We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Suburban Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel has an ideal suburban location.It is convenient to the airport, restaurants. It is very close to Wood field Mall and the surrounding business area. The staff was professional and courteous. The rate was a real value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Samuel K,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your last business trip, and were able to take advantage of our shuttle to the Woodfield Mall. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, it is appreciated. We hope to see you back during your next visit to Schaumburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a very nice, confortable and relaxing hotel in the Chicago suburbs. It is very close to a very nice and huge mall in the Schaumberg area. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They have suttle service to the mall and to some restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear rijos,

Thank you for your kind review! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the Schaumburg area and all it has to offer, and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked the Hyatt Place on their website for a rate of $74!! For a Friday night, in a Chicago suburb with free parking and a wonderful breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub and workout room!!
Was also within walking distance of Ikea and had a restaurant/brewery right next door! Excellent choice!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenpStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear KarenpStLouis,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its amenities. We hope to see you back at the hotel during your next visit to the Schaumburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Hyatt Place Schaumburg is in a good area, a little hard to get to but good area. There is a huge mall across the street and pending your mood you could walk to it. There are many restaurants in the area as well. IKEA is literally across the street.

For the most part the staff is friendly, the folks that have been there a while. The newer folks are more concerned about what they did over the weekend or last night. I overheard some of the front desk personnel discussing their exploits related to shots at the bar and their hangovers...talk about fine but maybe you don't want everyone to hear like your guests.

The issue I take with this property is the lack of cleanliness such as the key boards in the computer room...good heavens the crud that is in those key boards. Also this is perceived as the business center...there is no paper to write on, no pends, no stapler nothing that would lead one to believe this is the business center other than the computers which this time were both working but so slow I gave up using them.

The hallways and rooms ...scuff marks on the walls in the elevator the dirty or stained carpets...time for new carpet folks the steam cleaning is done...same for the rooms. The Rooms are getting dated, the carpets and couches stained. The HVACS please someone clean the vents! And for heavens sakes the ones like in my room that make loud clanging noises please fix. The beds need replacing they are tired and noisy. They make sound every time you get in and out. The bathrooms need a refresh with new caulking round the tubs inside and out, kind of gross. The grab bar round the fittings needs cleaning probably should be sealed with a clear calk...molding and rusty. And the vent in the bathroom was FILTHY.

To Hyatt not to the property that Hot Breakfast, not a fan. The options are few. The offerings are carb and sugar laden less than healthy smattering of breakfast foods. How about some actual steel cut oats not quick oats, how about more healthful fiber and protein packed cerial options. Get rid of the corn syrupy fructose laden jellies and hydrogenated peanut butter...both brands that you cary actually make better options. And my goodness if you run out of bananas two days in a row can't someone run out to the grocery and grab some until the supplies come in just saying. Also just a comment I was told b-fast was until 9:30 however when I came down it was already being pulled up just before 9...the guy said it shuts down at 9. Guess there is bit of a gap in when b-fast ends.

I can't wait for the renovation to start! I understand they renovated 5 years ago when they converted to the Hyatt Place and that was nice but it is a well lived in property so that 5-7 year window for refurb well it is here actually it was here the year before last...again well liked location for the most part and most of the folks working there are good people too but the condition is becoming an issue. Might have to rethink my next visit and try a different property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nero1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Nero1972,

Thank you for posting your review. As there were some areas of concern for you during your most recent visit, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to discuss them further. We do appreciate that you seem to be a regular visitor to the property for some time and our goal is to assure our guests are happy and comfortable. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have always loved Hyatt Places and have almost always enjoyed our stays there as a family..but this particular one was a bit disappointing..I hate giving any negative reviews but we stayed here for 4 nights while we were on our Chicago road trip and all 4 nights it was ok. But it wasn't the best we have stayed bc of the reception we got. We were never greeted warmly even upon check-in, they forgot to refill shampoos/soaps when we ran out, breakfast reception was odd and uncomfortable and it made the stay awkward everyday. The room was ok-nothing bad about it at all but bc of the coldness of the staff, it made the stay strange. They answered our questions tersely and when we asked for refills, they got it done but it wasn't cheerfully as w/most Hyatt hotels. The breakfast although had a fairly good selection wasn't to par and some things were cold as if left out for awhile..even that is still ok if the staff was kinder. We noticed they were friendly to the business travelers but not to families which lead us to wonder if they rather house single businessmen vs larger families. In that case, this may be our last stay at Hyatt Places and opt to stay at Embassy Suites/Homewood Suites who warmly greet kids and families esp if we wanted more space for our family. The location was ok and near a lot of eateries but wish we could give a better review. Sorry, would not reserve here again :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livelovex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

livelovex7,

My sincerest apologies you found your stay a bit disappointing. We always strive to assure our guests feel warm and welcomed regardless of if they are return business traveler, or a family staying for pleasure. Our housekeeping staff refreshes the shampoo and soap daily and I apologize that didn't happen in your case. I'm unsure as to why you felt the breakfast was odd and uncomfortable. Please feel free to reach out to me directly as we always want to assure our guests are happy and want to share their positive experiences with their friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I travel a lot for personal and work. My family loved this room. I have two older teenage boys who prefer not to sleep together so the huge sectional couch was a plus and let us really spread out. The table was perfect for homework that had to get done over the weekend along with a separate table stand and inset snack center with mini-fridge. The room divider was a good idea and placement of the t.v. for all of us to see. Our sink and shower drains were too slow, which was the only disappointment in the room. The breakfast was a neat set up but very cramped and crowded. No free hot chocolate packets here, despite free coffee---hot choc was $2.25 a packet, which was a bit disappointing. Regardless, I would stay here again. It was a refreshing room set up vs. the normal and standard floor plan of practically all other hotels. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

OnH0liday,

We are glad you and your family loved the room and found the sectional couch and television perfect for you and your two teenage boys. I'm glad you utlilized the table and room divider, along with the mini-fridge to feel at home and spread out. The breakfast is a nice perk for our guests, however, as you stated, there is a charge for the hot chocolate. Hot chocolate is a specialty product for Hyatt Place hotels and cost prohibitive to offer at no charge to our guests. We were sorry to hear that the sink and shower drains were slow.
The hotel, and staff, looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next trip to Schaumburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My family and I stayed 9/19/13-9/22/13. We had a double room w sofa bed. The room was very nice and spacious. The breakfast is an awesome feature because it's real food, fruit, yogurt and juice. Rick was exceptional. At one point he had to plunge our toilet and did so with no complaints! He was very friendly. Also a hostess( can't remember her name) but she has a long blonde ponytail was exceptionally friendly. The rest of the staff wasn't as friendly but those two stood out!! Would I stay again.. SURE!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgirl9208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Travelgirl9208,

We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed the guest room and amenities. A special thanks to you for mentioning our wonderful staff members, Rick and Patti. It is always nice when one of our guests take the time to do that. We have posted your comments on our board for the rest of the staff to view.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next trip to Schaumburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
#19 of 29 in Schaumburg
517 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg

Address: 1851 McConnor Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4369
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#17 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for business, leisure or both, Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg delivers the comfort you expect and deserve. Located just northwest of downtown Chicago, our Schaumburg hotel is a popular choice for travelers seeking luxurious accommodations from a brand they can trust. We are only 13 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing