We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues unresolved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
1 review
“Issues unresolved”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel over all was great. Just a few unresolved issues that was out of the norm for this property. I have stayed at this property three times before and this was the first time I was made to feel like a bother.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 957deshawnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear CSFNJ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you had experienced some issues during your stay with us, and that they have since gone unresolved. I would also like to apologize that you felt like a bother to whomever you spoke with.

Could you please email me some additional information regarding your stay? I want to hear what went wrong and where we need to improve.

Thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    381
    180
    61
    41
See reviews for
394
167
59
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is simply amazing, it is really modern, clean and the service is excellent , and they even give you delicious cookies.
Simply luv it, really like it and it is really recommended, I wanted to be in chicago but at the in I had to stay here but was so nice that didnt matter to go 3 miles to chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanedizeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear vane627,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do. I'm glad you found the location to Chicago accessible for you!

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was remodeled approximately five? years ago, so I was anticipating a newer-looking room. The bedroom section was acceptable; however, the mattress was on the soft side, for a middle-aged person. I ordered extra towels, online, which were supposed to have appeared in my room, but did not. The bathroom was extremely small, and the bathroom details, such as caulking and resurfacing of the bathtub, were not acceptable for this price hotel. I was able to pay $125.00 per night, which was non-refundable. That price was more in keeping with the experience that I had at this hotel. No pay per view, which is a minus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Fern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Fern B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was sorry to read of the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay with us. I understand how frustrating these things can be, especially when all you'd like to do is relax in a comfortable hotel room. I'm sorry this wasn't the case with us.

Would you mind emailing me some information about your stay, such as dates and the room you were in? I would like to figure out where we went wrong.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake geneva, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is well located to Old Orchard Mall and Evanston, IL. We booked it as a cheap night and opportunity to visit friends in Evanston. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the lobby has undergone a renovation. It is really quite a smart looking place for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Kirsten L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do. I'm glad you like our lobby renovation!

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was super clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent, and the beds are the most comfortable, that I have ever had In a hotel stay. This is my first stay at a Double Tree and it was very nice. I also was able to use the pool, and it was very nice. The family wedding reception was also held in the hotel. and everything, food included was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Deborah S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The design and décor is first class. Likewise, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The entire facility was very clean, and the daily maid service was impeccable. The pool facilities were perfect for our kids, and the restaurant on the property was great. All in all, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Chad M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skokie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

arrived on a Friday late afternoon, after traveling with an 11 and 3 year old. ordered room service. black hair on my napkin when unwrapped it.. floor was dirty also with black hair that it got on our feet and towels that I had sat on the floor for the girls to eat dinner. the 11 year old lost her appetite. Bath towels also full of black hair.. none of us in the room had long black hair. they did comp me one nights stay when I told them at check out. after had to go down and get key reactivated, I had requested late check out for 2pm since in town due to a family emergency.. will not stay there again..... DIRTY ROOMS!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Barbara W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear about the incidents with the linen from room service and with the towels in your room. I'm glad we took care of the charges for a night you were here, but understand how that still doesn't correct everything.

Would you mind emailing me in regards to this matter? I'd like more information about the room you were in among other things, so that I may dig into this and figure out why it happened. I assure this is not the norm for our hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
3.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing