4. Another surface clean hotel. Dust and dirt in the corners, water stains, random hairs in the bathroom, carpet stains etc...existed. Deep cleaning is badly needed.

5. Apparently, when the hotel was purchased by a new owner they decided to do an exterior facelift and change the doors and outside railing etc..from turquoise to brown. Now the doors and surrounding railings and hardware are in need of replacing or repainting it is chipping and pealing everyone. The doors actually looked like they were falling apart, only to discover it was chipping paint. The chipped door paint follows you under foot into your room.

6. Damaged and breaking stairs. We stayed on the second floor. Climbing the stairs to our room had to be done cautiously.

7. Suspect and sketchy employees. Neither maintenance or housekeeping wore uniforms.

8. Housekeeping only dumped the trash and replaced towels. Good thing we are clean and neat naturally. The rooms could benefit from regular/daily housekeeping.

9. Sofabed mattress was thin, flimsy, old and had several questionable stains. Replacing the mattress is something they should consider.

10. The furniture in the rooms need to be replaced with NEW updated furniture. The current furniture looks to be USED hotel resale furnishings complete with bumbs, bruises and scratches.

11. Poor cable reception. The tube tvs fluctuated between clear and snowy

12. The rooms had an odor that smelled dank. This could have been because of the old used furnishing, carpets or curtains or a combination of all. This was helped with Alora room diffusers we purchased for our 2night stay.

In closing, this hotel has the potential to sink or swim. Right now they are floating until they have to do either. I hope this review and others will encourage them to be better.

Happy Stays!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen f, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I really appreciate all of the honest feedback that you have given myself and my team. We strive to do better each and every time and this will definitely assist us in doing that. However, I am excited to state that beginning at the end of March, the hotel will be going under a complete renovation. So, when you come back to visit in the future, you will not see the same hotel that it is today. Thank you again and I hope that you will come back and visit us at the Sonesta ES Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel located in the center of Schaumburg, and close to all major shopping areas and restaurants. It is also very quiet at night, because it is not right on the roads with major traffics. The location is the best I've got so far in Schaumburg.

The rooms are not average hotel rooms. They are spacious with full kitchen and living room. It really feels like home away from home. However, the kitchen appliance was seriously outdated. Also, the TV sets were very old. The bathroom faucet was a little loose, but no leaking (I think, it's just me, who always prefer shiny faucets). Hopefully, the renovation will take care of that.

Definitely a good place to return for my next shopping trip.

Room Tip: We stayed on higher floor, and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baby_PolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen f, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and I really appreciate the feedback you have provided. I am excited to tell you that we are currently in the process of getting ready for our hotel to be fully renovated. So when you come back and visit us later in the year, we will have a brand new hotel/product that will offer amenities that you will love.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in a suite for one night in December with my parents-in-law. location was good and easy to find. The suite was perfect for us as it provided privacy for both couples. Beds were comfortable and kitchen/dining/living room served it's purpose. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

6 of my 'shop till we drop' recently spent 2 nights and it was perfect. 3 two bedroom suites gave us plenty of room to be together, yet have some privacy. Although the renovation was not quite finished everything was updated and clean. The staff was absolutely helpful and wonderfully friendly. Some of us stayed there when it was Staybridge and the last time it was pretty "tired" and consequently we stayed somewhere else on the next trip. Sure glad we tried Sonesta this time!!

Room Tip: Many rooms do not have inside entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at this property which is currently being renovated. We had stayed there before when it was a Staybridge. We had really enjoyed our prior experience and when we came back we found some of the same excellent staff that had made our previous stay wonderful. Though much was under construction we had a great visit due to the great people on the staff who went out of the way to insure we were welcome and comfortable. Hats off to an amazing group of people. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zxywefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen f, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I would like to say "Thank You" for staying with us and letting us know the good stuff. It means alot to my team that we hear how we made your stay enjoyable.

When you are in the Schaumburg area, please come back and visit us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
785 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg

Address: 901 E Woodfield Office Ct, Schaumburg, IL 60173-5176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#5 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: £95 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the all new Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg near Chicago, IL! The hotel is located in the heart of the Woodfield Mall and only minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) and great corporate neighbors like Motorola, Zurich, Siemens, OSHA, Pfizer, AC Nielsen, ADP, Navistar,Experian, GE, Bechtel and Fanuc. Guests will find our close proximity to IKEA, Arlington Race Track, Medieval Times Dinner Theater, and downtown Chicago convenient. Sonesta ES Suites offers an all suite experience with extended stay rates, as well as free high-speed internet access and local calls in every guest room! Our redesigned in-room work areas and ergonomic desk chairs will make work a little easier, and we also offer a daily complimentary breakfast buffet, evening reception and on-site 24-hour convenience store. Enjoy our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool,sports court and BBQ grills. Shuttle service is available within a 5-mile radius. Spacious one bedroom, two bedroom, two bath suites are ideal for an extended stay as well as a quick visit. The newly reimagined Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg offers plenty of space and privacy with,fully equipped kitchens,full ovens, microwaves, full size refrigerators, even the pots and pans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing