We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative to downtown pizzerias” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 318 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good alternative to downtown pizzerias”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We wanted guests from the Southeast to experience Chicago-style food, and Malnati's in Schaumburg was a logical choice for Chicago-style deep-dish pizza without the hassle of driving downtown and the cost of parking. The food did not disappoint, but the atmosphere left much to be desired--hard, mismatched chairs in a stiffling hot 2nd story (in Sept.!); it was "tired and icky" from the menus to flooring to the restrooms. Only because the pizza was good and our server attentive would we consider returning. And, although we were a large party, the restaurant refused to take a reservation, and the wait for the more pleasant first floor "porch" area with windows was about 40 minutes longer than the 2nd floor--not worth it. The steep stairs were a problem for some of the senior citizens too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    128
    20
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great taste of Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was in Schaumburg on business this week and was looking for a taste of authentic Chicago deep dish pizza. They did not disappoint. I had a Malnati's salad which was huge. The server warned me it was not individual in size and they were right! However it did provide something for me to eat while I waited for the pizza. The individual pizza was just the right size for one person. If I was in the area again, I would probably go back especially if I was with friends or family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CottonDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville,IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We started with wings and garlic bread, and both were excellent. The wings and sauce were better than what you get in most wing places! The pizza was delicious! We had the deep dish pizza and wow, was it good! The best thing though was the chocolate chip pizza dessert. The dessert was amazing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Really? This is the number 3 restaurant in Schamburg?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

So I get an email from TripAdvisor and there's an image showing this restaurant as the number 3 restaurant in Schamburg. Well, I am flabbergasted. This restaurant beat Shaw's Crab House? Really??

I was here a couple of weeks ago and all I can say is that it was the most disgusting pizza I have ever had. The sauce tasted off and don't get me started on the sausage...it isn't cooked and crumbled sausage as on ANY OTHER PIZZA, it's a big partially cooked patty of sausage laid on top of the dough. GROSS. And the dough was nothing to rave about either. You won't get me in here again.

if you want a good Chicago pizza, go to Giordano's and give this train wreck chain a miss. You'll be a lot happier.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkhmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lou's Thick Pizza is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

There is nothing like Lou's thick (butter crust) pizza. This is the model for all thick crust pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing