We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but horrible bathroom and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Millbrae, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affordable but horrible bathroom and location”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I fell in love after my experience with Hyatt Place in Honolulu; however, this one was on the disappointing side.

Despite the nice and friendly staff, the hotel just doesn't live up to its status. It's located way out there. The breakfast is the same everyday, the bathroom is very small with a loud fan and rusty faucet/shower, the air conditioner and water pipe are also loud (very loud at night which affect sensitive sleeper), and the bed is worn; not cozy and comfy. The wifi is slow and tedious (requires entering personal info).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your positive comment about our staff. Our hotel is conveniently located across from IKEA and 2 blocks from the Woodfield Mall, which is where most guests visit in Schaumburg. The breakfast is complimentary and includes hot items such as breakfast sandwiches, as well as other continental items. The bathrooms are a standard size, as the wash basin and large marble countertop are outside of the shower/commode area, for our guests convenience. If you do return to the hotel, please bring any issues with the room to the attention of our gallery hosts. We can always have maintenance look at any items, or move you to another room. We offer Hyatt Grand beds for our guests which may be a matter of preference. Regarding the wifi, I'm not sure what information you had to enter as the wifi only requires a last name and room nuber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    169
    85
    31
    23
See reviews for
183
84
32
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I have never stayed at this chain, but would definitely stay again. The hotel was very clean and modern. The room was quite large and had anything we could possibly want in it. The breakfast was okay. It was better once we realized that they had been out of the hot breakfast sandwiches the first time we went through the line. The staff was very helpful and check in was breeze. If I get to Chicago again, I will stay here and take a train in to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the Hyatt Place brand, our hotel rooms, and staff. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our breakfast sandwiches, which are included in our complimentary breakfast. The breakfast sandwiches are very popular but our staff always does their best to keep them stocked. The train is a nice and convenient way to enjoy downtown Chicago. We hope to see you back at the hotel during your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is my 2nd time staying here great room. We love the location and the staff is very nice. Keep up the great job. Will stay again when we come back. Always do ikea and take the train downtown. We always have late check in on Friday night as we drive in and everything is always ready for us when we arrive

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us again with your family. A special thank you for the recognition of our wonderful staff, room and location! We hope to see you back soon for your next visit to IKEA and/or downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and it will not be the last. I want to give this hotel a huge thank you and great review with a recommendation for anyone I know. This is the best experience we have ever had at any hotel in any city that we have been to. We love this clean, spacious, budget friendly hotel. The hotel staff are helpful, and friendly with smiles on their faces. Trust me this does not happen often at other hotels. Great priced hotel with above average amenities. FREE continental breakfast is better and larger than most. The hotel room is huge and includes a large mini fridge and seating area. Parking is easy, safe and FREE. Location is perfect close to the Woodfield mall, Ikea, Lego discovery center, many favorite restaurants. We wish we stayed at this hotel and commuted while visiting downtown Chicago. Our trip and budget would have been much better if we did.

Room Tip: These rooms are super clean and large. A mini fridge is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachymelmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for returning to the hotel and for the wonderful review! That you took the time to post this review raving about our hotel, staff, amenities and location is much appreciated! We hope to see you back during your next visit to the Schaumburg or Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hotel lobby was very clean and inviting. Starbuck's in the lobby along with a small bar, plenty of seating. Rooms were very clean and modern with a nice seating area with a comfortable couch and refrigerator. Breakfast buffet was good, many good choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your kind response. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Schaumburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stay at Hyatt Place brand all the time for business so I knew what to expect and was not disappointed in terms of room, staff etc... BUT, there were so many people there that we ended up using the stairs to come and go (4th floor) just to avoid a very long wait at the elevator. Also, the line to get breakfast was all the way across the lobby. We ended up going to IKEA for breakfast and enjoyed an awesome experience for less than 5 bucks for 2 people. I would stay again, without a doubt, but on a weekend I will reset my expectations!

Room Tip: If they are full, eat breakfast VERY early or wait until 9:30am and head across the parking lot to I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cemarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our breakfast during the week isn't usually busy so perhaps you were in when there are a large group in house. Normally breakfast during the week is very calm and there isnt a line. I would invite you to stay with us again during your next visit to Schaumburg on business and you will find a much more pleasant breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Overall I really liked this hotel. The room was huge and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were extremely polite. I liked the refrigerator, the new-looking clean coffee pot (very well-stocked with coffee & tea), the enormous tv, and the alarm clock (much nicer than having to use a wake up call). My only complaint was that the wifi connection in my room was terrible -- didn't work at all half the time and was unbearably slow the rest of the time. I also wish the breakfast ended later (10 instead of 9 would be nice). I was only there one night. If I'd stayed longer, the wifi thing would have bothered me a lot more.

I always wear earplugs to sleep in hotels, but I think the noise would bother you if you don't. I couldn't hear anything from the room next to me, but I could hear people talking in the hallway very clearly and noise from the elevator.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator if possible. You can hear the "ding" and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your overall experience, the hotel and staff. We do not usually have complaints about the wifi and we recently had it upgraded. As an option, we have two complimentary computers with printers downstairs for our guests use that are hard wired and always have wifi available. We serve breakfast during set hours, however our staff is always willing to assist if you would like to obtain breakfast, cereal or other ready items, from the kitchen. We all know there is noise in hotels and unfortunately sometimes guests may be loud. We apologize for this. If you do decide to join us again, please feel free to call down to the front desk and asked to be moved if you feel it compromises your rest. We always want to assist our guests and make them feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
#10 of 29 in Schaumburg
356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1851 McConnor Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4369
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#17 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for business, leisure or both, Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg delivers the comfort you expect and deserve. Located just northwest of downtown Chicago, our Schaumburg hotel is a popular choice for travelers seeking luxurious accommodations from a brand they can trust. We are only 13 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing