We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for out of town visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place for out of town visitors”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My son graduated this year and several members of my family decided to come and see him off. I planned to book them downtown in Chicago, but realized it was a very busy week and traffic would be pretty slow. I chose Double Tree in Skokie, because it was a straight shot for my family to get there from the west. I also chose it because it was directly across from a large shopping mall area with many fine restaurants. My family loved the location, the hotel was clean and although it was very busy, they received top service. The convenience of checking in and dropping off their luggage before coming into Chicago was an added plus and they avoided having to go downtown through the heavier traffic. Hotel has a nice pool area also as we enjoyed hanging out and swimming in the afternoon.

Room Tip: the parking is in the front and on the left side of the building, so if you need quiet, choose the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Easytoplease338,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    376
    172
    59
    40
See reviews for
380
165
59
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porter Ranch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Located right across from Old Orchard Shopping Mall. Large rooms and beds comfortable, but older air-conditioning system and decor. Friendly staff. Breakfast available in restaurant next door or across street at IHOP.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank joyceedelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear joyceedelson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

While I am happy to hear you enjoyed the location, large rooms, and comfortable beds...I am sorry to hear that you found our hotel and air conditioner units to be old.

I can assure you we take this information very seriously, and are always looking to improve upon guest experience.

Thank you for your feedback, and look forward to your hopeful return.

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkster, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Skokie DoubleTree Hotel is an awesome property. In the area around the hotel theres tons of shopping and eateries and its just a great location - minutes from Downtown Chicago too! - Skokie Doubletree is agreat location for a stay or conference.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Edith M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location was convenient to shopping, and the adjoining restaurant was awesome. The staff was courteous and went above the call duty. Double Tree should appreciate all their employees. In this day and age of customer service they are truly the asset you need on your books.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lee_WilliamsIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Lee_WilliamsIII,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do. I am very happy you found our staff to be kind and courteous.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to you staying with us again!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel over all was great. Just a few unresolved issues that was out of the norm for this property. I have stayed at this property three times before and this was the first time I was made to feel like a bother.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 957deshawnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear CSFNJ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you had experienced some issues during your stay with us, and that they have since gone unresolved. I would also like to apologize that you felt like a bother to whomever you spoke with.

Could you please email me some additional information regarding your stay? I want to hear what went wrong and where we need to improve.

Thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is simply amazing, it is really modern, clean and the service is excellent , and they even give you delicious cookies.
Simply luv it, really like it and it is really recommended, I wanted to be in chicago but at the in I had to stay here but was so nice that didnt matter to go 3 miles to chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanedizeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear vane627,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely happy to read your review of your stay with us! I will be sure to share it with my entire team, as it inspires us in everything we do. I'm glad you found the location to Chicago accessible for you!

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was remodeled approximately five? years ago, so I was anticipating a newer-looking room. The bedroom section was acceptable; however, the mattress was on the soft side, for a middle-aged person. I ordered extra towels, online, which were supposed to have appeared in my room, but did not. The bathroom was extremely small, and the bathroom details, such as caulking and resurfacing of the bathtub, were not acceptable for this price hotel. I was able to pay $125.00 per night, which was non-refundable. That price was more in keeping with the experience that I had at this hotel. No pay per view, which is a minus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Fern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Fern B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was sorry to read of the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay with us. I understand how frustrating these things can be, especially when all you'd like to do is relax in a comfortable hotel room. I'm sorry this wasn't the case with us.

Would you mind emailing me some information about your stay, such as dates and the room you were in? I would like to figure out where we went wrong.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mark Stangle
Director of Rooms
Mark.Stangle2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing