We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for a night as a small getaway from life. Greatest hotel choice!! We walked in and we're in awe of how beautiful it was. It was so sleek and clean, just gorgeous. We got checked in so quickly and easily and I'm so sad I cannot remember the name of the man at the counter as he was so nice, professional, and helpful. The room was clean, updated and just perfect for what we wanted. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were so soft. I was so grateful that there were plugs all over the room so I could charge my phone in a convenient spot for me. The last hotel I was in was so inconvenience with a place to charge my phone that this was really appreciated. I was sad we didn't have enough time to check out the pool as I'm sure it would have been great. It's in an amazing location right by Woodfield Mall too! I can't wait to have a chance to go back and see the rest of what this hotel has to offer!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acflodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Amazing hotel! A delicious (FREE) breakfast, beautiful lobby, and perfect for conventions! Have stayed there for a week every year for 9 years and I still can't wait to go every year! I am still very impressed with their service and I am a friend with the concierge.

Room Tip: I recommend to go on business because the hotel reserves some of the building just for your conventi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 725jeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

WOW!!

Our closing speaker said he was talking to the desk manager who told him that he is "up" because he sets the tone for his entire team. And what a tone they set.

From the staff to the room names, the entire place exudes positive attitude and professionalism.

And - I have never had banquet (we are a large group) food with such FLAVOR!

Great job - keep up the good work. You inspired us to go back to work and do the best job WE can!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A convention center style of hotel with a faux-1970’s format. The decor works well in the common areas, but suffers some in the rooms themselves which are a little worn (carpet stains, chipped furnishings). Some recent attention seems to have been paid to the bathrooms, however, which appear to have been somewhat recently renovated in a more modern style, are spacious and clean and include high-end toiletries.

Following the usual trend, this upscale property wanted to charge for WiFi whereas smaller brands would just let you have it for free. We reluctantly skipped WiFi due to the high cost.

Some rooms face the highway, although generally quiet. The DJ in the outdoor patio bar on ground level, however, was booming it out for a while into the night and it was noticeable from our (12th floor) room.

A bit of a big property, and finding and getting to the check-in desk is a bit of a challenge as you enter. Double-check your bill: we were invoiced $160.00 for a night of valet parking when the actual charge should have been $16.00. They fixed the charge when we brought it to their attention, but you would think that charges like this would be automated and the invoices checked for reasonableness before they were closed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocket58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenSchaumburg, Director of Sales at Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for review of our hotel. Additionally, we received a review from your Sam & Harry's experience separately from you as well, that we would also like to respond to here. We are greatful for the time you have taken to share your experiences throughout the hotel and also while dining. We understand a couple of items did not satisfy you including the Wifi, billing and your meal in Sam & Harry's. We sincerely apologize that your meal at Sam & Harry’s did not meet your expectations. Unlike some steakhouses, we sear our steaks first on a plancha, and then finish them on the broiler to activate the natural sugars which help to seal in the juices. we would love the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail so we can share your feedback with the Culinary team to help us improve. With wifi charges, we do benchmark our hotel with like hotels in and around Chicagoland, but we understand there are many select service hotels in our area that do not charge. With that, we do offer complimentary wifi in our public space. Finally and most importantly, I am very sorry you had a billing error, but am glad you resolved that before you left. Your final bill is most important to be accurate and we apologize for that significant mistake. Thank you for your business, we do hope to have you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel... room service had a long wait. It says if it takes longer than expected its free. That isn't the case. Your credit card is still charged. Nice salt water pool. Tv's in the bathroom. Definitely would revisit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lovinssk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenSchaumburg, Manager at Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with our In Room Dining during your stay. We apologize that your meal was not delivered when it was expected. Our team works very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied. We would like to learn more about your specific experience and how we can prevent this from happening in the future, so feel free to reach out if you would like. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback and we hope that we have the pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is the second year my hobby group has held its annual convention at the Renaissance. The hotel has easy access to the convention center, where meeting rooms are spacious and offer technical services for presentations and workshops.

A standard guest room has desk and table space for presentation and model preparation, and very comfortable beds and furniture. The little cupboard and mini-fridge are great for storing snacks, and the rooms have several spaces for storing luggage and packages.

Another of the hotel’s many advantages is its variety of both small and large lounging areas. The large hotel lounge and the indoor pathway that connects to hotel to its convention center have spots where guests can sit comfortably and converse with fellow guests in a somewhat intimate setting, or socialize with larger groups. In addition, the lounge offers free internet service, which is incredibly useful for conventioneers not staying in the hotel.

Unfortunately, the Renaissance does not offer many informal dining options. The Wintergarden Cafe is lovely, and offers a few snacks and sandwiches, but the hotel’s steak house restaurant is the only other option within the hotel. However, the staff is very helpful in accessing impromptu dining options

Overall, the Renaissance is a great hotel, and I look forward to staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors offer easier access to the convention center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_LUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Overall a great stay! I have stayed at the hotel a handful of times now and it is consistently a great stay.

The shampoo and conditioner use to be nicer quality, but overall a nice feel. The lobby area is clean and contemporary. The bar area is great for a nice drink or a good steak sandwich.

The overall impressions of the room make you feel comfortable and well rested.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
829 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Schaumburg/Woodfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Address: 1551 Thoreau Dr N, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: £85 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing