We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay in a handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good stay in a handy location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed for 4 nights, and found it a very good stay. the hotel is very handily placed just off golf road, so easy to get around, and just across from woodfield mall. there is plenty of car parking and the rooms are a decent size, with a good size and comfortable lounge area to sit and relax in. my partner also liked the fact that the sink and mirrors were outside the bathroom, so she could do her hair etc, while I could take a shower.it has a coffee maker and fridge which came in handy as well. it does offer a free breakfast, but we never had this so could not comment on the quality.
overall a very handy place to stay at a good price, and if we were in the area, we would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear neil h,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you and your partner enjoyed the hotel and the many activities to be enjoyed in the area. We hope to see you back during your next visit to Schaumburg. we stayed for 4 nights, and found it a very good stay. the hotel is very handily placed just off
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    160
    77
    24
    16
See reviews for
163
80
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed over a weekend in a two doubles room. I was impressed with the square footage of the room. Very spacious and nice layout. The room was mostly clean; I did find a couple stray hairs from a previous occupant in the bathroom area, but besides that, everything else was fine. No problems with noise, but I noticed the lock on my room's door was a little sticky too- not a big issue, but hard to open quietly. Service was fine. The breakfast was pretty good as well, with a few items beyond the usual continental spread and hot food that seemed to be replenished at regular intervals. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koyangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear Koyangi,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our large rooms. We hope to see you back during your next visit to Schaumburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family stayed at the Hyatt Place Schaumburg for our summer vacation to Chicago. Situated about 20 minutes northwest of the city of Chicago in the suburb of Schaumburg, it is a very nice location. The staff at this location were extremely friendly and helpful. We had never been to Chicago before and although we had done some research on things to do there, the staff were always willing to provide reviews of the many things to do in and around the area. When we checked in, the staff provided us with a short tour of the main floor of the hotel to get us better acquainted with their many amenities. Even though we checked in a bit later in the day, all the common areas that we saw were immaculately clean. The common areas included the lobby with a generous sitting area, breakfast area that turned into a small bar/lounge in the afternoon and evening, the pool area and the business area with 2 computers and a printer.. After the tour we went to our room. We booked a king suite and were not disappointed. The room was very clean and bright, with a king sized pull out sofa bed and a mini kitchen area with a fridge, sink and table in one section and another area with a king sized bed and bathroom. The 2 sections are somewhat divided with a wall between them. The hotel itself is located conveniently off the freeway and in a very nice, well maintained location, close to a large mall and a few nice restaurants. Try the Ram restaurant right next to the hotel if you want some great burgers and craft beers. The location also provided easy access to the airport (if needed) and the CTA trains to downtown Chicago. There are a couple of park and ride stations relatively close to the hotel in Cumberland and it's only $5 to park your car there for 12 hours if you don't like paying $50 to park your vehicle downtown and riding the "L" was a tourist thing for us anyways. The free breakfast is AMAZING! It has to be the best free breakfast we have ever had at a hotel. Fresh fruits and juices, waffles, bacon, sausages, bagels, bread and even McMuffin style breakfast sandwiches. During the weekdays the breakfast area was not crowded but the weekends can get a bit more crowded as there are obviously more people staying there. In both instances, there were still places to sit and eat breakfast. In the afternoon, the breakfast area turned into a lounge where you could order pub type foods and have adult beverages. Be aware that these are NOT free and, as all places we have stayed at, are a bit of an inflated cost. Still it was nice to have it available if needed. The pool area was very clean, had lots of towels and when we were there, was never crowded. The pool area also has a large hot tub and both the pool and hot tub have handicap lifts to get in and out should you need it. The rooms themselves were very clean and modern and QUIET. There were a few conferences and events going on at this location and never once did we hear anyone in the halls or adjoining rooms. Great mix of business people as well as families with children staying when we were there. Probably one of the best value for the money hotels we have stayed at in the United States. If I had to say anything bad about the hotel it would be the size of the bathroom. The tub/shower and toilet were in one area with the sink and vanity just outside but the tub area was a bit crowded and I had to almost step into the tub to shut the door. Not a big deal to me and it is only a nitpicky thing in the grand scheme of things. I did mention this to the manager when we checked out and he informed us that they have had similar comments in past and that they are planning a minor renovation in the next 12 months to try and address this and a couple other minor concerns. I just hope they don't raise their rates substantially to compensate. I would definitely recommend this hotel if travelling to Chicago and the surrounding suburbs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasj1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear dallasj1972,

Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and staff, it is definately appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back this summer for your family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was my first time staying at a Hyatt Place. It was very clean and updated. The entrance was very inviting and they usually had cookie samples. The free breakfast was the best I have ever had, more than cereal and bagels there was fresh fruit, waffles, etc. The pool was clean and the hours were long (6am-10p). The actual room was very large with two areas. The sectional could sleep two and the beds were ok. The topper for me was they loaned me a cell phone charger for the night, as mines broke on the way there. It was located by the Woodfield mall so many restaurants options.

Room Tip: Near Legoland Discovery Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear Brandi T,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at the hotel, rooms and breakfast. I'm glad we could assist with the phone charger. We hope this to see you back during your next visit to the Schaumburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay! Clean room, comfortable room & beds. We swam at 7am & had pool to ourselves but had only 1 towel to share . All other towels were dirty from night before. Adequate supply of towels, shampoo, &soaps etc in our room. Breakfast was great ! Wifi! Only thing is, there are two Hyatts at least on that same block. Kinda confusing, haha ! We will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Dear KarenB,

Thank you for your kind review about the room, beds, wifi and breakfast. Our staff usually refresh the pool area when they arrive first thing in the morning so they must have been pulled to do something else that day. We hope to see you back at our Hyatt Hotel during your next stay to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Jul 4 weekend. The location is great - easily accessible from the freeway, and close to lots of restaurants which are withing a mile or two of the hotel.

There is a Costco close by which was useful for us to fill gas in our rental and most importantly we were able to pickup the Citypass(es) for sightseeing in Chicago. (the one with 4 attractions does not seem to be available anywhere else

The hotel itself looks very modern/elegant once you enter the lobby and the checkin process was smooth. Breakfast was great though it did get crowded since it was the long weekend. They opened up a conference room in the back for the overflow.

The rooms itself were nice but as other reviewers have noted show their age. Compared to the lobby they feel old. The bathroom was clean and adequate but you could tell that it had not been updated. For some reasons the windows on our second floor room were very dirty (from the outside) so not sure what the issue was there.

Overall I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Dear baaz747,

Thank you for your kind review. We have implemented a housekeeping and engineering program which address your room concerns. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I needed a place to stay for one night while we transitioned to our new home and I got this for a great deal on Hotwire. I know the area and this hotel is very well located near restaurants and Ikea. The breakfast is one of the best I've had for the "free" hotel breakfast. The room? It was superficially nice. I like that it has two areas--one for sleeping and one for working/watching tv. My only problem with the place was that is was falling apart in places--like it was superficially updated. The veneer was coming off the door, the toilet ran until I jiggled the handle. Even the pool seemed to be blah with concrete floors. But hey, it was clean and a good deal so yes, I would stay there again for the right price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Kimberly G,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your new home. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hot continental breakfast, location and that the rooms were clean. The room condition is something it sounds like could have improved upon. This is always a focus for our hotel so our hotel guests feel welcome and valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1851 McConnor Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4369
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#17 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for business, leisure or both, Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg delivers the comfort you expect and deserve. Located just northwest of downtown Chicago, our Schaumburg hotel is a popular choice for travelers seeking luxurious accommodations from a brand they can trust. We are only 13 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing