We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakes Naval graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights after my nephew's graduation from Great Lakes Naval Base. My sister is very picky about hotel accommodations. I selected this location based on overall value & location. Upon our arrival we were presented with gift bags full of goodies. Additionally, we spun the Wheel of Fortune and won 10,000 points! Furnishing made us feel like we were home. Once my sister sat in the recliner I wasn't able to get her up. We were happy to find a DVD/VHS combo in the room to watch movies. Bedding was so comfortable that we past on shopping and relaxed in our room. An added plus was a little store for snacks on-site. Great place for a stay-caction. Front desk staff recommended a great restaurant, "The Great Escape" and the hotel provided shuttle service to the restaurant. Don't miss this great restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floors provides a nice view of airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everybody's Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Everybody's Mother,

Thank you for your review. We love hearing from our guests! I am happy to hear that you were able to make it out to The Great Escape restaurant. It is one of our favorites! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you!


Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

My self and my wife stayed at Candlewood over Labor Day weekend for a little Chicago get away. First impression was sort of negative just based on the neighborhood that you have to drive through to get there. However it really was not an issue just proving looks can be deceiving. While its rough we never had an issue and even walked to a few different places. As far as the hotel goes the outside seemed clean and there is ample parking. The lobby is rather small but clean and the staff is very polite and professional. The hotel was recently renovated and the room was very nice and clean. We stayed in a studio which had a queen bed,a leather chair and flat screen television. The cabinets and desk area where all black and gave the room a more modern feel. Bathroom had tile floor and black cabinets a sunken sink and a nice shower head with plenty of hot water. The room like I said was clean only complaint would be the bed, it had the typical roll to the middle that is common. After all the renovations I think they should have replaced the mattress also. They have a free shuttle that takes you to and from O'Hare airport 24/7 on a moments notice. The service was great we used it all weekend to take the trains into downtown. It's about an hour and fifteen minutes by train to get by the Magnificent Mile/ Loop area. The shuttle drivers where always very polite and professional also, they have some serious driving skills. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel the staff is professional and polite, the room was nice and clean and fit our needs perfectly

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Brian A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We love hearing from our guests. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our 24 hour shuttle service to and from O'Hare and the Blue Line. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Do NOT go here for a one night stay, unless you want to be overcharged and told it is non-refundable. Their customer service was HORRIBLE, they acted as if the whole thing was my fault. The actual stay was fine, but trying to get my money back was a NIGHTMARE.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Alex W,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and share your comments with other guests. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. However, I am familiar with your particular situation and if you booked your reservation through a third party sight (Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com etc), we are not able to give you a refund. You have to go through the third party sight to try and get your money back. Reservations made through those types of websites can not be changed or altered in any way by the hotel. Therefore, if the third party sight books you for the wrong dates or for too many nights for example, it is the third party website's error and not ours at the hotel. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is my first time staying with Candlewood Suites and I am glad to say that it is with Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare. After spending close to 24 hours of air travel, it is a nice place to check into.

The rooms: They are big (if you compared to the rooms that I am used to in Asia) and mostly importantly, they are clean and well maintained. It comes with a kitchenette with stove, microwave, dishwasher and a fridge. There are cutlery and utensils as well. There is also a coffee machine for those who need their cuppa every morning. The downside? The pillows can be too soft for some and does not provide good support for the head. The aircon/heater takes some getting used to with the noise as well as the setting (especially for people who are used to Celsius). There is no daily housekeeping for the rooms and that was fine with us as we were there only for 3 nights. However, if you need a change of towels and stuff, you could get it down at the reception.

The bathroom: It is nice and clean with a tub and shower. There are usually at least 3 sets of towels in there even though there are only 2 guests for the room. The downside? Candlewood only provide the basic amenities which will be 2 bar of soap as well as one tiny bottle of shampoo. I am not so sure that they will be able to provide toothbrushes or shavers if requested as we usually packed our own. Hence this is no issue for us but for some travelers, this might be something you want to note.

Location: It is located near to the O'hare airport and the free shuttle service is a definite plus. However, if this is your first time to O'hare you will need some time to navigate the place. Basically, the shuttle service is located at a separate building which is the Shuttle Center and you will need to be at Door One to wait for it. We were lucky as when we arrived there, there is already a shuttle van loading up passengers. If you are there and the van isn't, you can either called the hotel and they will send a shuttle for you or simply wait which we did for a couple of time and we did not wait too long before a shuttle gets in. Downside? Being near the airport means that it is outside the city and if you don't drive and you do not like commuting into the city on their subway system, this will not be the place for you. We will find with commuting into the city everyday and the train tickets are not too expensive ($2.25 flat fee regardless of the distance traveled). Although some planning is required so that you won't waste too much time travelling up and down the various tracks.

Overall, we have a good time at Candlewood. It is a good place to stay to get over our jet lag and to see parts of Chicago before picking up a car (right across is Ace Car Rental) and driving down to Indianapolis.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Julianatay,

Thank you for your review! I'm sure many travelers will find it very useful, you provided great detail.I am happy to hear that you finally got to experience all that the Candlewood Brand has to offer. For future stays, keep in mind that we do offer both feather or foam pillos, so if you do not like one of the two you can call the desk and request the other kind. We also provide toothbrushes and other toiletry items in our Candlewood Cupboard for only $1.00 each! To make your city navigating easier, we also have transportation maps available at the desk. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our suite was perfect because my husband and I were traveling with our 13 year old grandson. There was room for all of us to eat pizza and play cards on the table/desk. We were all comfortable while watching TV, and there was enough privacy when it was time to retire with him on the pull out sofa and we in the bedroom. The redecorating is lovely. Everything was so clean and comfy and the staff was friendly and helpful, as usual. We appreciate the efficient shuttle to and from O'Hare. Thank you all for a job well done. We'll see you next time.

Room Tip: If you need a pull out sofa, be sure to ask for a handicapped suite. It is my understanding that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomcc2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear jomcc2535,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our one bedroom suite (and with your grandson!). For your next stay with us, please note that all one bedroom suites have the pull out sofa bed with a separate bedroom. The only difference between the regular one bedroom suite and the handicapped one bedroom is the sink height and the bathroom location. For handicapped suites, the bathroom must be accessed through the bedroom. For regular one bedroom suites, the bathroom is accessible through the living area only. But all one bedroom suites have the bedroom separate from the living area. Again, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel was great to stay at because the beds were comfortable, all rooms had a kitchen, there was a snack area where you could buy food, and the staff was friendly. The only downside is that (obviously) it is far from downtown. The Metra stop near the hotel is not the friendliest so we chose to take the free bus to the airport and take the subway. It is a long trip, but the hotel will also pick you up at the airport if you call them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Sara C.,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Candlewood Suites O'Hare. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Candlewood Cupboard and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to and from O'Hare. Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you and we hope to see you back in the future.

Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I absolutely loved our stay here! The rooms are all redone and looking great!

The first night we stayed on the first floor, Room 109 I believe it was. The sprinkler system for the hotel is behind this room. I was not enthused to hear it as I was going to bed. We called the front desk and they were completely booked so we couldn't do anything about it except keep the AC on all night to cover the sound up. The next day we moved to another room. Huge inconvenience but the fact I still loved our stay there says a lot!

If you plan on doing a lot in downtown Chicago, this location is not really convenient but otherwise I loved the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear CKC001,

Thank you for your review and we greatly value your opinion. I will address the issue with room 109 with our maintenance staff and work to fix this problem. Thank you for letting us know. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you agan in the future.

Best,

Jennifer
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiller Park
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Comfort Suites O'Hare
#3 of 9 in Schiller Park
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Regal Inn Chicago-O'hare Airport Franklin Park
3.3 mi away
Edward Hotel Chicago
Edward Hotel Chicago
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
598 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare

Address: 4021 Mannheim Rd, Schiller Park, IL 60176-1839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schiller Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection at the Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare, an extended stay hotel, offering apartment-like studio and one-bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, puts the amenities where they really count: in your room. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk using our High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy CD's and movies from our free library. Unwind in our fitness center, while using our free guest laundry, or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located only 2 miles from O'Hare Airport we offer free shuttle transportation. We are conveniently located off I-294, only 12 miles from downtown Chicago. Visit Wrigley Field or Soldier Field. McCormick Place and Navy Pier are only a short drive away. If you have a chance to enjoy some free time make sure to visit the Allstate Arena or Rosemont Theatre. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are only minutes away. We value your privacy, therefore, we provide weekly housekeeping. Whether you are staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare is ready to serve you! Consider us home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago o`Hare Hotel Schiller Park
Candlewood Suites Schiller Park
Candlewood Schiller Park
Schiller Park Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing