We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel near to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Oklahoma City, OK USA
Level Contributor
458 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel near to Airport”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night before catching an early morning flight. Check-In was easy. The room was clean and neat. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff was pleasant and the courtesy van to the airport was prompt.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    146
    42
    15
    22
See reviews for
57
101
56
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Pretty no-frills as it's an extended-stay type of hotel but 90% of your hotel experience is in the room and this one was just fine. Bed and pillows were comfortable, tub/shower worked fine, good pressure and whatnot. One night I was there (like a Wednesday or something) someone a few rooms away was having a super noisy party of some sort. I called the front desk around 2 AM, the staff came up and asked them to keep it down, and moments later the police were there - silence after that! There's nothing to speak of for a lobby area for hanging out or whatever, and they do have the little snack store if you're desperate for something to eat (but have to toast or whatever in your room). Wireless was an acceptable speed (3-5 mbps) which is important to me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djboge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear djboge,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay in Chicago. Your honest recap is much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your independence in our suites! We hope you also took advantage of our free laundry and gazebo for hanging out and grilling during these gorgeous Chicago summer nights. We hope you think of us when you're back in Chicago and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here because we needed a place to park our car close to Ohare for our vacation that offered free parking and shuttle service to and from the airport. We found the hotel simple to find and very close to O'hare Airport. The room was clean and spacious. We certainly didn't need a stove and microwave but guess if you are looking for an extended stay then this might work for you. The shuttle to the airport went well as they basically use the ParknJet next door for their shuttle service. You can not make reservations for the shuttle but instead must show up a 1/2 hour prior to when you really need to go and request a shuttle. Our shuttle showed up about 10 minutes later and got us to the airport in plenty of time. On our return we simply called the Hotel and they made arrangements for the same shuttle to come pick us up. We actually called at the luggage return and by the time we got to door 1 by the bus/shuttles they were already waiting for us. My only concern is that the parking was rather sketchy. I would not leave a nice car there and certainly not leave a car with anything important in it as the hotel clearly stated they did not have any form of security or cameras. They also made us sign a sheet of paper stating that even though it was their parking lot that they were not responsible for damages. We were concerned because others on here warned of cars being broken into or spare tires mounted on the outside of cars being stolen. We basically parked as close to the hotel entrance as possible and crossed our fingers. We had no problems and will probably stay at the same hotel next time we fly out of O'hare for an extended period of time.

Room Tip: If your going to leave your car here for a trip be sure to park as close as possible to the front en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Marty,
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel and parking package! We are thrilled this convenience helped make your trip better leaving and returning to Chicago. Like most hotels, parking is at your own risk, but we do have a 24-hour staff that monitors the parking lot. In addition, our local police office patrols our area very closely per our request and relationship with them. I hope you and future travelers have peace of mind when parking with us during your trips and we thank you again for sharing your feedback! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived early and the staff made it possible for us to check-in early to our room which was clean and very comfortable. The full kitchen and two televisions were perfect while traveling with two teenagers. Our flight out of Chicago was very early but the shuttle was there at 3:30 am for a quick trip to the airport. I recommend Candlewood for convenience to the airport, cleanliness, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, Front Desk Agent at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Darla,
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again!!!....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
347 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at this location last week visiting my son in Chicago. We used Holiday Inn points to offset the cost of the room. One thing I will say off the top is the rooms were very quiet from outside or hallway noise which I really appreciate. Room had a nice kitchen area with a frig, & stove. Location was next to the airport and if you take the shuttle over to the airport you can catch the train down to where you can take the subway in to the city of Chicago. There are some good food places within 3-4 miles after turning left or right out of the parking lot. Hotel is a bit hard to see due to no lighted sign, but once found it is not hard to find again.
One minor complaint - the facuet in the kitchen did not have the water turned on and we asked to have it looked at, but I guess they forgot because it was never looked at. Noted to them at checkout & they said sorry. Not a big deal to us as we only stayed three days. Front desk people were very nice.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for the room on the backside of the hotel as maybe a bit quieter although we were on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newadventure53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, front desk agent at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks so much for your feed back! And I'm delighted to hear that most of your stay was a great experience. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the kitchen faucet and we should have sent our maintenance guy to fix it right away. I will forward this over to our front office manager. We hope that you will book at our hotel again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
330 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived from Frankfurt in a Storm - the Mini Bus was waiting at the Airport - took ten minutes to get to the Hotel where the check in was efficient and the room large and had all the items you would want - less any food - that can be found in a small shop at reception - The beds were comfortable , the bathroom large and functional , and for the price about Euro 70 per night it was a good choice - you can take the blue line in from the Airport into down town in 30 mins for Euro 7.50 return - why pay four times that downtown ? - I would use this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPCAT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Topcat, thanks so much for your review! All the way from Frankfurt on a long flight - we're so happy we were able to give you a comfortable night's sleep at a great value. Look forward to your next trip to Chicago! Very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights in June for a business trip. Normally I would have chosen a hotel downtown, however everything in the city was sold out. Yes, this is a budget hotel -- but for something convenient to the airport, the value really can't be beat (before taxes and fees, I paid US $126 per night, Queen room). Normally, for a hotel in this price range I would have expected very, very little, so in many ways I was rather impressed with the Candlewood.

Shuttle: We only took it from the airport, and lucked out because it was already at the curb. To get into town we rode the subway from the airport and just cabbed it to O'Hare to save time.

Room: The pictures are pretty true to life. Relatively clean, spacious, large flat-screen, mini kitchen (with free microwave popcorn), coffee maker. Bed was comfy though the pillows were soft and flat. The complimentary wifi was decent. Having said that, everything is pretty bare bones -- no toiletries apart from a bar of soap and a bottle of shampoo. Room is attended to only once a week; since I stayed only two nights, this wasn't a problem. My room faced the highway but I had no sound issues. The only main complaints -- room had one of those budget under-window ventilation systems so the A/C was pretty noisy. The phone was working -- but all of the marked buttons to call front desk, etc. were out of service (my co-worker's phone was simply dead). Also, there was this strange fruity smell in the room -- I'm sure from some kind of deodorizer or cleaning solution.

Hotel: Easy check-in. Staff was helpful. Recommended a restaurant not too far away that had free shuttle service (very quick and convenient). There were free laundry facilities and a couple of BBQs in an outdoor gazebo that looked really clean.

Overall, for a no frills, good value stay near O'Hare I would recommend the Candlewood. A lot of other hotels close to the airport are much more expensive, so if you're not too fussy about accommodations and are simply looking for a place to rest your head, this hotel will do the job. Would I stay here again? Probably not as business tends to take me into the city, and even if I were looking for a place near O'Hare on personal travel I would likely pay more for something a bit less 'budget'. However, I have no regrets with my stay as I was trying to be a responsible employee and offset the cost of a very expensive, last-minute plane ticket!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIMROpsMgr, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Moops,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. Many future guests will find your review helpful! We're delighted to hear you found Candlewood Suites Chicago both reasonably-priced and worth the value you received. IHG created our brand to be the quintessential home away from home for responsible and independent travelers such as yourself! We hope we get the opportunity to host you again in the future. Safe travels! - Jessica Galle, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiller Park
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Comfort Suites O'Hare
#3 of 9 in Schiller Park
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
3.2 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
420 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare

Property: Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
Address: 4021 Mannheim Rd, Schiller Park, IL 60176-1839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schiller Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection at the Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare, an extended stay hotel, offering apartment-like studio and one-bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, puts the amenities where they really count: in your room. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk using our High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy CD's and movies from our free library. Unwind in our fitness center, while using our free guest laundry, or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located only 2 miles from O'Hare Airport we offer free shuttle transportation. We are conveniently located off I-294, only 12 miles from downtown Chicago. Visit Wrigley Field or Soldier Field. McCormick Place and Navy Pier are only a short drive away. If you have a chance to enjoy some free time make sure to visit the Allstate Arena or Rosemont Theatre. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are only minutes away. We value your privacy, therefore, we provide weekly housekeeping. Whether you are staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare is ready to serve you! Consider us home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago o`Hare Hotel Schiller Park
Candlewood Suites Schiller Park
Candlewood Schiller Park
Schiller Park Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing