We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
hlager
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here with family from out of town, they were unfamiliar with Chicago and were just passing through. They wanted me to take them on the "L" and this hotel was very close to the skokie swift yellow line which is also a good place to teach people how to ride the L as it isn't as busy as Chicago and State. This hotel looked brand new the rooms were nicely decorated. They were on the small side though. The location is probably the best thing as its put of the way of traffic yet close enough to the city and transportation. Also because of the location you get a bit of a price break, but it was a nice area..I've never stayed in Skokie but was left with a good impression. The staff was just average. Overall a good pick and place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    366
    167
    55
    39
See reviews for
373
160
59
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice, beds were comfortable. Shopping nearby. The kids enjoyed the pool and it was warm, nice to indoor and outdoor pool. The exercise room was also nice. We enjoyed the restaurant that was attached, they had large portions and good food.

Would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayshore ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very Nice Hotel located close to Shopping Mall restaurants and 10 minutes from Northwestern University. Clean Rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights to get settled in for school at Northwestern. It's located only a few miles away, but very close to shopping, which was convenient for me. Located right across from the mall, next door to a Jewel grocery store (open 24/7) and a Marshalls and Old Navy. Paid 100$/night for their getaway promotion (booked online), which included the breakfast buffet at the restaurant next door (decent selection of hot and cold options). Staff was friendly. Rooms were comfortable, although the bathroom was a bit small. Everything was clean. Gym was small, but had sufficient equipment. The hotel is pretty big and there seemed to be an event going on that weekend. Overall it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellotqoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I came with a group to attend some concerts at Ravinia, see the Chicago botanic gardens, and go into the city. The location and travel were easy for all trips. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The conference room we used was clean and bright and the temperature was quick and easy to control. Breakfast seems to get very crowded, especially on weekends, unless you eat early! Buffet is setup or you can order from the menu - also, omelets are made for you at a stand. The guest rooms were nicely updated, although the bath was a bit small - one person at a time. Free wi-fi, mini-fridge and iron and ironing board and hair dryer were provided. Good complimentary shuttle service provided by hotel - used it for the Golf Road metra station and a trip into Evanston for dinner. Believe they will cover a 5-mile radius of the hotel - just sign up at the front desk. Last note: wonderful, warm chocolate chip cookies await you at check-in -- don't miss them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderwoman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courthirsch, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Wanderwoman47 -

Thanks so much for the compliments regarding your most recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Hospitably
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have been to this hotel many times, and I must say...more than a year since my last trip, and I was not impressed. Still the same price...or perhaps a little higher, but definitely not the same service or the same clean, tidy hotel I use to know. First of all, check in took forever, even though I didn't get there until about midnight. Staff was very friendly, but the lines were long and troubled. When I finally got up to my room, I noticed how dirty everything was...the lobby, the floors, the elevator. I chalked it up to a busy evening, assuming all would be as it was before in the morning. But not so much. Still had some very dirty elevators and the carpeting was in desperate need of a good vacuuming. In all fairness, I think they had some beauty pageant going on, but I think they had enough staff to keep the place clean. Noise was also another issue. While this is always a very busy place, it was far noisier than ever before...lots of teenagers screaming and doors slamming throughout the night and into the morning hours. Since I had a workshop in town, on day two, we decided to eat at the restaurant, which I had not been to before. While it still looks the same, it is under a new name and new management, and all I can say is...how disappointing. Service was great, atmosphere was great, but the food was overpriced and really bad. No one at the table ate everything. In fact, no one barily took a nibble. I could understand if we all ordered the same thing and it was just one bad dish, but out of the four of us, we all ordered something different. Personally, I can attest I couldn't even choke down three bites of the meatloaf. It reminded me a bit of what I use to get from the cafeteria in highschool. Honestly...it was awful. Pretty disgusting to pay a $60.00 bill for three people on a quick lunch when $55.00 worth of food ended up in the trash. While I can still attest the location is ideal, I can also say that there are other hotels in the area I will be trying out next time around. Sadly, for the high price they charge, I do not think I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courthirsch, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Good morning -

First, let me thank you for letting us know where we failed and how we can get better. We read these reviews daily want use the feedback you provide to constantly try to get better.

Secondly, please accept by sincerest apologies that we didn't live up to the DoubleTree by Hilton expectations you've come to know. Yes we were busy, but as you point out it is unacceptable to not have a clean, orderly and quiet hotel to rest in.

I have forwarded your comments to the owner and manager of the restaurant in the hotel; they like us will be reviewing these comments to improve.

I hope you do give us another try; what you experienced isn't the way we normally operate and we would love another chance to live up to what we all should expect from a DoubleTree.

Thank you again for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
312 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great cookie at check in but that was about it. Still looking for that nice hotel to stay in to visit family in Chicago that doesn't cost more to park than to sleep. This one seemed to fit the bill as the parking was free. However, other than a cookie at check in, not much more free. The elevators are horrible. We waited and waited and waited for elevators and when they did come, and you get in, they don't move! All the guests were complaining. So it wasn't a one time thing. I have stayed in this hotel before, but this time it seems worn and tired. Maybe other floors have been updated, but this floor seems very worn. Not necessary dirty, just old and worn out. Nothing extra in this hotel either. Very bare bones.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phxaz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courthirsch, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Phxaz54 -

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us but I do appreciate you letting us know. I understand about the elevator situation and we are looking into trying to get that remedied quickly. I also apologize that your floor wasn't as fresh as you have come to expect. We do our best to ensure that every guest's stay is satisfactory but unfortunately we do sometimes fail.

We do hope you'll come back and give us another try so we can show you the true DoubleTree by Hilton experience you've come to know and appreciate.

Hospitably --
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing