We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chestnut Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LaSalle, Illinois
1 review
“Comfort with personality”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Jeff and Monika know how to make you feel right at home at their Inn and they have wonderful stories they will share with the guests. I recommend staying for dinner, the food is excellent. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. You will not be disappointed with your stay and will want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We found this inn about four years ago when we were looking for a stop on our trip from southeastern Michigan to Omaha. This was the perfect midway and quite a surprise to find such a comfortable, relaxing place in such a small town. The innkeepers are very friendly and always accommodating .
Sue Lancaster

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakeandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I don't know about you but I'm tired of hearing about what people "owe to themselves." So now I eat crow. Here goes. You owe yourself a visit to The Chestnut Street Inn. Located in the quiet Illinois town of Sheffield, The Chestnut Street Inn is a well maintained historic house with inviting lawns and gardens. The house is tastefully decorated without being over-the-top silly. Rooms are wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean. The innkeepers are sincerely welcoming and engage you in conversation without being overbearing. Food service is the best I have ever experienced in a B & B. You also owe yourself dinner at the Chestnut Street Inn. I have visited the Chestnut many times and it never loses a bit of its charm and warmth.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regina065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

My husband and I spent two nights in the Rosewood Suite. We had a marvelous time during our stay. Monika and Jeff were very friendly and accomodating. The meals were absolutely delicious!! We had dinner both nights in our own private dining room in the Rosewood Suite. It was so romantic. Sheffield is a neat little town. The Chestnut Street Inn is just one of the many hidden gems of this area.

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything!!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PrincessLea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Very very clean, priced well, good food and company. Nice place to have some down time from busy days.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing - all fine.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrc3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We just got back from a wonderful long weekend at the Chestnut Street Inn. Monica and Jeff went above and beyond in every aspect to make our stay a wonderful one.
We just needed a quick getaway and this town is it! Not a ton to do in Sheffield but there's plenty to do in Princeton which is about 15 minutes away. There are a lot of cute shops and wonderful antique places worth checking out.
About the Inn:
It's located on a quiet residential street all tree lined and very peaceful. Right from the beginning, Jeff and Monica make you feel right at home. Since we were first to check in, we got to see all of the rooms... They are all beautiful but do yourself a favor and go the extra mile, book the Rosewood suite. This room has a giant, fluffy king size bed, spacious bathroom and PRIVATE dining suite. You can get all of your yummy meals brought up so you can eat in your pj's!
Bring your appetite! This is by far the BEST cooking you are going to find in the whole area code! We should have stayed fro dinner both nights instead of venturing into town.. Monica's meals are so delicious and filling (HUGE portions) that you will be sad to leave knowing your next breakfast will not be half as grand..
They really did a wonderful job, please do not hesitate to visit. It's worth every penny.
Cheers!
The Nanos'

  • Liked — the food!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Kewanee
9.4 mi away
Best Western Annawan Inn
14.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Princeton
Econo Lodge Princeton
#3 of 4 in Princeton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Princeton
Super 8 Princeton
#2 of 4 in Princeton
101 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Geneseo Inn
14.1 mi away
Days Inn Princeton
Days Inn Princeton
#4 of 4 in Princeton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Property: Chestnut Street Inn
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, PO Box 25, Sheffield, IL 61361-9167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate foodies bed and breakfast. Specializing in Mediterranean cuisine that features locally available meats, eggs, produce and more. 4 Comfortable guest suites with private baths, WI-FI, Dish Network, DVD/VCR, signature toiletries, full hot breakfast. LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chestnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing