We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its finest”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were thrilled with our two nights in a Hampton Skokie king suite with whirlpool. The front desk and breakfast room staff went overboard to be hospitable, and the maids were friendly and accommodating. Everything was immaculate. The hot, complimentary breakfast was varied with plenty of healthy as well as indulgent items. (I haven’t found a hotel yet that has figured out how easy it would be to provide gluten-free bagels, muffins, or bread—and Hampton was no exception. Someday, I hope to be surprised when I ask a hotel about gluten-free breakfast options, but in the meantime, I have to bring my own carbs.) That said, I have to also say this hotel has the freshest premium fruit options of any I’ve ever seen. No melon in sight—yay! Succulent citrus slices, plump blueberries, big strawberries, pineapple slices, and even tropical mango slices. The hot egg and meat options were different on our two mornings, and my husband liked them.

Our suite was attractive and exceptionally comfortable, with many amenities. Here are just a few: full-sized refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, well-appointed mini-kitchen, ample whirlpool tub outside bathroom, which also had a tub and shower, comfy bed/pillows/duvet, front closet and bedroom closet with wooden hangers, including pants/skirt hangers. We relaxed on a couch to watch TV, cozied up to read in an armchair with our feet up on an ottoman, sat in a high-tech ergonomic desk chair for computer tasks at the desk, and ate meals on a roomy kitchen table. Even with all that furniture, our little apartment felt spacious. Our experience was reasonably quiet with only an occasional, brief sound of running water from another room. This Hampton is on a very busy expressway, but we heard no road noise. Our room faced west, and the expressway is to the east, so that might have helped, I don’t know.

The exercise room is top-notch with up-to-date models of treadmills, exercycles, and ellipticals with electronic hookups. There are free weights and an exercise ball, too. Like the rest of the hotel, everything in the exercise room is super-clean. And whatever they use to clean the surfaces and linens throughout the building does not have a fragrance, which we very much appreciated.

We give this Hampton Inn and Suites a rave review!!!

FYI There is a Ruby Tuesday restaurant in this hotel building, but we did not eat there or order room service from it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side face away from a busy expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35805Jane_H_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear 35805Jane_H_11,

Wow, thanks for a detailed review! We truly appreciate the time you took to write about your recent experience in of our suites.

It is great to know we exceeded your expectations and look forward to another opportunity to serve.
If there is anything we can do to make your future stay even more comfortable, please let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    282
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
512
168
57
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I cannot say enough about how nice the hotel in the staff were the breakfast was great the wifi is free and the people were so nice. my sister broke her leg while we were on vacation and staying at the hotel and everyone was so helpful even put together a gift basket for her and a Get Well card. best place ever

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Greetings, Tory!

We appreciate you sharing your recent experience at our hotel and wish your sister a speedy recovery!

In spite of what happened, we're glad that our team made her feel better during a difficult time. If we may assist again with your future visit, please let us know. Thanks again for your feedback.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Skokie Hampton for one night and had a better than expected experience. When we booked this hotel we expected a perfectly reasonable experience, but average at best. We were pleasantly surprised.

The parking lot was clear of enough snow to permit parking in many places. It has been a snowy winter so its not surprising that some snow remains piled up in a few parking spaces, but it did not pose a problem. There were plenty of spaces near the door. The check-in desk is small, but the two clerks were efficient and polite and welcomed us warmly. The cookies available there helped after a tough drive.

We usually book two double beds since rooms with King size beds seem smaller in other Hampton Inns, but we booked a room with a king and were surprised at the size of the room. It was plenty roomy and then some. The room was clean and all. The maid had set towels wrapped in the shape of swans on the bed, a nice touch. The only odd thing was a post-it note on the headboard that stated the duvet and sheets had been changed. I would expect nothing less, so I wondered if Hampton does not usually change the sheets and duvet after someone checks out.

The internet worked fine. The bathroom was clean. The shower had plenty of hot water and pressure. The room was delightfully quiet at night. No complaints.

Breakfast the next morning was well-staffed and well-maintained by several extremely nice and helpful women. The pre-cooked eggs and sausage looked and tasted like they had been shipped in from another country, but otherwise the choices were many and good. Plenty of juice and coffee and tea to go around. The fresh fruit and yogurts were up-to date too.

Check out was quick and easy. Overall, a Very Good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telkontar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Telkontar,

We appreciate your thorough review. Thanks for choosing Hampton Skokie for your recent stay in Chicago's North Shore.

I have shared your comments with our team to help us further enhance our guests' experience. With regard to our sticky notes on the headboards, the intent when initially rolled out was to bring greater awareness to Hampton's fresh-linen program, which has translated into improved feelings from our guests about guestroom cleanliness, resulting in overall satisfaction.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back. Let us know if we may further assist with your future travel plans.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Best hotel in the area. Hotel staff is extremely helpful and always smiling. Amenities are best in the area as well. My first choice if room rate is competitive when I visit the area which is usually 4-6 times per year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello, Todd!

We're humbled by your kind words. Thanks for the great compliment!

Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your family's next stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Everything was great. Great location for everything we went to, staff was wonderful. I'd definitely stay here again. I have no complaints. Great deal for the price. We really like Hampton Inns. That is all I can think of for this survey

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Greetings, Marilyn!

Thanks for sharing feedback on your recent stay. It was great to read about your positive experience with us and we're glad to know you & your family enjoy Hampton hotels overall.

If we may further assist with your future travel plans, please let us know!

Cheers,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

very good experience and will suggest for any in the area to seek out these accommodations. Hotel room was very clean and the restaurant next door made for no reason to exit the building. Meetings held at final end

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Greetings, Dana!

Thanks for sharing your recent experience at Hampton Skokie! We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your future stays more enjoyable.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casco, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place has a really nice lobby and breakfast area. The fitness center is the most up to date that I have seen in any hotel and has over 15 pieces of equipment along with free weights. It has a pool, sauna, and Jacuzzi. There are a lot of things to see in the surrounding area. Great place to bring the family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello, David!

Thanks for a great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
4.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Address: 5201 Old Orchard Rd, Skokie, IL 60077-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, and indoor pool. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing