We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

As a party of five, we traveled all the way from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania to Schaumburg, Illinois to spend the New Year with my husband's family. We were crammed into a relatively small vehicle for a ten hour trip, and needless to say were VERY crabby when we arrived late that night. This is when the magic happened.

When I went to the check-in desk, at about 10pm CST, I was greeted by the Gallery Host. She was a wonderful young lady who was very courteous, prompt, and instantly improved my mood. She asked if we had any preferences to rooms, and even if we were traveling with small children. She said they preferred to put people with children on different floors than people without for the comfort of all of the guests. As someone who is frequently woken up in hotels by the sound of small children screaming and running up and down hallways, this was a nice touch. (I have no hate for children, but I'm not a mother and don't want to be, and that's not cute to me.)

When we were checked in, which was a very quick process, and made our way to our room, I was blown away by how spacious it really was. There is a big comfy couch, a half wall divider between the couch area and the beds, two sinks in the room with lots of well-lit mirrors--if you're traveling with a group, then you can appreciate this. The room smelled very clean and fresh, the linens were soft, there were plenty of towels. The TV accepted HDMI devices, so we were able to stream from our devices without a problem. (Although, if you're going to do this, unplug the Data cable from the TV, or it might keep switching you to the purchase menu.)

The stay was not without incident. As we did stay over a holiday, there was an incident with excessive partying (And by this I mean we could hear these people at four in the morning, all the way down the hall, and could smell what they were smoking). Such a thing happening in general is outside of the control of the staff, but when I told them about it, it was dealt with very quickly. I was very pleased with how quickly our needs were met in general, no matter what time of day or night it was.

When we visit family next year, I intend to stay here again. It's in a great location, just across the street from the Woodfield Mall and near a lot of great places to eat, and next to 290, which will take you pretty much anywhere you need to go.

I've stayed at quite a few hotels out there. The Hyatt was not my first choice, but I'm glad it was my final choice. Because next year, it WILL be my first choice.

TL;DR, Highly recommended. Great staff. Good location. Comfy room.

Room Tip: In event they don't ask automatically, mention whether or not you're traveling with children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Becky M,

How nice to hear your party of five enjoyed the hotel! I'm glad you were all able to spread out and enjoy yourselves in our spacious rooms, sounds like that was just what everyone needed. My apologies for the excessive guest noise and for your understanding in this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    159
    75
    25
    14
See reviews for
161
80
30
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Hyatt Place in Schaumburg is a decent hotel, with a practical location for the local businesses, the freeway, and the surrounding bars and restaurants of which there are many.
The room was fine, possibly a little dark, but it was clean and served the purpose. The size of the room was excellent.
The check in and checkout process was painless and efficient, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was a little limited, but overall good enough to be able to 'fill a hole' until lunchtime.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brades1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Brades1966,

We are pleased you stayed with us during your most recent business trip. Our complimentary breakfast has a selection of two breakfast sandwiches as well as steel cut oatmeal and a variety of juices and breads, for our guests enjoyment. I'm glad you had the chance to stay with us and hope to see you the next time you are in Schaumburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We are very pleased we chose the Hyatt Place to stay. The room was very spacious, especially for four people! There was 2 full beds and a very large couch in the room. Had two sinks! Big plus when people are getting ready in morning. The beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. Everything was clean and in very good shape.
The only negative is the small bathroom. You can barely walk in without hitting the toilet. If you forget to lock the door when in it, and some one try's to open it, you will feel the pain!!!! (Knee & toes!). Lol

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank briand371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Brian D,

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Yes, the shower/bath and toilet area are in a smaller enclosed space. The sinks are outside that space, allowing guests more room to "get ready" for the day, therefore there is less space in that room. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

There are three levels of positives: good, great, and memorable. The Hyatt Place staff made this stay beyond memorable.

I accidentally arrived at the hotel a day early. This could have been a disaster, given that I booked the room through Hotels.com; however, Albert, the night front desk clerk, was quick to help me resolve the issue so I could check in with absolutely no headaches or problems. Albert provided a level of service I thought had become a thing of the past.

The room was unbelievable, definitely one of the largest rooms I've had the pleasure of having. A large area that combined a sitting area, desk/work station, and "kitchen" (refrigerator, sink and individual-sized coffee maker) area was as big as most hotel rooms I've stayed in (and larger than some). In addition to that, there was the bed area, separated from the rest of the room by a patrician, and the bathroom area.

In addition to the large size, the room had additional perks that I prefer in hotel rooms. First, it wasn't overcrowded with furniture. Some hotels like to occupy every square inch of wall space with furnishings. This room was suitably furnished with plenty of room to move about the room without bumping into something. Secondly, the room had sufficient blankets on the bed (and even had spare blankets in the room instead of having to call the front desk for one). Too many hotels don't provide enough blankets, but the Hyatt Place provided enough to make sleeping comfortable (obviously keeping in mind that they are located in Chicago, where it can be quite cold in December -- or in June, for that matter). Thirdly, the room's heater was fully operational. In fact, it was almost TOO hot when I first entered the room; however, given that it was quite cold outside and the problems that frozen water pipes on the upper floors could cause a hotel it was totally understandable. It didn't take long for the room to return to a comfortable level. Finally, even though my room was located next to an elevator there was no issue whatsoever with external noise. I never heard anyone in the hall waiting for the elevator.

I didn't utilize the pool (I did look in the pool area, and I'm happy to report they have a hot tub as well as the pool); however, I did visit the exercise room. The room was large and had two treadmills (the one I used was in good repair), an elliptical machine and an exercise bike in addition to weights.

Another exceptional bonus to this hotel was the breakfast. Instead of serving two types of juice (apple and orange) they had FOUR juices, including one I had never seen on a hotel breakfast buffet before: vegetable juice. That alone makes the breakfast stand out; however, there were additional items that made this one of the most enjoyable buffets I have encountered. Instead of hard-boiled eggs the buffet featured egg sandwiches, both with meat and vegetarian. There were also two different types of fruit salad (grapefruit and mixed fruit) in addition to fresh apples, oranges and bananas. This was a restaurant-quality spread.

One additional thing to point out: the weather wasn't very pleasant on this trip. While it hadn't snowed the threat was in the forecast. The Hyatt Place was prepared for this, as the parking lot and sidewalks near the front entrance had been salted in preparation for the bad weather.

Everything about this stay was first-rate in every regard; however, just the visit was worth it just for the privilege of being served by such a caring, courteous staff member as Albert. His "can-do" attitude should be held as a model for the hotel industry, and Hyatt should be grateful to have him as an employee.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Got2GoAllTheTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Karen R,

Thank you for your kind review and positive comments about Albert. We are very lucky to have wonderful staff who care about our guests and always go the extra mile to assure our guests stays are warm and comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Me and husband are regular visitors because it is clean, pleasant, and the locale. Nice amenities. Love the restaurant and wonderful service we receive by the staff, and head waiter Juan who we always encounter on our visits and consistent ,attentive, and the best service from a waiter n staff we ever receive!! My husband lost his wallet and he promptly contacted our room! Just a wonderful n comfortable getaway for us we love. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportsguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

My daughter was off school during the entire week of Thanksgiving. We live local, but couldn't get away due to family obligations. We have a few amenities that were important to us
1. Pet friendly 2. Indoor pool 3. Jacuzzi 4. Exercise facility 5. Free WiFi 6. Free breakfast. Very few hotels have ALL of those. Of the 3 in the area we found HPS had the largest rooms and best rates. Besides a few plumbing issues in our room HPS met or exceeded our expectations.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jessicasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
jessicasarah,

I'm glad you and your family were able to stay with us the week of Thanksgiving. We are pleased to hear that we offered all of the important amenities to you and your family. I apologize for the plumbing issues, hopefully our staff was able to take care of those issues for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I loved the location of this hotel. There were a few restaurants within walking distance, and the mall, theater, and IKEA were within a few minutes drive (with traffic). Our room was very clean and modern. No complaints about the bed - I slept fine. Breakfast was very good compared to some other hotels we've stayed at. Although the hotel had a pool and fitness center, we never made it there. I'd stay again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasajs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
sasajs22,

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed the hotel location, room, bed and breakfast. Hopefully you and your family will have the chance to utilize our indoor pool, spa and fitness center during your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1851 McConnor Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4369
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#17 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for business, leisure or both, Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg delivers the comfort you expect and deserve. Located just northwest of downtown Chicago, our Schaumburg hotel is a popular choice for travelers seeking luxurious accommodations from a brand they can trust. We are only 13 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing