We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Excellent rooms with private bath..Great rates that beat any upscale hotel,Rooms are large size and very very quiet on second floor with four other rooms..Glad we stayed,with good home cooked breakfast to start our morning off in the dining room..Nice porch to drink a few at sunset and to have your coffee at dawn..This is the place to stay if your in the springfield,IL area..Place also has hifi internet if needed and safe parking for your vehicle or motorcycle like us..Will always stay here next time we spend nite in springfield..thanks doug and rosie for a great stay and awesome house.

Room Tip: All rooms on second floor with winding staircase..So if unable to climb a few stairs in this histori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyrogersusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

I found this great B & B because there were no hotels due to the Farm Show. They had one room available at this beautiful property. It was a highlight on my trip. Great hospitality and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardner594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and Doug and Rosalie set the bar very high. The home, breakfast, and setting were all great and Doug and Rosalie's service was awesome. Will definitely stay again if our travels take us back to the Springfield.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Doug and Rosalie Polite have done a fantastic job maintaining and renovating this house into a great bed and breakfast. The house is almost as charming as the Polites! The rooms are great and the food was wonderful. Great location to all the Lincoln site-seeing you want to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbkff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were thrilled to stay at the Flagg Farmstead Bed & Breakfast, which was built by my Great-Great-Grandfather, Cornelius Flagg. Doug and Rose are gracious hosts. They shared all they knew about the history of the house and even connected me with a Flagg relative I had never met. I appreciate their loving care and restoration of my ancestral home and their effort to learn all they can about the man who built it. Even if you aren't a Flagg, you will love visiting! The house is beautiful, the hosts welcoming, and the breakfast, delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Three "pretty" women arrived in Illinois to have the pleasure of spending two nights at this special bed and breakfast. We did not have reservations and after our stay were quite surprised the home was available. The proprietors, Doug and Rosalie were both delightful and helpful. The breakfasts Rosalie prepared and served by Doug were delicious. Rosalie's culinary skills were beyond what I would have imagined. For those who travel without their four legged friends, Izzy is available to provide some temporary relief. She is an exceptional little gal who is a pleasure to hold and pet. Our rooms were comfortable, clean, and the entire home, as well as the grounds, are so inviting. Flagg Farmstead Bed and Breakfast is rated by me, a 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Flagg Farmstead for our 27th anniversary. We are adding this place to our "favorites" in our memory book. Lovely grounds. Peaceful and beautiful with gardens and sprawling lawn. Our room was gorgeous and so quiet. The breakfast was so elegant and fresh. We have been to alot of bed and breakfasts and this one tops the list. We are already talking about going back. We are 100% satisfied with our stay and highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing