We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location and really nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I wanted to be in the Skokie area, and I couldnt of been happier, really nice hotel, good size room and nice ammenities. Pool is nice and lobby is comfortable, free wifi and free parking. Nice westfield shopping centre over the road. I have to say a really pleasent and enjoyable stay. Will definatley be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as well as some of our great amenities like complimentary high speed WiFi and complimentary parking. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travel and would love to be your choice the next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    379
    175
    61
    40
See reviews for
387
166
59
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PBG
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My grandson's night-time party was held in the ballroom in the top floor of the hotel, with an exciting view of Chicago. The hors d'oeuvres, food and service where all very good. I would recommend it for your event.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suntasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
We are so glad your even went will in our top floor Monaco ballroom! We will share your compliments with our chef and event staff. Your recommendation means everything to us and we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

i picked a busy time to travel to chicago-with the ryder cup and the marathon back to back...left with little to choose from i stayed at the doubletree in chicago for 3 nights before moving into downtown...
it's a standard doubletree-the plus is the very cheerful front desk and service staff in the restaurants...whether its organizing cabs or suggesting restaurants in down-town. the breakfast was good, and has enough choices for a vegetarian like me...
its in a far away suburb, so one would stay here only if they need to be in that side of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
We are glad you found our front desk staff so welcoming and accommodating. I can tell you that they truly enjoy helping our guests enjoy the North Shore area. Next time your travels bring you to the area we would love to have you back again as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stay at the Doubletree- Skokie for business a few times a year. The meeting rooms are nice the hotel staff is friendly and responsive. The restaurant is adequate.

I have experienced a clear decline in the upkeep of the property over the last couple of years...especially the common areas. The hallways to the rooms are in need of new carpet, paint and a good cleaning. The rooms are very tired, especially the bathrooms. Elevators are old and take forever. Well below the standard of other Doubletrees.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRSabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Hi Colin,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. As a repeat guest, your comments are incredibly valuable. We appreciate your continued business and want to let you know about some planned improvements to the hotel. Any day now, we will have completed a huge elevator modernization project which I know you will be pleased with next time you visit. It is true that our elevators were slow, but soon they will be much faster and smarter. Additionally, the other items you mentioned are all on our radar and projects are being planned. We are constantly working to improve our hotel and take pride in providing our guests with an experience that we can be proud of.

We welcome you back for another stay soon and thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Great entry point to Chicago if coming in from North/Northwest. Right next to large shopping area and Northwestern University. Lot's of choices in the area. Hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms and is priced for budget conscious travelers. No breakfast included but nearby choices abundant.

Room Tip: We were on eleventh floor and elevators ran quick and smooth for us. No worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review of out hotel. Our proximity to Northwestern University and Old Orchard Shopping Center are very popular among our guests. I'm glad you found us convenient and a good value. We look forward to being your hotel on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

booked stayed there 3 nigths at $215 per night really did not need anything but was convient to the I95 and to Evanston place was clean and the front counter was more than helpful.It is across from a major mall Breakfast was very nice and included because I am a Hilton Diamond

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
As a Diamond member you certainly are the expert and we appreciate your comments. I'm glad you found our hotel clean and the staff helpful as well as enjoyed our full breakfast buffet. We would love to have you back at our hotel and welcome you as our guest on your next visit to the area. Thank you again for your thoughtful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very comfortable bed, spacious room. Only negative was that parts of the bathroom seemed outdated. Rust spots in the shower and poor shower head. Everything else was very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and you think we are a great place to stay. You will be happy to know that we are constantly working to improve our hotel and I'm sure you will see improvements that continue to delight our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing