We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Inn(Ottawa)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surrey Motel(Ottawa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
67
85
78
36
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
85
78
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingnice resortstarved rock state parkbedroom condoindoor waterparkactivities centertimeshare presentationactivity roomtowel exchangenice unitfox river resortpaddle boatsping pongwasher dryermain buildingspent a weekfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The grounds and par 3 golf course were very well maintained. The golf course is the reason we stayed at this resort. Even though it is a par 3, the holes can be challenging. The studio did not have even tableware or silverware in the unit. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank cbloedel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're in the new units it's great, the old units where we were not so good. Tony and his maintenance department are great and quick to get things fixed. Cell phones unless you have Verizon and pretty useless. AT&T was spotty at best and usually did not function. The furniture in the old units in updating and replacing. Beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to ensure that our guests are comfortable and receive outstanding service. Your kind words about Tony and his team are much appreciated and will be shared.

There are lots of exciting things planned for Fox River over the next few years, and we hope you'll give us your consideration for a future getaway trip, where we can show you how wonderful a vacation with us can be! Thanks for your comments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The 2 Bedroom they assigned us has old scratched up antique furniture. Bathroom is no where close to anything shown. In fact this whole unit is no where close to any photos shown on RCI or even on the Holiday Vacation Club web sight. Very disappointed in this unit.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank biggerbird061247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear that your unit at Fox River Resort wasn't what you expected. It's always our goal to deliver an outstanding vacation experience.

There are lots of exciting things in store for Fox River over the next few years, and we hope you'll give us your consideration for a future getaway trip, where we can show you how wonderful a vacation with us can be! Thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

room we stayed in first was very poor due to cleanliness and furniture and problems with wif and circuit breakers and no dressers in either room. We called and complained and they moved us to the Presidents room 2 bedroom and was VERY VERY nice compared to the old 2 bedroom we had for the first 3 days the next 4 days were very good and would go again but only stay in the Presidents 2 bedroom suite

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank allensounhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear of the rough start to your stay at Fox River Resort. It's always our mission to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive outstanding service.

There are lots of exciting things planned for Fox River over the next few years, and we hope you'll come and see us again soon! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Fox River Resort is a great place to stay for a certain type of person. Lots of night life at bars close by...no. Lots of amazing attractions close by...no. Luxurious accommodations... not really.

But this place is pretty nice. Let me explain.

The first thing you see when you drive up is the beauty of the well-maintained property. They really go out of their way to make the place pretty. The registration team at the check in desk was super friendly and check-in was fast. This was a time-share trade for us so we made it clear at check-in that we did not want a time-share sales presentation. They were not too pushy and they did not bother us any more [tip, just don't answer the room phone].

The two bedroom condo was very clean and big enough for four people. No elevator for the third floor but we were all able to navigate the stairs. Beds were large and very comfy. Televisions were in good shape [three]. We had a problem with remotes and staff was right on it to get that fixed.

Attractions at the location that were outstanding: the pool. It was large and well-maintained. It is a must do. They have a water park but since my wife and I are in our sixties and our son and his wife were in their thirties, we bypassed that. The water park looked nice from the outside. The nine hole "executive" golf course was in great shape. I am a golfer and have played on some fine courses. I rented my clubs from the activity center and believe it or not, they let all four of us play out of the same bag. When we were there however, they resort did not have high occupancy. The folks at the activity center were super friendly. We played basketball, arcade games and corn hole. They were super nice.

Restaurants were about 11 miles away in Ottawa and grocery stores. We went to Starved Rock State Park three times, a big surprise after all the flat driving in Illinois. This place is really worth a visit...good bar, nice restaurant, and excellent hiking. The highlight was the Illinois Canyon on our last day. It is impressive but when we were there lavender flowers had come out all over the place...beautiful.

There is a little store up the road from the resort that you need to visit. The Norway Store is unique, a lot more than a fast stop store.

Be warned this resort is about 100 miles from Chicago but it is in the middle of farm country and small towns. We could have traveled to some of those but we spent most of our time in Ottawa. Serena Cafe in little Serena was a hoot, a quaint little cafe with coffee cups all over the wall [for the regulars].

About the only serious negative about Fox River is the lack of a fitness center. Lots of people really expect that and there is none.

We were there in the first week of May and there were not that many people around but I bet this place will be busy in the summer.

I recommend Fox River for a pleasant get-away. Well maintained and offering enough to keep my family entertained. I have stayed at two other Holiday Inn Resorts and they are a good place to stay.

Four stars out of five.

Room Tip: May want to request a lower floor due to lack of elevators....
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evad39517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at Fox River Resort and nearby Serena. It's always our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have lots of fun things to do. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope you'll come back and see us again soon! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews