We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and above expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent and above expectation”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

As Platinum Elite Marriott customer I frequent hundreds of Marriott properties. This is among the best. The architecture in the lobby is wonderful. My room was beyond clean and comfortable. The bathroom time is so clean you can see yourself in it. I love the fountains our front and the looping path around the ponds. Made for a great late evening walk. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I visited the concierge lounge any times and it is among the best. The coffee was always fresh and breakfast was different every day. From crepes to the fresh berries it was all so delicious. Cudos to you Marriott for a wonderful experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMJR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    235
    42
    20
    13
See reviews for
118
104
37
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The main entrance directs you to walk through and be consumed by fantastic floral aromas in an isolated foyer. The room I had was very nice. The bathroom had an "in mirror" television and heater to eliminate fogging. Lots of nice touches. All of the public areas were impeccable.
One shortcoming I noticed, my room faced the highway and the window needed some sound dampening. One morning, at 3:15AM, I heard construction crews that were a quarter of a mile down the road.
Also, the sliding bathroom pocket door was very heavy. I accidentally smashed the tip of one of my fingers. It's probably a design I'd be nervous about if my kids were traveling with me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 7RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, and an amazing place. This was my first time to ever stay here, and I was impressed. The front desk was so amazing, and wanted to make sure I knew what was around. But I have been to Schaumburg many times and knew the area. I got to my room and had a huge window and it was so nice and open. I loved the hidden fridge as well and the Aveda products. The maids we on top of their jobs and always made sure I was taken care of my whole stay. This is an awesome place to stay, I just hate when hotels charge for internet, when cheap hotels give it free! LOL But other than that it was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for the Stitches Conference, and found it up to it's usual quality, with a few unfortunate exceptions. The first problem happened when we got into bed on the first night, and found the sheet didn't fit. By not fitting, it was placed on top of the bed, and at the foot of the bed, they'd wrapped it around the mattress cover. By the next morning, there were large wrinkles all over the bottom sheet, and you could see about a foot of the mattress all around the bed. Definitely, not a good start to our stay. They said that the sheet had shrunk due to washing in hot water. My parents had always washed their sheets in hot water, and they'd never shrunk that much! Fortunately, the maid used proper sized sheets the next two nights.

The next problem came the evening of the second day when I spotted Metamucil grunge still on my drink glass from the night before, but the rim was clean. I said, it's true, maids just wipe the rim of the glasses with their cleaning rags. So out came our travel glasses.

Still no free breakfast and no free Wifi in the rooms. Silver Elite members should get breakfast coupons. We could get WiFi in the lobby, but the few times I tried it was SLOW. Free in room WiFi should be standard, after all every place we stayed this year had free in room WiFi except for the Renaissance properties. If Fairfield Hotels offer in room WiFi, why won't Renaissance? With such slow WiFI, I wonder if it's been wired for heavy use like the Fairfield has.

After those problems, everything went great! They gave us an extra 30 minutes for free on our late checkout. (Checkout till 1 PM was $30, and checkout till 2 would have been $50.) I had booked two rooms, and it pleased me that they put us in adjoining rooms again this year. We had a nice pull out table that we could eat breakfast on each day. Dominicks Grocery closed, but Panera bread is still a short drive away. We loved the free parking, and we found the bellhop efficient in spite of the delay. On days when big conferences are checking into the hotel, you need more bellhops. We noticed one of their carts down the hallway from us, and there it remained for a few days.

The lobby is a beautiful open area with a fountain near the registration desk. They had decorated this area with a yarn ball motif. The grounds were beautiful with all the flowering plants and fountains out front. I don't remember the waterfall coming off the building this year.

We like how we can walk from the hotel area is conveniently attached to the conference area by a long hallway. You can either approach the conference area on level 1 by the long hallway past the ballrooms, or a long hallway from the Lobby level. There are a lot of meeting rooms, some above the ballrooms, and also a bunch around the big open area where they have the market. There are two escalators that will provide easy access to both areas in the conference area.

They did a good job applying our gift cards to our room.

Room Tip: Ask for near the elevator, or you may have a very long walk. There is no way to approach the confer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Manager at Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Martha, Thank you for your use of trip advisor as it is a great tool to understand issues in our hotel from a guest viewpoint. I am glad to hear you are a returning guest with the stitches conference as we truly enjoy your group yearly. I do apologize for the incidents you experienced in your guest room on the first few days of your stay, we have adresses the issues you explained to us and we look forward to seeing you again next August. As for the free breakfast and internet the company has standards on these amenities as for when they are free. The current status is that Gold and platinum members do recieve the items complimentry with thir stay. A gold level is 50 or more nights a year with a marriott property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had to stay in the area for a family event and was not expecting much as the hotels really cater to the business traveller. It was great for a relaxing weekend and the hotel is beautifully designed, has nice restaurants and a Starbucks, and is very clean. I was happy that I chose this hotel over the few others in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraC47588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the fourth time I've stayed at this hotel for a conference. The service here is excellent, staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure guests are comfortable and have everything they need. Food at the restaurant and bar is good and they have fun cocktails and a nice wine selection. The conference center is nicely decorated and easy to navigate. Restrooms were clean but get points taken off b/c there are no door hooks in the women's restrooms stalls to hang bags and purses-annoying and inconvenient. I stayed in a corner room that was bright, clean and very comfortable. Lots of fluffy white towels and Aveda products in the bath. The only thing that keeps me from giving the hotel an excellent rating is that some furnishings in the common areas need to be replaced, particularly the furniture in the lobby lounge areas. Some chairs and sofas are worn and soiled and starting to look a little shabby. That said, the lobby lounge areas are spectacular-some are bright and art-filled, others are cozier, and there is a central fireplace with seating around it that is a fun place to sip a drink. Cabs readily available for 30 minute ride to airport, free hotel shuttle to nearby mall. Ikea is just across the interstate. Recommend this hotel and look forward to being there again for the conference next August.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_World_Is_Big
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

If they had Bravo and NFL Network on the tv lineup - it would have been a perfect trip !

From check in to check out it was seamless. I was there for the Stitches Midwest show (knitting, crochet, weaving, yarn).

The room was beautiful - king bed with tons of pillows! Great view.
Tv in the bathroom ;). Aveda products. A lovely lounge chair.

The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and professional. Rooms and hallways very clean and neat.

The only hitch was the line at the Winter Garden cafe (only one line for Starbucks and for sundries - so you waited in line for a latte or for gum.). And the food for the catered dinner friday night was ok but not great.

Computers in the lobby. The Stitches crew even had a pj party in the lobby!

Easy access to the mall. Free parking. Lots of small nooks and crannies to sit and knit!





Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank knittykitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#5 of 29 in Schaumburg
239 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Property: Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Address: 1551 Thoreau Dr N, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing