We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nice, but "high-speed" internet is super-slow.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Muncie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice, but "high-speed" internet is super-slow.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My co-workers and I at this hotel often for several years, but we are considering changing to a different hotel due to poor internet speeds that we have experienced the last few stays. I tried to run speed tests and it times out! Don't waste your time calling the internet "eHost" number on the little card in the room to complain about the internet. They will keep you on hold until you get frustrated and hang up.

Hotel rooms are clean and modern, and quieter than most hotels. The staff is nice. The breakfast is typical holiday inn express fodder, but they keep the breakfast area well-stocked and clean.

They use a little too much of a funky smelling deodorizer in the rooms, so if you are sensitive to perfume-like odors, beware of this.

Room Tip: Hotel is quiet, but don't get the room next to the 2nd floor fitness center unless you like trea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear JD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We take all concerns very serious, especially those items that are very important to our business traveler. We are actively working on improving our Wireless Service and will continue to monitor it on a daily basis. This is one item that all hotels must continue to improve on and the Holiday Inn Express-Schaumburg is committed to providing excellent Wireless Service.

Sincerely,

Jeff Fiorito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    69
    34
    17
    19
See reviews for
74
54
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

LOL. Whoever posted those pics is nuts. The hotel doesn't look anything like those pics.

This place is a cheap dump, sorry guys, no offense.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Suttonin,

I do apologize that your stay with us was less then unsatisfactory. I would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you had in more detail so I can make sure we improve the quality of our hotel. I can be reached at 847-310-0500. Again I do apologize, we appreciate all feedback both good and bad and see it as an opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Jeff Fiorito, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This hotel has been here for many years, but was rennovated a few years ago. I have stayed here a few times over the last 15 years and like what they have done to update it; they have done a nice job. The staff was friendly and it includes all the basic ammenties. There is a sports bar/restaurant next door and convenience store next door as well. They also have a shuttle to take you to nearby businesses and shopping.

Room Tip: Quiet part of town, so only worry is noise from hotel guests and elevator traffic. Mostly business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theknechts2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The staff at the hotel was by far the greatest staff I have ever experienced. They all went above and beyond to help us out. Our car broke down on the trip, and we needed information on public transportation, repair shops, etc etc. The front desk workers were more than willing to provide us with advice, phone numbers, and they kept our spirits up the entire stay! Three employees that stood out: Jacob, who drove us in the shuttle to Woodfield Mall, and Pepper and Elizabeth at the front desk. Also, the hotel is in a good location (by Medieval Times) and the free breakfast is awesome.

Room Tip: Stay in the whirlpool suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
215 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This property isn't bad, but with so many hotels in the area to choose from, I will probably choose another next time I am in the area.

The positives are spacious rooms (at least mine was), decent bed, nice common areas, ample parking, and for what appears to be an older property, it is relatively up to date.

There is also a decent sports bar style restauarant attached, and the location is quite central.

The negatives were (at least when I stayed) was a useless wifi connection. They seem to have two connections; one showed a strong signal, but after connecting displayed "limited or no connectivity". The second had a poor signal, which I was able to connect to, but I kept loosing connectivity until I finally gave it. I know it wasn't my computor as I am doing this review the night after at another hotel.

Also, and a small pet peeve, I can't stand it when the television channel listings don't match the actual channels; print some listing channel listing cards please!!

All in all, nothing really bad here, but I will be inclined to try someplace else when back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfiorito77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear ToSquareBob1,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your most recent experience at the Holiday Inn Schaumburg. I know how important Wi-Fi connection is to our business traveler and can fully understand your frustration. We did have a Wi-Fi issue and it was due to some faulty equipment. The good news is those pieces have been replaced and our Wi-Fi is working perfectly. We will of course also rectify the discrepancy of our channel listings.

I hope this incident will not prevent you from choosing our property during your future stays in the Schaumburg area. If I can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

quality of this hotel is at is name and more the personel of the hotel is very professional i recomended this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephane1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Very Clean, everyone was helpful with directions, recommendations, rides, anything I needed. The shuttle drivers were great, thanks Bernard, Jose, front desk attendees were wonderful Matthew, Elizabeth, Edna, you made my stay so easy and comfortable. Breakfast the hot cinammon rolls were great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Schaumburg / Convention Center
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Schaumburg Chicago Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
Address: 1550 North Roselle Road, Schaumburg, IL 60195
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at our award winning and newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Schaumburg Hotel. The only Holiday Inn Express in Schaumburg, our hotel is conveniently located within miles from O Hare International Airport and Downtown Chicago. Additionally, the hotel is within miles from many local attractions and businesses such as Woodfield Mall, Motorola, Sears Holdings, Medieval Times Dinner and Tournament, Allstate Arena, Sears Center, and more! Our luxuriously decorated room features triple sheeted beds, new Simmons luxury mattresses, expanded cable television with HBO movies, as well as microwaves and refrigerators discretely stored in imported granite vanities. Relax with our Simply Smart guest bathroom amenities featuring fluffy towels, our exclusive Simply Smart Showerhead by Kohler, with its unique compensating flow regulator, which delivers strong and steady water pressure every time. Experience up to 25% more elbow room thanks to the brushed chrome curved rod with our waffle-weave fabric curtain that s always fresh, never clingy. Finally, awaken to our Holiday Inn Express Smart Start Breakfast which includes healthy items such as whole fruits, cereals yogurts, biscuits and gravy, and hot items such as pancakes,omelets, sausage and bacon. Also available to you is free 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, & Snuggery Restaurant conveniently located next door and a 24-hour 7-Eleven convenience store with an ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Holiday Inn Hoffman Estates
Holiday Inn Schaumburg
Schaumburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing