We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“front desk service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“front desk service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hi, my is Tamera. I called this location to confirm my reservation. & had to get documents faxed a & back and the guest service rep. lady by the name of Linda was super nice. She was extremely helpful, patient and a breath of fresh air. Her customer service was excellent. thank you Linda I really appreciate it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vianey R, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Tamera C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely comments. Linda is an outstanding customer service representative and we are extremely happy that she was able to assist you. We have shared your comments with her and we hope to continue serving you. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and we look forward to your next visit.
Happy Holidays,
Vianey Rodriguez
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    140
    84
    74
    70
See reviews for
155
69
46
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My first visit to this hotel was for a 5 night stay on a business trip to Evanston. I was very pleased with my hotel choice. From the excellent check in experience to the spacious, well kept room I had no real complaints.

I liked:
- Amazing front desk staff. The check in process couldn't have been better. Fast, friendly, helpful.
- Top notch housekeeping. No small detail missed.
- Spacious room with an amazingly firm and comfortable bed. Lots of pillows. Fridge and microwave. Lots of electrical outlets for the iron, laptop and phone charger.
- Great common amenities. Business center, fitness room, lounge and restaurant, etc.
- Convenient location to freeways, restaurants, shopping, etc.

I didn't like:
- mediocre water pressure. That is a hard one to overcome.
- Dated breakfast menu that truly lacked imagination. Have you not heard of healthy choices?

I would gladly stay in this property again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomerIsTakenDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana V, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn North Shore at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your excellent experience at the Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Skokie.

We are so glad that you find the accommodations and check in experience up to your expectations, assuring that our team members here intend to keep it that way and improve further on a daily basis.

In the other hand your feedback in regards the water pressure and food selection has been forwarded to our related departments for a better opportunity to improve our service in the future.

With best regards,

Liliana Valdez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Rooms are too old & miss even a wardrobe .Carpets are dirty.Their system cancels the reservations (prepaid) automatically. You have to face a lot of hassle while checking in.Location
Is perfect . Needs refurbishing of rooms at an earliest.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not carry too many clothes with you as rooms do not have even a wardrobe to hang y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerwithtaste_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana V, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Skokie. at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member:

We're sorry to hear that you had encountered such an inconvenience regarding your stay with us; however, I would like to assure you that we certainly take all feedback seriously and will address your concerns to the proper departments. It is great to hear that our location satisfied some of your expectations and we hope you reconsider our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skokie hotels

Centreville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff at this hotel is terrific. What a fantastic experience. Everyone has a positive and helpful attitude. This is one of the few hotels that actually "gets it". The team of John and "V" at the front desk were just great. Very helpful. The GM was super! Overall it was a place that I look forward to staying at again...soon!

Oh, the Tuesday $1 burger special is the way to go at Bar Louie!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel on trip advisor website. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially pleased with your comments about our associates and the fact that they made you feel welcomes and well taken care of. I hope that we will have the pleasure of receiving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked two nights at this Hotel when visiting local colleges for my daughter. The two nights were prepaid through the Entertainment Book website and included breakfast.

1. When checking in I was asked for a debit card 'for incidentals and any room charges' - I was not told that I was being charged a $250 security deposit against a stay that cost less than this for the two nights.
2. We were in room 105 which was on the ground flood by the pool. It was unbelievably noisy. The only window looked out onto the main area which was brightly light all night and the curtains didn't keep out the light. At 2:25am I was woken by two men having a loud conversation outside our room. They talked for over 30 minutes. Later I was woken by someone with a loud walkie talkie. From them til about 6am I was woken about every 20 - 30 minutes by someone walking past talking loudly.
3. When we went to breakfast the first morning, we found we hadn't been issued any breakfast vouchers. We were issued two but one was for the first morning and the other for the second morning - so they tried to charge us $13+ for a second breakfast for my daughter. I finally managed to get them to understand our room included breakfast for both of us for both days.
4. It is our second night here. We have had to listen to a school pep rally (at least that is what it sounds like) outside our room. For the last hour we have had a constant stream of loud teenagers back and forth and two men are holding another high volume discussion. We are exhausted and just want to sleep.
5. We have had to unplug the fridge as it makes a constant high pitched whining noise.
6. The covers on the beds have stains on them.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor. Find out if there are any conventions, weddings or schoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I like to thank you for sharing your concerns with us in regards to your experience. You are a very valuable guest to us and we never want to jeopardize the way you feel about Holiday Inn Skokie. I am sorry that your experience with noise and room was less than you expected. We strive to ensure that every guest experience to their utmost satisfaction, and it is obvious we did not meet those expectations. I will ensure proper support will be given in the future. Please accept my apologies and give us another opportunity.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

On Oct 26 I rented 3 rooms for a family sleep over and pool party. What a great venue for this. Bar Louie restaurant, great pool and 3 rooms in a row. granddaughter, 3 and 4 year old nephews, parents, sister and my adult children.

Spotless, great pool, good food, wonderful service and staff. The nicest place ever. Do yourself a favor, stay at this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: we like rooms in "the tower"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annietrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and giving us the perfect score of 5. I have shared your kind words with our team. We are all delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have reached our aim of giving you a memorable stay. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed staying in this hotel, its spacious room, convenient bed, great location and csuperb service of the people at the font dest, especially mr. Samuel, who is a real expert of his city. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhannav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to having you back soon.
Best Regards,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago North Shore - Niles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Address: 5300 W. Touhy Ave, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Chicago Hotels...Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Hotel near Downtown Chicago and O'Hare Airport. Welcome to the Holiday Inn North Shore Hotel. From the hotel's immediate surroundings in Skokie to the heart of downtown Chicago, we offer a full assortment of diversions, services and opportunities. Area attractions include: Downtown Chicago, Brauer Museum of Art, Chicago Botanic Garden, Adler Planetarium, Wrigley Field (Home of MLB's Chicago Cubs), Soldier Field (home of the NFL's Chicago Bears), and Navy Pier to name a few! Area businesses near our hotel include: Life Time Fitness, North Shore Center for the Performing Arts, Music Institute of Chicago, The Winnetka Community House, Bahai Temple, O'Hare Airport, Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, and Midway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Skokie Hotel Skokie
Holiday Inn North Shore
Holiday Inn Skokie
Skokie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing