We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, Friends & Frivolity at Chestnut Street Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chestnut Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ozark, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food, Friends & Frivolity at Chestnut Street Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We were looking for a place to shake off the winter blues, and meet up with close friends coming from all points in Illinois. We found just the right place in Sheffield’s Chestnut Street Inn. All of us are business owners, so we were very tired from our respective commitments. The minute we entered the door, our burdens started to lighten. Refreshments were offered at once, and we relaxed in the comfortable ambience of this restored mansion decorated with mementos from two show business careers and many international travels. An eclectic variety of music was played, and the conversation never lagged, nor was there talk of the ordinary or mundane. We were reminded of the old salons in the best houses of Europe, where artists, philosophers, politicos, and aristos gathered in the last century. The haute cuisine of Monika Sudakov is beyond description, and the gourmet breakfasts and dinners pleased even the most jaded and experienced palates. One breakfast was a soufflé stuffed with hearts of palm and topped with crispy highest quality bacon strips and avocado with pineapple and kiwi garnish. A full prime rib dinner the first night featured a butternut squash soup with creme fraiche, and the second night a variation on traditional matzo ball soup. The salads were exquisite and full of complex ingredients combined to produce taste explosions in the mouth. Monika is the undisputed creme brulee queen, too! The portions for meals are large, even by Midwest standards, and it is difficult not to stop eating. Entertainments were arranged the second day of our visit, with salon treatments all afternoon for the ladies and a guided tour of a magnificent mansion for the men. This was our second visit to Chestnut Street Inn, and between the high tone conversation, culinary finesse, and beautiful and comfortable bedroom suites, we reluctantly left feeling joyful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawneeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Monika is the talented innkeeper and chef. Her meals are wonderful. The service os superb and the Inn is spotless.
We have traveled to 70-some countries and generally stay in inns and boutique hotels.
Monika's warm personality, her willingness to serve gluten-free meals and the proximity to the Hennepin Canal Path make this a welcome find. We've stayed her many times over the past decade and highly recommend the Chestnut Inn to friends.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, ILlinois, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I cannot say too much about Chestnut Inn. It is comfortable, relaxing, welcoming and has wonderful food. The optional dinner was great, and Monika cheerfully accommodated my dietary restrictions. I would love to visit often.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjhopedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This is our fourth stay at this lovely inn and perhaps our finest. All the food is so
exceptional we didn't want to leave. Monika is such a gifted and talented chef. Jeff is a perfect host working along side Monika. The rooms have delightful beds and pillows as well as charm.
Don't come to the area and not stay or eat here. You can't find anything this nice within 200 miles.
We have stayed at many, many, b&b's all over. This is a diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

The Chestnut Street Inn delivers a five star experience. The friendliness and hospitality of the innkeepers is outstanding, the accommodations relaxing and beatifully decorated, and about the food.... I have stayed in more than 100 B&Bs, and Monika Sudakov's food is the most delicious and amazing I have ever had. Jeff Sudakov's knowledge of wine and their wine cellar was also most appreciated! What a surprise and delight to find such a place in Northern rural Illinois. We will be back frequently!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawneeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I ducked out of town for a little R&R. We chose Sheffield in central Illinois because of it's proximity to biking, local wineries, organic farms and drive-in movies - I'd never been! The Chestnut Street Inn offers all the amenities of the best B&Bs with the added bonus of gourmet breakfast daily and fine dining at night. Owners Jeff and Monika went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and put us at ease in their charming home. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed - plush robes, in-room dvd/vcr and more. The town of Sheffield welcomed us too - everyone at the local restaurants and bars greeted us warmly. The Hennepin Canal offers miles of rough-paved bike trails ideal for a mountain bike, but we'd skip the Indian Creek Winery next time - they don't even make their own wine. Finally, the drive-in movie in nearby Galva has two screens with a double-feature on each for just $7. Bring your own champagne and watch for shooting stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Jeff and Monika know how to make you feel right at home at their Inn and they have wonderful stories they will share with the guests. I recommend staying for dinner, the food is excellent. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. You will not be disappointed with your stay and will want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Kewanee
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annawan Inn
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Princeton
Super 8 Princeton
#4 of 4 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Days Inn Princeton
Days Inn Princeton
#3 of 4 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
14.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Princeton
Econo Lodge Princeton
#2 of 4 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Property: Chestnut Street Inn
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, PO Box 25, Sheffield, IL 61361-9167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate foodies bed and breakfast. Specializing in Mediterranean cuisine that features locally available meats, eggs, produce and more. 4 Comfortable guest suites with private baths, WI-FI, Dish Network, DVD/VCR, signature toiletries, full hot breakfast. LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chestnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing